We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst place I stayed in from Cape Reinga to Stewart Island” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Glacier Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fox Glacier Inn to your Saves list
Fox Glacier Inn
39 Sullivan Road | Westland, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The worst place I stayed in from Cape Reinga to Stewart Island”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Waht a disapointment - stayed in the motel section - it was cramped and dirty - bathroom flooded, continental breakfast was three slices of toast betweeen two.
Staff not interested when we complained.
Was near Fox glacier - that was amazing and well worth a visit

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    29
    19
    11
    22
See reviews for
5
31
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire,UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst we did the full days glacier walk which you pick up about 3 mins walk away.Fox village is a nice size with good options for eating and having a drink.We opted for the apartment as it was only about 20$ a night more.Good standard of accomodation which is pretty modern and clean with the bedroom upstairs.Walls are pretty thin so can be noisy dependant on whom you have next door !

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed at the Fox Glacier Inn for one night on a Connections coach tour.

We had a refurbished room and have to say it was basic but clean and an ideal base to explore the Fox Glacier.

Staff were very friendly and breakfast was good.

The glacier hike was tiring but well worth it.

We would also recommend the Heli scenic flight and snow landing. This was fantastic with great views of Mount Cook. The snow landing was awesome, highlight of the trip.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2005

The point of visiting Fox Glacier is to visit the glacier. Located in a superb location, the Fox Glacier Inn serves its purpose of providing decent accommodation at an affordable price. The staff are friendly, the food is wholesome and the scenery is gut-wretchingly awesome. If you have a problem with your room, politely ask a member of staff and they will help you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxInn, Manager at Fox Glacier Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2008
Can I say after reading the original BAD reviews that the Fox Glacier Inn is now under new management as of November 2007 and is now throughly CLEAN and running properly. The new staff are friendly and only too willing to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2005

Stayed here on the 25th of December 2003. We were warned that this place wasn't the best place we'd stay at on our tour. But not only was it the worst on the tour! It was the worst place I've ever stayed at. The bunk beds were so rickety that if the person on the top rolled over during the night it felt like they were going to tip the bed over. My pillow smelt of damp. We thought we were fortunate having an en suite but the bathroom was so bad I didn't want to use the toilet let alone the shower. The food in the restaurant was also quite bad. Unfortunately I don't know if there are any other budget options in the area. But hunt around and consider staying a bit further out if it means you get a nicer hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2005

Had a 3 week cycling holiday in New Zealand in Feb 2004. Hit Fox Glacier on a wet and stormy day. On the flight from the UK we got chatting to some people on the plane who had already told us what to expect. We stayed in the 'up market' motel block at the back of the backpacker section. It was very basic, few facilities and not clean. Having had a shower we had to use the towels to remove the water from all over the floor.

All the rest of motels, hotels and B&Bs we stayed in afterwards were excellent - avoid this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Glacier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier Inn

Address: 39 Sullivan Road | Westland, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Fox Glacier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Glacier Hotel South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Glacier Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.