We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Glacier Hiking Trails

Fox Glacier Hiking Trails
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails
Attraction Details
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We planned to take part in Fox Glacier Guiding because in Taiwan you have no chance to see any glacier. It's raining all the day when we reached there and we did worry that if the activity would stop. Fortunately, we eventually hiked out to the glacier. Although the wind was strong and the rain kept falling down, the scenery was so beautiful! Especially when the sun appeared in the end of our hiking, the majestic mountain really stunned us. It's really an unforgettable experience to us.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    32
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goondiwindi, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very awesome experience, our guide was very knowledgeable and explained in detail how the glaciers form and the history of the area. A good exercise and the view from the top of the glacier is amazing. A must do!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“was it ever so blue?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

They give you all the kit and the guides are great- we had Ruby Wax (looky Likey- in her 20s) and another group got shaggy from Scooby Do.
Its a short uphill walk-keep up at the back- crampons on, and you really get to stomp over a glacier, inside crevices, touch it and play with a pick axe.
The only trouble is, you want to go higher and climb it, and you hanger after a helicopter ride too.
And yes- it was ever so blue.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was fantastic but a massive hike for unfit people like me. There are other options where you do not have to go up the steep grade and walk towards the side and below the glacier. I wonder why they dont charge everyone a fiver for walking this spectacular hike, it is magnificent. Kids loved it also. Good to take a rain coat, we came back looking like drowned rats with our soggy puffers on! Worth the while, it was not cold anyway. Thanks

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Amaizing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Hard to get there. The rain didn't bother to much. The place amaizing. The climbing was hard, but at the top of the glacier wonderfull view

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox Glacier Hiking Trails also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Fox Glacier Hiking Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Glacier Hiking Trails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fox Glacier Hiking Trails to your Saves list