We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a warm bed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Heartland Hotel Glacier Country

Save Saved
You added Heartland Hotel Glacier Country to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Highway 6, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's a warm bed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Nothing more nothing less. Shabby, not chic. The staff were pleasant enough, but the surroundings were creepy. The room was warm (if you can get the heater to work without making weird sounds) and the bed was OK. The parking was a joke. It was easy to get parked in. It gave the whole Fox Glacier a shadowy grey experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    12
    12
    15
See reviews for
4
23
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We were on a coach tour and the director warned us we were in the Sth Island and out in the countryside at that, so not to expect the same standards as the big cities.
How right she was. LOL
It was like entering a time warp and entering a bad motel room from the '60s. The room smelt musty, the patterned bedspread and curtains and carpets were in wildly clashing colours, mainly dreary ones. The ensuite was tiny with a stainless steel shower, complete with shower curtain, and a toilet. There was no hand basin in there, though there was a sink in our room, near the bed.
On the plus side, the toiletries supplied were very nice, the bed was comfortable enough and the dining room did a very nice buffet breakfast. It was very quiet in our room.
My son is in NZ right now, staying at the 'other' Fox Glacier hotel. I had not realised there were two and the one we stayed in closes down between May till about October. No wonder our room smelt musty!
These rooms are obviously opened to take any overflow of visitors in summer.
I am not sorry we stayed there though. There can't be many hotels like this around any more, it's from a past era. It was certainly an experience to see this decor again and it stands out in memory.

Room Tip: Ask to have a look at your room first. If the website is anything to go by, some rooms must be bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Although this hotel is very simple and average and a bit old fashioned, it had a certain charm. It gave you the feeling that you were in a time gone by...but still there. Anyway, everything was fine. The staff were helpful. Eating in the restaurant next door was very simple but good..a bit like being in an old time movie. The glacier was ok, but the lake nearby was really beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

the rooms are very average,
they have separate taps for hot and cold water.
hot is very hot and cold very cold.

the bathrooms are small and doesn't have a wash basin inside.
there is a common passage outside the room, one has to keep the curtains shut coz guest are constantly passing.

our room dint have a view either.
breakfast shuts by 9 am.

its a beautiful place with a below average hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

What an experience, room and décor surly came from a generation long lost. No hand basin in bathroom, you have to wash your teeth and coffee mugs in the same basin. The TV was on its own planet, it shouted for a service or replacement. Dirty towels on the floor and no provision for the three of us. The bet was when you go and shower, OH MY WORD that’s totally another experience, if someone flash the toilet in the adjoining rooms you boil like a lobster. Kitchen staff issues so was send over the street with a voucher. We couldn’t get out of there quick enough in the morning.
In spending my trip of from Westport to Milford Sounds in different places, this was one of the more expensive accommodation spots we stopped over at but sadly they offered the least. So sad though, the place surely has potential but at this stage is a VERY BAD ambassador for New Zealand. Till they get their act together, I WILL NOT and CAN NOT in good conscience recommend anyone a night there.

Room Tip: read other reviews beforehand
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

Lumpy beds, under-maintained, but not too bad for a $100/night room in peak season. Front desk staff was nice, and it is super once isn't on main rd. Front desk isn't open at night though, and breakfast is across the road.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I stayed here for just one night after a trek on the fox glacier and was disappointed by the basic standard of the room. The bathroom was tiny - just a plastic shower cubicle (the shower wasn't very hot) and toilet and there was not a lot of space in the room for two people.
I was really disappointed but he food in the restaurant - we had a set meal as part of a tour and it was all greasy and covered in butter - not appetising at all.
Wifi was also expensive.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heartland Hotel Glacier Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Glacier Country

Address: State Highway 6, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Glacier Country 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Heartland Hotel Glacier Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.