We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A feel of home away from home..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Misty Peaks

Save Saved
You added Misty Peaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Misty Peaks
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Cook Flat Road | Fox Township, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Fox Glacier
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A feel of home away from home..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Dave gave us a great welcome home for the two nights we stayed..
Rooms were clean, equipped with TV, refrigerator and accessories.
Key features were the unlimited internet access, heated rack for towels and climate controlled floor. Chef Dave started our day with a great breakfast every morning. Happy Hour starts at 6:30 everyday and option for a home cooked meal shortly after. Strongly encourage to take advantage of their home cooked meals. Bed and breakfast is close to local glacier, guide tours, cafes and bars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    34
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
143
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Lea and Dave are wonderful hosts! Friendly, witty, very knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms are immaculately presented with gorgeous mountain views. Fantastic location at Fox Glacier with a one-minute walk to the heli-pad. Generous home-style breakfasts and tasty pre-dinner nibbles. Lovely to interact with other travellers around the big dining table. After a week of impersonal hotels it was the accommodation highlight of our trip. Highly recommended as a quality service at a very reasonable price. Jenny and John

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our stay at Misty Peaks could not have been any better, from the moment we arrived we felt at home, the rooms were comfortable and clean with great views over the mountains. Both the breakfast and evening meals were delicious and Dave and Lee we're wonderful hosts who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. I would highly recommend Misty Peaks to anyone visiting Fox glacier. Thanks again Dave and Lee

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A charming place which lives up to the positive reviews in TA. In fact, our experience with the host exceeded our expectations and the place is spotlessly clean. Misty Peaks was the best place we stayed during our NZ trip and we highly recommend Misty Peaks to any travelers who are looking for a quality place to stay. We will stay longer next time at Misty Peaks when we are in NZ again. Thank you Dave for your hospitality and your great sense of humor that made our stay very enjoyable.

G & H

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent two nights here and enjoyed a comfortable, well appointed room with good views. The owners were friendly and knowledgable, breakfast was good and the one evening meal we had was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We had asked in advance of making the reservation about having an early breakfast so as to go to the glacier walk which starts at 8:35am. When we checked in the wife gave us a rushed intro to the room and informed us that breakfast was at 8am. She was quite adamant about it although her husband who was actually doing the cooking accommodated an earlier time so we didn't have to rush what was supposed to be a leisurely experience. She also made it clear that the included glass of wine would be at 6:30pm. As we were on an early schedule we just went into town for dinner. This supposedly upscale B&B has almost no place to put your things in the bathroom and no good coffee in the room which even the cheap motels have. Given this owner's attitude I don't know why she is int he B&B business at all. She made us feel like intruders and a bother. The poor husband is quite nice though. Too bad since the building is fine if they fixed the bathroom issue.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davelea, Manager at Misty Peaks, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
This one just goes to prove that you cant keep all the people happy all of the time but we do keep most of the people happy all of the time
Cheers
Dave
The poor husband!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights at Misty peak. We arrived in the dark and were warmly welcomed by Dave with a glass of wine, and cheese. We arrived just in time to put our order in for dinner and we decided to stay put. Dinner was lovely, shared with other guests, we swapped our NZ travel adventures.

We were surprised to find ourselves upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite, which included a large comfy bed and best of all a spa bath, which was perfect after a wet and cold day. Breakfast was delicious and a good opportunity to meet other guests. After our amazing half day walk over Fox Glacier, we arrived back at Misty Peaks and again enjoyed a soak in the spa bath. The weather was wet and cold outside, but we couldn’t have been ‘stuck indoors’ at a nicer place. We sat and read books about NZ, used the wifi, and enjoyed the large lounge room with cosy fire.

On our second and final morning the mist, finally cleared to reveal a stunning view of the snow capped mountains. We quickly headed out to Lake Matheson, and enjoyed a brisk morning walk, before heading back for a lovely breakfast.

A very comfortable, clean, and friendly place to stay. I would send all my family and friends there!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Misty Peaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Peaks

Address: 105 Cook Flat Road | Fox Township, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Peaks 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Peaks is a small Bed and Breakfast/Hotel with only 5 guestrooms.We have beautiful views of Mt Cook and Tasman that cant be seen from the village. In the evening after a complimentary glass of wine we serve optional a la carte dinner. All guests seated around the one table and with the right guests great fun!If you enjoy mixing with others a glass of wine and a great laugh come and join usCheersLea and Dave ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Misty Peaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Peaks Fox Glacier
Misty Peaks Hotel Fox Glacier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misty Peaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.