We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, OK room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Motel to your Saves list
Sunset Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   93 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct for best rate
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mountain View, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great service, OK room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

There are two parts to this review: the staff, and the accommodation itself.

First, the staff was great. Simon (one of the owners) was totally helpful, and gave us lots of great recommendations that really enhanced our trip. Among them, he suggested going to Café Neve and Matheson Café (both of which we loved); driving to Queenstown through Wanaka and Cardrona versus the alternate route we had in mind—and the route he advised was absolutely breathtaking; and taking a jet boat ride in Queenstown which is something that we thought would be cheesey and overhyped, but was actually really fun and something we'd recommend. So for the service, we give 5 stars.

As for the accommodations, this property was more expensive than some of the others we were considering, but we chose Sunset almost solely because of all the Tripadvisor reviews that raved about the spectacular views from the property. And we suspect our room (#2) would have had great views but, sadly, the peaks were obscured by clouds for the whole time we were there! The motel website doesn’t misrepresent anything and obviously no one has control over the weather (just FYI, apparently it’s often quite cloudy in Fox Glacier). But it was disappointing nonetheless, and I ended up feeling a bit like I’d wished we’d stayed somewhere less expensive—especially because the moment you walk out the door from virtually anywhere in Fox Glacier, you’ll get amazing views on a clear day. Lake Matheson motel, Rainforest motel, Mt. Cook View motel, and a few others are all on the same road as Sunset so, if cost is a consideration, those might be worth looking into as well.

That said, the rooms are fine. Ours was spacious and had a great kitchenette (though the linens could use some updating.)

  • Liked — Helpful tips from staff
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    73
    31
    13
    2
See reviews for
40
123
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

Clean, comfortable motel in Fox Glacier, just down the road from the Fox Glacier guides and a couple of good restaurants. Our beds were comfortable, the rooms were bright and airy, and we had no problems with the bathrooms or the shower. Good value.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

This gets Golden Chain’s Gold rating so decor and fittings in the large unit were nice, but we found a serious shortage of cooking equipment (and no teapot!). Unit was large and comfortable but with a strange warning that if you ran out of hot water it would take two hours to reheat so, fearing the worst, we showered quickly although didn’t encounter problems. After a few minutes use of the hairdryer the lights started to dim. We could only assume this was due to some weird green power policy they had. Units are very new in nice, if rather barren, grounds. However our view towards the mountains was marred by a large fence screening the adjacent (rather scruffy) property. Lack of net curtains on the very large window made it necessary to draw the curtains to protect one’s modesty. Quiet location but a fair step to the village with its eateries and shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

The property was clean, however the decor was a bit ordinary (not old or shabby, just... bla. Australians would call it 'daggy') and we thought the location was a little far out of town. Heating could've been better. The bed was the worst we slept in while we were in New Zealand, it was far too soft, it would just sort of collapse under your weight, very little support. We're not overweight either, both within the healthy weight range!

Reception was really friendly and very helpful, they knew plenty about the area and were able to recommend places to eat and tourist attractions.

Thought it was overpriced for what it was, we paid $175NZ per night for a basic room in what most accommodation providers refer to as the 'shoulder season', which had a bed, TV, microwave, tea/coffee facilities and an ensuite bathroom. We paid less than that per night for a very central, very modern, lakeview 1 Bedroom apartment with full kitchen facilities and spa in Queenstown. I think perhaps there is less accommodation available in Fox, so they can get away with charging a little more but it was stiil a bit disappointing.

  • Liked — Reception was very friendly, helpful and informative
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable bed, seemed overpriced.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

The management of this motel were excellent - very friendly and helpful. We planned to stay 3 nights but reduced it to 2 when we were able to do our helihike on the first day - the management were very generous and did not charge us for our short notice in cancelling.

The room was big, double bed, sky tv, fridge, microwave with 2 heaters (we needed them!) and bathroom impressive - spa bath with heated towel rail. View amazing - right over glacier and valley.

Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Liked — comfortable room and views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBYSHIRE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

Couldn't have asked for more here. Reception were really helpful. We had a spa room (the best bath of our 3 week trip!) The room had everything you would need, with fabulous views over the mountains. Although it's a bit of a walk into town we wouldn't have stayed anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

We loved this motel - very modern, comfortable, warm and reasonably priced. Many details like heated bathroom & towel rail were appreciated. Nice decor & beautiful outlook (if the mist had lifted). The manager was friendly & helpful.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 93 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#6 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free wifi when booking direct 25 spacious ground floor units.Four star plus qualmark rated with views from every room of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We have a large back lawn for your enjoyment. Our property is located on Cook Flat Road so we avoid the noise from State Highway 6 that runs through the main town. So no traffic noise or late night bar noise. Sleep in peace with only the views to keep you awake.Studio, Spa and Family units all designated non-smoking, serviced daily, microwave kitchenette with cooking facilities, tea/coffee,32 inch LCD tv's with Satellite television, electric heating , electric blankets, phone, wireless internet available, ironing facilities, cot/highchair available, continental breakfast available, guest laundry, 900 metres to cafes and tour operators. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
Sunset Hotel Fox Glacier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.