We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad thing to say!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Matheson Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Matheson Motel to your Saves list
Lake Matheson Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive | PO Box 23, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Sydney
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Not a bad thing to say!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

I cannot find a bad word to say! We stayed for two nights and the lady who greeted us was wonderful and showed me everything on the map including the convenience store, good places to eat and also the beach and lake if we wanted good photos.
The rooms are perfect with a great heater, comfortable bed and all sorts of amenities including a microwave and toaster, plunger coffee and hot chocolate. These were all added extras for a small motel in a country town as far as I am concerned. The best thing about this place was the modern bathroom with the best shower we had in the whole south island!
Look no further, this place is awesome in terms of location (two minutes walk to town) quietness, comfort, showers(!) and customer service above all else.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Extremely glad you enjoyed your stay. We installed gas water heating to those units (queen studios) in 2009 and we have are so pleased we did in terms of water pressure. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and we would love to welcome you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    93
    35
    6
    0
See reviews for
39
121
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

On our arrival a friendly lady greeted us at reception and provided us with a map of the town and some milk.

She then showed us to our room which was being aired out, ie all doors and windows were open. It smelled and was dusty. I have no idea how it has so many good reviews. We were the only one there in the whole motel.

We did not get much sleep through the night due to the smell and dust but more importantly the room was cold. Even with the heater and electric blanket I struggled to sleep.

Some suggestions to the hotel owner to improve on the cleanliness include take out carpet, bed coverings that cannot be washed (there were two), fabric bed base (again this cannot be removed and washed) and take out the fabric couch.

You will be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Goodness! We have been in business for 22 years and clean is our thing. So I really don't know how to respond to this except to say the bed you slept in had only arrived from the Sleepyhead factory 5 days before you slept on it. So not old, dusty or smelly. And if we removed the couch, the carpets (which are wet-vacc'd every few months), the mattress (as this cannot be washed), and all other fabrics, we may as well go into the business of prisons. However, I do appreciate the time it took you to write such an informative review and hope you went on to have a good holiday around the South Island.
Cheers
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful, Myra was wonderful telling us about all the great places to eat and the best things to go and see and do.
Lovely rooms with that personal touch that gives that homely feeling.
Would stay here again and again.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I (like other reviewers) booked this accommodation thinking that it was located on the lake, as photos show the lake. However, we soon forgot about this as the views of the mountains are spectacular. The room was well equipped (although no cooking facilities, which was disappointing), and the bathroom was very modern and spacious. When checking in our host provided a local map and pointed out the sights to see, which was appreciated. Good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thanks for taking time to write about your stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed yourselves. And yes, we have had problems with people thinking we are at the Lake and have tried to address this (every web page tells you we are 4km from the Lake as does all our print advertising) - when we built, we were the closest motel to the Lake - however, that was 22 years ago and much has changed. But because we have wonderful repeat clientele, we felt that changing the name would not be in their interest in terms of finding us again and knowing that we are still the same family that have always owned it. What a shame you didn't mention that you wanted a cooktop when you were with us as we could have moved you immediately. When booking you will see we have different room types with different facilities. You chose one with mini kitchenette - so only microwave, toaster, jug and utensils for these things. But there are another 13 units which do have cooking facilities!

If you come our way again, be sure to let us know if you have a request and we will always do our best to make your stay better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Brilliant. What a lovely little studio to come back to after a cold day on the ice. Service was fantastic with lots of information on arrival, rooms were beautifully kept and clearly refurbished on a regular basis, and the little things made a big difference, like having heaters turned on for us prior to arrival. Loved our stay, and only a few minutes walk up to the main street.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Fantastic that you had a great time with us here in Fox Glacier. And yes we do refurbish on a very regular basis. People are often surprised that we have been in business for 22 years when they see the rooms. So thank you so much for taking the time to write your review as we continue to refurbish our rooms in our very best effort to make our guests stay better every time they return.
Kindest Regards
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Booked for 2 nights, but only ended up staying one due to glacier hikes being cancelled. Clean and comfortable stay for a few nights. Host Myra was lovely and nice to have a chat with!! Unit was plenty big for the two of us and nice and warm for the winter.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Booked on the internet and was pleasantly surprised. The room was large, bathroom great, but we had to keep the heater on all night as it was very cold outside.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Appreciate your feedback hugely. And yes...that pre-snow chill was ferocious!
Hope you went onto enjoy your holiday.
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Matheson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Matheson Motel

Address: Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive | PO Box 23, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Matheson Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Matheson Motel is ideally located 400 metres from the town centre of Fox Glacier. While we have been proudly named after beautiful Lake Matheson for our 22 years in business, we are definitely a town based motel; and are not on the edge of the Lake which, like the Glacier, is a ten minute drive away. Our aim is to be 'simply nice'. This means we provide simple, clean and comfortable accommodation and focus on giving you good quality basics such as quality Sleepyhead beds, cotton linen, good showers, televisions (flat screens currently being installed in all units) and utensils. After extensive renovations over the past two years (we still have four units to complete this winter), we have gained a 4 star status with Qualmark, but have kept our prices at our original 3 Star Plus level. So come and enjoy our 21 studio and 2 bedroom units, with mountain views, in a peaceful location. We have a newly installed Zenbu wireless system, undercover parking for all units, some spa units, King or Queen bed units, continental breakfasts, a portable BBQ and a Guest Laundry for your convenience. We hope to welcome you to Fox Glacier soon. Myra, John and our son Jamie, Motel Managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Matheson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Matheson Hotel Fox Glacier
Lake Matheson Fox Glacier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Matheson Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.