We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A nice surprise....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A very clean room with a truly lovely bathroom (far nicer than expected) and a very comfortable bed. Fantastic food (one of our best dinners!) with excellent service. A very nice surprise indeed...I did giggle when I opened the drapes and noticed we overlooked a real dump....
But, if you looked up the mountains were beautiful.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    54
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
124
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night recently and the Hotel had a lovely warm, inviting feeling to it..... Very much like home. It was a lovely stay, with great views (even out to the ocean!) We spent some down time chilling out in the "Lounge" area and there was plenty of games and books for reading......

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our tour of New Zealand. It felt really welcoming and had a lovely 'small hotel' feel. Our room was large, with a good bathroom and seating area. There was also a balcony but it was too cold to enjoy while we were there!

Fox Glacier is tiny so it was close to all amenities; the shops, glacier walking tours and restaurants.

There was free parking and some (understandably, due to location) sporadic wi-fi.

The breakfast was made to order and delicious. They obviously work very hard to maintain standards at this hotel.

I would recommend to others visiting Fox Glacier.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The staff at the hotel were very welcoming, freindly and extremley helpful. They maximised our short stay by helping us book all the right excursions at the right time.The accomodation was ideal for our stay, rooms a good size and the breakfast perfect. Just made for the ideal vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Excellently presented boutique hotel, in a prime tourist area where competition is stiff. Really enjoyed our one night stay here. Friendly staff and a wonderful breakfast. Would have loved to stay longer, maybe next time!

Room Tip: Great under cover parking for the car - lovely for an early start up the glacier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed one night. Very, very helpful and friendly management and staff. The rooms were lovely -- the bathrooms in particular were beautiful. The rooms were generous in size, clean, comfortable.

Beginning with helpful information and tips on local restaurants, the staff were welcoming friendly and wonderful, right from the moment of checkin. One member of staff told us she stayed there three years ago, loved it so much asked for a job the next day and stayed. We can see why she'd have done that.

We needed to check out a little later than normal. Very accommodating -- happy to help us and no charge.

Everything about our stay was great. Absolutely no hesitation in strongest possible recommendation.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask the front desk about which restaurants are a good fit and offer great food. He st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Charming stay. We were due to stay 2 nights on a self drive tour of NZ and actually cancelled the first night to stay longer in Queenstown, thinking there wasn't much to do up at Fox but as soon as we arrived at the hotel we realised 2 nights would have been better just to sit and chill in front of their lobby fireplace. It's a place to just stay and relax. Other than the Lake and the Glacier there isn't really much to do but this little hotel is very quaint and really worth staying at(especially when compared to a lot of the mass built Copthorne style hotels in NZ). Also, must say that breakfast was made there and then for us and was delish!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel

Address: 15 Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Fox Glacier is a purpose built 20-room property located on State Highway 6, 100 metres from the centre of the township of Fox Glacier. The rooms are 20.6 sq metres with generous 7 sq. metre en suites with separate bath and shower, super king or king single beds, tea and coffee facilities, wifi, iron, arm chairs, writing table, Sky TV, direct dial telephones, individually controlled heating, balconies with views of the surrounding native bush and mountains. Guests access their rooms via undercover parking, which leads to an internal stairway or elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.