We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful gem off the main road” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Peaks Hotel

Save Saved
You added High Peaks Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Peaks Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   167 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly High Peaks Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Fox Glacier
Bethesda
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful gem off the main road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were pretty tired after driving to Fox Glacier from Wanaka. High Peaks is off the main highway, but worth the extra few blocks. It is very peaceful, with spacious, clean, and quiet rooms. The hostess was extremely helpful about filling our needs (like ice for our "chilly bin"). She also had great advice about weather conditions at the glacier and other nearby attractions.
High Peaks proved a very welcoming rest stop for the weary travelers on the road. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    35
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
80
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We selected this destination based on positive reviews here and their 'promised' amazing views. I must say that we were unfortunately rather disappointed with the views. Quite some distance from the Glacier. Despite emailing in advance about a room with a view - our view was of the neighbours driveway and undercover parking. Although we didn't eat there I believe the restaurant would have a 'nice' view but certainly not one that matches all the reviews.

View aside, the room itself was clean and served the purpose. The bed was comfortable. The hosts were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This must be one of the best location from which to see Mount Cook in the morning. The motel is sufficiently outside of Fox Glacier town that it is very peaceful but is still with a couple of minutes drive. Marlene and Alan are perfect hosts and are a wealth of knowledge on the local area. The motel is very well designed and the rooms are spacious.

Wifi - free and fairly fast
Cell phone signal is fine
Parking directly outside of motel unit
Large bedroom / sitting area ... very comfortable
Large bathroom with shower / no bath
Small kitchen unit
Modern newish and well designed
Great hosts
Milk in small cartons - not fresh milk
There is a restaurant on site but is only open to guests on request ... Marlene does a great wild venison hotpot and will provide a good breakfast on request
Small cooler - no freezer compartment - hosts will cool / freeze larger items for you

Room Tip: Some look out towards Mt Cook but the best views are from the deck near the restaurant. Our party ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here one night and found the room to be quite nice. Comfortable bed, clean room and a great shower. Woke up refreshed and ready for our glacier hike! Our host was very pleasant. We did do breakfast at the restaurant but went into town for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A motel, with parking right outside the door of your individual 'motel room', it is quite new, modern and clean as a whistle. The hosts, Marlene and Alan, are friendly and helpful. The integral bar-restaurant is modest but provides a good breakfast and a surprisingly good dinner. We had a group function there, with drinks before and dinner afterwards, and they did an excellent job. Little 'atmosphere' or 'character', but a perfectly adequate overnight stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms are 'inside', along a hallway, others are motel-style with cars right outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Large rooms with very comfortable beds. A fridge in the studio would be nice but the owners make fridge space available when needed. Marverlous shower. All facilities superbly clean. Pretty good restuarant, with a french chef running the kitchen. Good bar/lounge. Extremely friendly owners are very helpful with advice for local visits. Marvelous views on the mountain range behind the hotel. Close by picture-perfect Lake Matheson (go early !).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Studio room with a king size bed. All quite new and clean but not felt that it was too expensive for what you get.
No fridge - just a cooler. Rear projection small TV that is too high on the wall. Basic bathroom. Very plain inside the room with basic furniture and nothing much on the walls - very boring. Access was through reception so everything had to go throuigh that way from the car - luckily we were one of only a few staying that night. It has a restaurant and bar but it wasn't open to just have a casual drink. The owner said she would cook us dinner from the menu but it wasn't worth opening the restaurant. Its about 1.5 kms from town as well - no big deal but just a bit further than ideal if you wanted to walk to town for a meal 9especially with the restaurant closed).

Nothing really wrong with the place but at $175.00 a night I was expecting better quality everthing.

Kevin and Wendy Bryant
Wellington NZ.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that you can park your car outside of - makes it easier getting stuff into your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanchant, Owner at High Peaks Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Because tourism in the the Glacier region is very seasonal, rates need to be at the higher end of the scale to make our businesses viable. The rates at High Peaks are very competitve compared to similar accommodation in the area.
I must disagree with your comment that the furniture is basic. I built the place and only top quality fittings etc were used.
I did observe the amount of alcohol and food that you had with you so I can with some certainty presume that you have not done your homework and found that High Peaks was not the type of accommodation you required. Hence your disappointment.
Our restaurant is available every evening for our own guests. The only request we make is that you give us a little notice so we can be prepared.The bar was open from 5.30 till at least 11 pm for anyone to enjoy a drink. ( I am the barman )
We are sorry you were disappointed but there are horses for courses and the great majority of our guests are very happy.
Alan Chant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Peaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Hotel

Address: 167 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly High Peaks Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Peaks Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Peaks is a modern hotel offering comfortable, relaxed accommodation in Fox Glacier, on the West Coast of New Zealand's South Island. Set in a quiet, rural location, High Peaks provides you an ideal setting to enjoy some of New Zealand's most spectacular scenery. The hotel is perfectly located as a base to explore the West Coast's glacier country and Lake Matheson, one of our local icons is only a hop skip and jump away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your High Peaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Peaks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.