We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain air Helicopters - Franz Joseph - Spectacular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Helicopters

Mountain Helicopters
Main Street Fox Glacier, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
(03) 751 0045
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mountain air Helicopters - Franz Joseph - Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We did the 30 min flight over Fox, Franz Joseph and Tasman Glaciers on way to Mt Cook landing - it was an amazing experience and good value for money compared to other providers. We were able to book on the day when we could see we had fantastic weather. As someone who is scared of heights I was pensive about a helicopter flight, however was very smooth and gentle! I would recommend this to anyone visiting the area. Money well worth spent.....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    2
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Mountain Helicopters took our visit to Franz Josef from superb to sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I cannot say enough about the excellent service and experience my husband and I had in May 2012. We opted for the Flight C option - the 30 MIN MT COOK & FOX GLACIER FLIGHT which included a landing on top of the Alps and crystal clear views of literally dozens of glaciers including Franz and Fox. Our pilot Brooke was tremendously competent, very good-humoured and obliging and I cannot compliment him enough. Clark in the booking office (a helicopter pilot also) escorted us to the helipad, gave clear safety and procedure instructions and we climbed aboard confidently.
A+ to this company for giving us the flight of a lifetime. Don't hesitate

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If you've never been in a helicopter, try this out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

For me the cost of a helicopter tour has been a show stopper. Mountain Helicopters has a $99 quick trip which is only for 10 minutes, but it's enough time to get up to the Fox Glacier and go mos of the way up it. Really quite something. There are 4 heli companies in Fox and Franz. Mountian is the only one with this deal. Others have 20 mins for $200, which is nice if you have almost $1000 to spend for a family.

It's a great experience.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Licence to thrill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Passing through Fox Glacier area in a camper van we watched the helicopter flights and decided that for around £95 for 20 minutes we'd do it. We're unlikely to pass that way again but what a fabulous experience, no regrets. Skimming over the snow and rocks at altitude and speed was sheer James Bond stuff, what a privilege. My wife's not keen on flying but relaxed into it and beamed for the rest of the day. The photos and video you can take are astounding. The staff were fun and though they do it day in day out - they didn't seem jaded by it. They say the views are great wherever you sit but up front cannot be beaten in my experience. What you get also a a sense of the sheer scale of the landscape (not as big as Icelandic glaciers but still impressive). Helicopters even land up there for hiking which I'd have done with more time, no question. There is a ten minute flight for the Fox glacier only but the twenty minute flight covers five glaciers, well worth it - easily.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012 via mobile

We struck a day which wasn't the best as a front was moving in ,so we weren't too sure if we could fly.
We chose the$200 option and we weren't disappointed! Our flight ended up being twice as long as advertised and we had some great views.
The pilot was a wealth of knowledge and most accommodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Helicopters also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Mountain Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Helicopters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.