We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel Units are great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Kerr Road | off Cook Flat Rd, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Omapere, New Zealand
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Motel Units are great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We travelled as a couple and my brother so needed a bit of space - we booked the One Bedroom Motel Unit there and it was exactly as described. Very clean, not to spacious but the bro had his own room (our Bed was in the Living Room) - view towards the mountains over a big paddock and parking under a carport right outside our unit.

We noticed that the other units have been recently renovated - some had decks added and others have the space inside divided differently - they are clearly upgrading the whole park by the looks so it will only get better.

The only not so great thing about our unit/house was the toilet seems to be built for small people - as in skinny.. if you are large - don't try it - or you will have to leave the door open as it is very awkward to close the door while you are in it..(don't worry there is another door from the bathroom to the living area so you don't "flash" anybody)

Staff was very friendly and helpful and the reception area is in my eyes one of the largest I have seen on any caravan park - lots of information about the area - hiking maps the like.

The Park is only about 3-5 min drive from Lake Matheson - well worth a visit if the weather is fine (we where lucky) and one can walk into the village - good if you want to have a beer at the pub and don't drive.

Overall a great place to stay - Fox in general I would prefer over Franz Josef (been to both numerous times) - even if it is just for the fact that the walk to the terminal face is less of a distance and less crowded at Fox..

Room Tip: If you need more room - choose the two bedroom motel units
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    95
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
64
122
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our first experience staying at this site in a powered vehicle.Also our first experience travelling in South Island. The facilities were excellent very clean and the staff very helpful. Sad as I am, DVD for hire would have been good as the night life of Fox Glacier is not exactly awe inspiring!!! Excellent views of the Glacier just a short drive down the road.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in our campervan for two nights and found the location perfect for both glaciers and the other interesting sites around. The site has very useful information to help you choose the best activity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here on our self drive trip in South Island. We stayed one night in a single unit studio motel double with bathroom. The room and bath was clean. There was a kitchenette with basic utensils (also clean). The mountain view was excellent. The park was clean and the staff were helpful. There were many campervans parked here. Can bring the family along. Value for money!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Barker, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Not usually the type of accommodation we usually use but the units in this park were faultless. The staff were most helpful and really our stay could not have been more pleasant. There is so much to see and do two days were not long enough. Our room was a studio motel double and was fairly new and quite spacious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a rather modest campsite. Shared kitchen - not very clean, remember to bring all pots, plates and cutlery. There is no separate room to watch TV or relax. Bathrooms are not very nice ... The biggest advantage is good location and price. I've only spent there one night and the next morning very early I left.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FGHP, Owner at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We're sorry that you didn't thoroughly enjoy your stay with us. We, like many other Holiday Parks don't provide any cooking or eating equipment in our communal kitchens, however we do have a separate and comfortable TV lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This holiday park had extremely spacious and clean facilities. The shower facilities were the largest that I had encountered all holidays. Lovely open spaces in the park and a great kids play area.
The staff made us feel very welcome on check-in and the prices were very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: Kerr Road | off Cook Flat Rd, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motels offer a wide range of accommodation types to suit all travellers. We have modern motels, self-contained units, lodges, standard cabins, powered and non-powered vehicle sites and tent sites. This accommodation range is matched with excellent communal facilities, and our peaceful rural setting, with the towering Southern Alps visible from all around the park. GET OUTFOXING! Our guests often tell us that they love the local walks, but wish there was more information about what they are looking at. To help you get the most out of your stay we have produced some excellent guide booklets for the best local walks. We call them OUTFOXING Guidebooks, and each booklet takes you to several points of interest along one of the walks, and tells you something incredible about what you're looking at. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.