We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent people and comfy stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Matheson Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lake Matheson Motel to your Saves list
Lake Matheson Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive | PO Box 23, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent people and comfy stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We traveled in four and stay in a 2 bedrooms apartment for 2 nights.
The apartment is well equipped with cooking utensils.Room are clean and beds are super comfortable. This probably the best stay in our 14 days NZ trip.
The owner (i forgotten her name) is a very warm and kind person. She offered us a drive to Lake Matheson when we actually just intended to check with her whether there is a shuttle services in town to the lake. She even sent us to the bus station on our departure day to our next destination also.
The only point to be improved probably is the WIFI service. Hope to have a more stable WIFI in future. Overall is a nice and enjoyable experience with Lake Matheson.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    93
    35
    6
    0
See reviews for
39
121
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We were only here for one night but wished we could have stayed longer.
Convenient location, a longish walk up into town, nice and quiet.
The managers were very friendly and helpful and gave us some good advice.
The room was excellent, as were the facilities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We enjoyed our night at this motel from start to end. The managers were so friendly and accommodating. Lent us torches (flash lights) for the glow worm trail when we arrived and even gave us a ride down to Lake Matheson (to try to get a view of the elusive Mt. Cook) after our glacier walk in the morning. Their kindness really helped us to make the most of our short time at Fox glacier. A big thank you to them! By the way, we got a great night's sleep in a pleasant room which is really the most important thing? :-)

Room Tip: Everything is fairly expensive at Fox glacier, but we enjoyed a decent drink and a rugby game at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We just stayed for one night but wished we had a longer stay at this beautiful cottage. The rooms are very cozy an comfortable with all the basic amenities intact. The kitchen was well equipped too. We had taken a room with the spa and after a long drive ( almost 600kms) weren't we glad of our decision. It was very well heated.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We only have positive things to say. The accommodation is clean, spacious and modern. The kitchen area is well equipped and there is a spacious bathroom with a large corner bath. This is amongst the best motels we have stayed in so far on our tour (I think is is the twelfth). We recommend it to anyone staying in the Fox Glacier area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. The motel is in a great location - just a couple of minutes' walk to the restaurants, but far enough that it is nice and quiet in the motel itself. The room was of a high standard and nice and clean. The best bit for us was the large grassy area with chairs etc for guests to sit and relax in. We were lucky enough to have a sunny stay so we made good use of these! Friendly staff too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Spa bath and a bottle of bubbly was a great way to relax! Good facilities, adequate kitchenette for a basic meal, comfortable large bed. Walking distance to the shops/cafes and very friendly/helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Matheson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Matheson Motel

Address: Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive | PO Box 23, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Matheson Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Matheson Motel is ideally located 400 metres from the town centre of Fox Glacier. While we have been proudly named after beautiful Lake Matheson for our 22 years in business, we are definitely a town based motel; and are not on the edge of the Lake which, like the Glacier, is a ten minute drive away. Our aim is to be 'simply nice'. This means we provide simple, clean and comfortable accommodation and focus on giving you good quality basics such as quality Sleepyhead beds, cotton linen, good showers, televisions (flat screens currently being installed in all units) and utensils. After extensive renovations over the past two years (we still have four units to complete this winter), we have gained a 4 star status with Qualmark, but have kept our prices at our original 3 Star Plus level. So come and enjoy our 21 studio and 2 bedroom units, with mountain views, in a peaceful location. We have a newly installed Zenbu wireless system, undercover parking for all units, some spa units, King or Queen bed units, continental breakfasts, a portable BBQ and a Guest Laundry for your convenience. We hope to welcome you to Fox Glacier soon. Myra, John and our son Jamie, Motel Managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lake Matheson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Matheson Hotel Fox Glacier
Lake Matheson Fox Glacier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Matheson Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.