We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 78” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park

Save Saved
You added Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Kerr Road | off Cook Flat Rd, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Room 78”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a spacious family unit and although basic was clean (apart from some spider webs, and we all know how quickly they arrive!). It was adequate for 5 adults. It was a pity we couldn't get the oven to work and wasted a bit of time trying while our food got cold. The bed pillows were terrible and resulted in one of us getting a stiff neck. The short trip to Lake Matheson and the walk around the lake to the viewing area is a must. If you get the reflections of Mt Tasman and Mt Cook in the Lake like we did you will remember it for the rest of your life. The walk up to the Fox Glacier face was physically draining for over 70s but an opportunity not to be missed if at all possible. The welcome to the camp was business like rather than welcoming. The camp itself was clean and tidy. We would go back although we paid 5 star prices for 2 1/2 star accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    87
    33
    12
    6
See reviews for
55
107
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We called this "the tin hut" but it did for a night. I would not have wanted to stay for longer. The bed linen was not of the best quality and a rather nasty beige colour. The bathroom was very small and the plastic sink was deeply cracked. It wasn't easy to even wash your hands in it. The shower was OK and the water nice and hot.
It did seem quite well geared up for camper vans though with a large kitchen area and showers.
I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed 1 Night in a powered camp site situated between both of the Kitchen and Toilet/Shower areas. The showers are great especially as they have a family shower room with 2 showers in the one open cubicle. The kitchens are both large with ample tables. Perhaps the only thing to make the kitchens better would be to have gas hobs in stead of the electric cooktops as this would make for quicker cooking. Its very close to the 'centre' of the township with only a 10 minute walk to town.

The staff were very friendly upon arrival and answered any questions we had for them. Very similar to other Top 10 parks throughout the country and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in a 'self contained studio unit' (Room 65) at the Fox Glacier Top Ten Holiday Camp in February 2013 as part of a nine week trip round NZ. It ticked all the wrong boxes; it was old, tatty, grubby and very small. Noise from the adjoining unit was also an issue. The linen, and especially the sheets, were uninviting and one of the 2 very old gas rings did not function properly and we wondered whether it was even safe. On the plus side, the shower and room heater worked well although condensation was a real issue. Although this accommodation was less expensive than many motels that we stayed in, the standard was far lower than the price might indicate and was poor value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our site backed on to he kids play area very loud noisey children. We asked to be moved which the accommodated no problem. Good laundry facilities and a lovely open wide space at the back of the campsite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great park, good location, good facilities. Well recommended. This is a well laid out park with exceptional shared facilities. Our cabin was roomy and very clean. The park is well situated near the shopping centre and on the road to Lake Matheson. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, recommending the best places to eat

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here on 6th March 2013. The location was fine (only a brief stroll into town) and the young Canadian receptionist was delightfully pleasant and informative, but the en-suite accommodation didn't meet our expectations. During our two week tour of the South Island this place was the most disappointing.

The kitchen area way too tiny, the bedroom also too tiny and the furniture was from the 1960s. The unit also had the world's smallest shower - simply no room to move. The carpet had a big black stain (looks like someone placed a hot iron there) and the old styled TV was terrible. I peeked into the two adjoining en-suite cabins and saw that both looked brand new inside - one was even empty during our stay, yet we were placed in this crappy old phone booth.

I know choices are limited in Fox and Franz Josef, but I'm sure you'd be better off spending a little more and staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: Kerr Road | off Cook Flat Rd, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty lodging in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motels offer a wide range of accommodation types to suit all travellers. We have modern motels, self-contained units, lodges, standard cabins, powered and non-powered vehicle sites and tent sites. This accommodation range is matched with excellent communal facilities, and our peaceful rural setting, with the towering Southern Alps visible from all around the park. GET OUTFOXING! Our guests often tell us that they love the local walks, but wish there was more information about what they are looking at. To help you get the most out of your stay we have produced some excellent guide booklets for the best local walks. We call them OUTFOXING Guidebooks, and each booklet takes you to several points of interest along one of the walks, and tells you something incredible about what you're looking at. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.