We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Paringa Lodge

Lake Paringa Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fox Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Paringa Lodge
State Highway 6, Lake Paringa, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

perfect location if u want to walk around Adeiaide. only problem what we had was noise from the street, which starts around 5.30 in the morning :/ the rest was verry good. Clean room maybe a bit oldfashion but nice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here one night in studio. Accommodation is basic, but everything is in place as expected. kitchnette equipments were old and tired, the main is, it was cold and damp. Heating facilities are not good. But the location is beautiful, kind of staying in wilderness, there is no nearby town or shops , so its mandatory that we either cook ourselves or bring some food along with us. Rooms were clean and tidy. I would suggest this is good place to stay during summers

Room Tip: Not suitable for winters
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Basic accomodation, but the price reflects that and that is what your expectation should be.
What a stunning location. They have built a T shaped jetty into the Lake edge and we sat there with some wine, heaven. The owners are very helpful, the place is very peaceful.
Stock up on food before you get there as it is wonderfuly remote.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My sister and I stayed at Lake Paringa Lodge for one night on a road trip from Queenstown up the West Coast, as we had decided that we could manage to aim beyond Haast, but didn't want to arrive in Fox Glacier late in the day, so this seemed to be the ideal half-way point between Haast and Fox. I booked online the day before, and communications from the owners were very prompt and helpful, advising us to make sure we brought all our own food as there were no local shops or eateries. In hindsight, it would have been best to buy a cool-bag and stock up in Queenstown before we left, as the little grocery store at Haast had no fresh fruit or meat, and we ended up visiting the service station at Haast Junction and the little store at Haast Beach before we rounded up all the ingredients for our evening meal.

The lodge was just off the road at Lake Paringa, and was set on the edge of the lake. The cabins themselves were basic, but they were very clean and comfortable and had all the essentials. The location was wonderfully quiet and in the morning the lake looked spectacular in the rising fog.

We found the owners very helpful - the boss came and lit the barbecue for us when we couldn't figure it out - and happy to give touring advice. We had a "semi self-catering" cabin, so we used the communal kitchen. It was big and well-equipped, and there was an adjoining lounge with a TV if we'd felt the need to watch it.

This is a budget option, not a resort, but offers good value and clean, comfortable lodgings that would ideally suit families and keen fisherman. We got to Fox Glacier in about an hour, so for us, it was the perfect spot to spend the night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and it was everything we wanted. We had 2 adjoining units with 2 doubles and a single bed in each between 2 adults and 3 kids. 1 kitchen and 2 bathrooms were more than enough. The units were clean, tidy and simple. The grounds are nicely kept and the backdrop of the lake is beautiful, even stunning at times. For a base in South Westland it is hard to go past this place for relaxing simplicity. The owner, Ken, was very accommodating and friendly and added to our enjoyment.

Room Tip: Ask for adjoining units if you can't all fit into one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

What a beautiful location to recharge the batteries and partake in some fly fishing !
This Lodge ain't the Hilton, but what it lacks in creature comforts it more than makes up for in good old fashioned charm and serenity.
Very clean, very tidy, the units are very roomy and the beds comfortable...and oh so quiet !
Set right on the edge of gorgeous Lake Paringa it's gotta be an anglers El Dorado !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Paringa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Paringa Lodge

Address: State Highway 6, Lake Paringa, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty lodging in Fox Glacier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Paringa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Paringa Lodge to your Saves list