We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, you can see it (on a clear day!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Williams Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7951, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
South Wales
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Yes, you can see it (on a clear day!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here in the studio apartment as a break whilst travelling down the West Coast.

The welcome from Karen the owner was very warm (including a cup of tea) which was very acceptable after being drenched exploring the Fox Glacier itself.

The facilities were excellent and she had even put the heating on to warm up the room.

Unfortunately, it rained most of the time so even after setting the alarm at 6am, I missed the visit to lake Matheson to take the iconic ‘reflections’ photo! We also only had a quick glance at the amazing view over to Mt Cook.

However, the wonderful breakfast more than compensated for the disappointment and there is now a good reason to return to this idyllic setting again in the future – but on a clear day!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    25
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
76
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed in Lemon Cottage which was lovely with stunning alpine views all around. Karen was a wonderful host and she welcomed us with a drink and gave us lots of useful tips on local things to see such as Lake Mathieson, the best viewpoint to see Fox Glacier and where to eat. We were lucky enough to see Mount Cook in clear weather and it was like a picture postcard view. The setting of Mountainview B&B is idyllic set in pretty gardens and a pond which shows sublime reflections of the mountains in good weather.
Breakfast was excellent and gave us he opportunity to chat with Karen who is really interesting and made our stay even more special. We wouldn't choose to stay anywhere else if we are lucky enough to return to Fox Glacier.

Room Tip: Lemon cottage was very nice and completely private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted by a very spontaneous Karen. She invited us in for a cup of tea and loads of information on Fox Glacier. The b&b is located just outside of the village of Fox Glacier, but still easily reachable for dinner in the evening. Lake Matheson, with its gorgeous reflection pool is nearby.

We wanted to do a helicopter ride and had nothing precooked but she managed to get us on an early morning flight, perfect!

Rooms are big, clean and equipped with all you need. Breakfast is served in her living room and you can choice between either continental our eggs.

Room Tip: One word of advice: it gets cold at night, so use those blankets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

our stay at Fox Glacier Mountain View was easily our best stay in New Zealand. Karen is an incredible host who greeted us with tea and gave us advice which helped us immensely with our travels. Our room was clean and spacious and the view was simply breathtaking! Karen cooked us up delicious breakfasts each morning and made our stay unforgettable. We did the ' nimble fox' glacier walk which was the highlight of our trip. We will definitely be back, thanks alot Karen!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this B&B ( 15 en 16 January 2014) in the guest house.
We felt a warm welcome.
Karen Simpson invited us directly for a cup of tea and cookies.
She told a lot of the environment and gave us some good tips!
She guided for years in New Zealand so she gave is very good tips.
Karen; Thanx to say about the way to Wanaka to take Cardrona : Amazing views from Fox Glaier to Queenstown!!
We had delicious diners at het Cafe Matheson and the last kitchen!
Breakfast was nice, Karen made awesome cooked breakfast!
The only bad thing was the weather: we had on our hike tour day to Fox Glacier whole day rain.
It felt like a shower.So we couldn't enjoy the lovely mountain view you see at the photo's!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Fox Glacier B&B is arguably in one of the nicest settings in New Zealand with a backdrop to the West Coast mountains and 5 minutes down the road from Lake Matheson.

However, Karen delivers military-style briefings which to be honest we weren't too keen on. She also made a bit of an issue about having breakfast prior to 8am, not something we encountered elsewhere.

We stayed 2 nights for glacier hiking but unfortunately the weather was so terrible we never got to see any of those amazing views, which was disappointing.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights for a booking we had on the helihike at fox glacier. The room was very comfortable and I loved the farm and view of the mountains. The breakfast was good and Karen was very friendly and helpful. She gave us advice on the good locations to hike in the area if it is rainy, good restaurants and gave us information about a road slip in the haast pass and how we had to go through the gates by 7pm. The only thing I can say for improvement is the size of the tv in the bedroom was very old and tiny. A great time overall.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Camelia room which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast

Address: Williams Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7951, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to my peaceful Fox Glacier hideaway, set on 8 acres of "Pure Nature" at its best. This 8 yr country home has it all. With wide-open landscape, breathtaking views of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman, and surrounded by bush-clad hills with a magnificent reflection on my own special pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.