We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Matheson Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Matheson Motel to your Saves list
Lake Matheson Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive | PO Box 23, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Australia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Well located, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Lake Matheson is walking distance to the centre of Fox Glacier town. The motel is clean and well presented. The rooms are well presented, if not the biggest, and the room rate was reasonable. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    108
    38
    8
    0
See reviews for
43
144
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had 2 nights here; our room was comfy, warm, very clean, perhaps a little compact (studio room with our son on the sofabed), and suited our needs, as our stay there was all about waiting on a heli ride onto Fox Glacier&Lake Matheson& a hike or two, depending on weather.

Myra is fantastic, full-bottle on the area&had very practical suggestions. Happily booked tours for us&recommended others which were spot-on.

We were lucky weather-wise. When we rolled into Fox township helicopter rides around Cook&Tasman would have been a waste of money as the cloud was too low, so instead we drove the 5 minutes to beautiful Lake Matheson and hiked around it. (1 hour) Even with Cook&Tasman shrouded in mist, the views from all the lookouts were amazing. The next day when it was sunny we went again for the amazing photo opportunities available.

Myra suggested the glow-worm walk, and organised torches for us that night, which was nice of her, and we really enjoyed it. I recommend you first do this 20minute walk in daylight so you don't take a wrong turn in the dark forest at night!

The motel is very close to everything, easy 5 minute walking distance to town, and if you drive down Cook Flat Rd a few minutes past the turn-off to Lake Matheson, then pull over on the side of the road&turn around, you can see the bottom of Fox Glacier, which was pretty impressive.

Incidentally, it is possible to walk to within 200m of the terminal face of the glacier. Drive to the car-park, then a 20 minute very pretty hike through the towering glacial valley (lots of waterfalls, too) to as far as is safe. (Stay behind the barriers, folks, the glacier is volatile.) Just ask Myra where to go.

If your trip is like ours - nothing actually booked&totally dependent on the weather before you decide, a bonus staying at this motel is something Myra showed us upon arrival; step out under the carport (carports - what a great idea for motels that get heaps of rain), look up - if you can see Mt Cook poking out between the other mountains, get ready to go touring immediately!

All the above were Myra's suggestions; we were very grateful to her for helping us get best value out of our 2 night stay.

Just one thing we didn't like about the motel - thin walls! We were regularly woken by noisy neighbours arguing/showering/packing&leaving in the dark. Sigh. If this is a problem, maybe Myra can stagger your room for you.

Perhaps some extra dishes for self-catering would also be handy. The few eateries in town make cooking necessary, and I had to juggle the dishes we had, but we managed, and maybe Myra would have supplied extras had I thought to ask.

Foodie tip for the Fox-bound while I think of it - if driving to Fox from the north, stop in Franz Josef township at the fairly non-descript Picnics Bakery directly opposite the Tourist Centre - fantastic breads/pastries/pies/cakes&a "Glacier Pastie" that took 2 of us to eat. Mmmmmm. We drove BACK to FJ the next day just for this bakery. Not a lot of shopping options in Fox, so stock up on all those fresh, yummy carbs while you can....btw Saturday is donut day....

Back to the motel, yes, i would happily return (we intend to), and recommend to others. It was very good value, friendly&comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side face Mt Cook
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. And yes - Myra is a real treasure who goes that extra mile! Can I just add to your tip about east facing rooms having views of Mt Cook - they are also our smallest studios and have mini-kitchens - so only microwave, toaster, jug and utensils relevant to those pieces of equipment. If you want cooktops and pots and more spacious rooms, then go for the King Studios around the back which still have a nice outlook onto bushclad hills. Thanks again for taking the time to place your tripadvisor comments.
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This place is in sleepy Fox Glacier, the rooms were adequate, friendly staff, decent heating, corner spa in the bathroom and a king size bed. A quiet spot which offers a quiet comfortable resting place,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write in a review of our business. Very pleased you liked your stay. A little disappointed though that you awarded it only 3 stars as we have worked very hard over the last 3 years in upgrading the kitchens, bathrooms, beds, carpets, etc to achieve our 4 star grading from Qualmark. However, I hope you left us having slept well and having enjoyed the peace and quiet and beautiful sights of Fox Glacier.
Cheers
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our first stop on our driving holiday was at Fox Glacier, staying at Lake Matheson Motel. When we left after dark to get some dinner, the imposing sight of the snow capped mountains was awesome. In the morning we went to Lake Matheson at daybreak and immersed ourselves in the beautiful sights and sounds of the lake and its abundant birdlife. This equals anything in the world for pure peaceful enjoyment, so moving. Now back to the motel. Everything you could ask for, warm, comfortable, clean, nice bed, quiet, yes a great place to stay and we can certainly recommend it for your travels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you :)
Guests like you make all our hard work worthwhile!
Cheers
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Owner was so friendly and helpful - she is like your own personal guide book! She suggested a short walk at night into the forest to see glow worms which was just magical! Motel rooms are clean and modern. Owners are clearly passionate about what they do - keep up the good work!! 'The Last Kitchen' restaurant is delicious - would definately recommend a visit here too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you sooo much for your comments. Yes we do care alot about our business and always try out best to meet expectation, so it was an absolute pleasure to read your tripadvisor feedback.
Thanks again, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed for one night during 4 week holiday. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very courteous young English lady who was very helpful in answering all our questions and made polite conversation. Our unit was nicely furnished & well equipped with a spectacular view of the mountains from the doorway. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had the pleasure to stay here for 2 nights during our trip in NZ. Host was definitely very helpful and check in was quick and efficient. We love the studio we had - spacious, roomy, clean and very functional. Keep up the good work!

Location wise, very convenient as we could easily walk to the stores, cafes and shops on the main road. Also a great base to explore the surrounding areas of Fox and FJ. We made it our base for taking pre-wedding photo shoots. =)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Matheson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Matheson Motel

Address: Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive | PO Box 23, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Matheson Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Matheson Motel is ideally located 400 metres from the town centre of Fox Glacier. While we have been proudly named after beautiful Lake Matheson for our 22 years in business, we are definitely a town based motel; while we are not on the edge of the Lake, we are only a ten drive away and the same for the Glacier. Our motto is 'simply nice'. This means we provide simple, clean and comfortable accommodation and focus on giving you good quality basics such as quality Sleepyhead beds, cotton linen, good showers, televisions and utensils. We have a 4 star grade with Qualmark. So come and enjoy our studio and 2 bedroom units, with mountain views, in a peaceful location. We have WIFI,undercover parking for all units, some spa units, King and Queen bed units, continental breakfasts, a portable BBQ and a Guest Laundry for your convenience. We hope to welcome you to Fox Glacier soon. Heather and Mike, Motel Managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Matheson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Matheson Hotel Fox Glacier
Lake Matheson Fox Glacier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Matheson Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.