We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Williams Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7951, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great host in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

This B&B is in a great location with great views of the surrounding countryside. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated - very comfortable. The hostess is warm and welcoming and spends time with guests explaining the various activities and sights in the area. Breakfast is substantial and a great start to the day. This B&B is a couple of kms from the town so a car is essential.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    24
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
73
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights and loved it. Karen is a wonderful host. Very knowledgeable and cooks up a great breakfast.

Excellent views from the B&B and we were more than satisfied with the standard of accommodation and overall it was good value for money.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

we had a great time at the cosy cottage at Karens place. She was a marvelous hostess and had vast knowledge of tourist attractions. She cooked up a wonderful breakfast for us in the morning which we enjoyed with the other guests. We enjoyed sitting out in our verandah and looking at the mountain views- stunning. Thanks once again Karen you are a fab host.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

We booked 1 night at Mountain view on our way from Wanaka to Franz Josef. We met Karen and she asked us to have a seat in the kitchen for a cup of tea and to chat about our stay. She seemed a little rude at first asking us a lot of questions and shaking her head when she heard our plans. After 2mins, we realized that she was just concerned about our plans to drive across NZ in a day. Karen drove a tour bus for years and knew so much about all the main NZ attractions and travel times. We were only staying one night so she was extremely helpful with suggesting our itinerary. We followed all of the recommendations and went directly to the Glacier before heading to Lake Matheson. Karen even suggested the best spots for photographs. We then had a lovely meal bf heading over to see glow worms for free on a little trail near the entrance of the town. We would never have found the entrance if Karen didn't tell us exactly how to find it and even gave us a flashlight to use.

When we returned late that evening, a full moon illuminated the small pond in the back yard. We lingered in the yard enjoying the peaceful beauty of her property. The next morning, we enjoyed a hot full breakfast and admired the mountain view from her kitchen window. I wandered outside to her pond and took some amazing reflection photos of the mountain.

Overall, the B&B is not the 4-5 star accommodation we would prefer, but given Karen's hospitality, we would definitely recommend her to other travelers.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I don't agree with a few of the comments from other travellers. We stayed here for two nights and had a great time. Karen does her very best to make you feel at home and in our case has helped us arrange our trip to the glacier. Karen is very knowlegable about the area and makes a great breakfast! We enjoyed our stay with her very much!
You get a free great view of Mount Cook at your doorstep!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed in the stand alone cottage for two nights and were delighted with our stay in every department. Good accommodation - previous reviewer said cottage smelled - this is simply not true. Excellent bed and all amenities of good standard. As previus reviewers have said what really makes this place is the excellent host who will tell you everything you need to know to fully enjoy Fox Glacier. Others have suggested that it wasn't good value for money: they clearly haven't been to others which do rip you off, unlike this one.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed in the private stand-alone cottage and while a bit stark it did the job well enough. If this was in a city, it wouldnt be acceptable but out in a 2 horse town in the middle of a basically nowhere, I think the owner does an admirable job. It was clean and comfortable enough for the night. Location is fine, on the road to Lake Matheson and a short drive to basically the entire town. And yes, its a bit expensive at $185, but such is life.

The owner is definitely a bit opinionated but not to the point of being off-putting and she is obviously knows about the area. I learned on this trip to expect some conversation and butting in from the owner if you are staying at a B&B. I dont particularly care for it, but I think the owners believe that the clients expect that personal connection.

Oh, and she cooks a pretty darn good breakfast. Overall, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast

Address: Williams Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7951, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to my peaceful Fox Glacier hideaway, set on 8 acres of "Pure Nature" at its best. This 8 yr country home has it all. With wide-open landscape, breathtaking views of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman, and surrounded by bush-clad hills with a magnificent reflection on my own special pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.