We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Neve

Cafe Neve
Main Rd, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7951, New Zealand
(03) 751 0110
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After receiving a recommendation from our hostel, we ordered a large pizza here for a late lunch. It ended up feeding 2 of us for 3 meals - lunch, dinner, and lunch the next day! Highly recommend the hippy (blue cheese and mushroom) and sitting on the deck!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    50
    54
    27
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Best Pizza in Town" - that's not saying much...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you're from the States and know what "good" pizza is, don't get your hopes up about Cafe Neve when the locals tell you it's the best pizza in town. The dough was similar to that of a frozen pizza from the supermarket, and the cheese and toppings mushed into a greasy puddle. At $28NZD for a large pizza, it was the highest disappointment to cost ratio meal on our entire trip. If you're headed to Queenstown, just keep on driving and save your $ for a good meal out there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Only average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place has a good ambience, friendly waitresses and decent wine at reasonable prices for NZ. However the lamb salad was knee deep in onions and the pizza base tasted like hot cardboard. I would not go back but I doubt that many people do. This is a place that you spend one night in and but one meal so the restaurants don't need to worry too much about quality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stopped for breakfast...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The service was friendly enough but the food was very disappointing. We hadn't been here for a couple of years, it was always fantastic in our previous visits. I ordered the poached eggs on toast...on the menu they were advertised as 'free range'. Big mistake then for the owner to walk through the restaurant with a box of budget eggs from the shop next door and hand them over to the chef. I guess you could argue that they were free range eggs in a budget box, but I think not, we have our own chickens and know what a free range egg looks and tastes like. When my breakfast arrived (on a cold plate) I got 2 of the smallest eggs I have ever seen, over cooked, on two slices of thin white dry budget bread, not buttered and none supplied. Certainly not worth $12. My partner had the standard breakfast, very ordinary, same deal with the eggs, everything a bit overcooked. The coffee was ok, but not very hot. Another couple had to wait at the counter for ages to pay their bill while the owner was outside drinking coffee with one of the locals.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stopped for breakfast and had the best green tea ever! Free range eggs were served and we all enjoyed the food. The place is very pleasant and small touches like the folded toilet tissue were appreciated.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Neve also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Cafe Neve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Neve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.