We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Kerr Road | off Cook Flat Rd, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Lexington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Terrific accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Super-clean and updated site. Complete facilities. Staff is very helpful and readily agreed to help out when we had a special request. Great views of the mountains in clear weather.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FGHP, Owner at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as we do try extremely hard to ensure that all our guests have a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    107
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
84
140
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We pulled into this park on a rainy afternoon, trying to decide whether to stay or move on a bit. We were looking at weather reports on the internet when a bearded employee came out and said he'd been watching us, and that we either had to book a site, or leave. That we were blocking business by taking up space in the parking lot. The parking lot was empty, we were the only ones in it. To say the least, we moved to the very friendly holiday park closer to town. Not sure what this guys problem was, but he was the first jerk we met after a month camping in New Zealand. Beware...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FGHP, Owner at Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We're really sorry that we offended you, that was not the intention. You had been parked on our car park for some time and other guests had to manoeuvre their way around your vehicle in order to check-in. We were also concerned as we do get people who try to "steal" a shower & we thought you might have been waiting for someone who was illegally using our facilities.....obviously it was a miscommunication.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I received a warm welcome and a choice of any site that I wanted.

Facilities are good, modern and clean and never terribly busy.

In the evening, the cloud cleared from Mount Tasman for beautiful views.

A couple of minutes drive from the centre of the township or a short walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit, room 1-Queen bed room 2 Queen bed and single bunk bed. We chose this place because it was only 10 mins from Lake Matheson and was around $40 per head for the 6 of us. The shower had good water pressure and was hot although it was quite small.
Overall the place was clean and sufficient my only complaint would be that there was no sound proofing from the bedroom you could clearly hear the tv and every word spoken.
For those with kids there was a playground and a trampoline.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

there are no views and the whole park feels like a trailer park. but, the rooms are comfortable with plenty of hot water. pretty cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is listed as a 4 star AA park but is more like a struggling 3 star. The accommodation was exceptable but tired and shabby. We booked for three adults in a two bedroom unit, the bathrooom could have been cleaner, particularly behind the doors (hair and dirt, not pleasant) We had to wash the glasses before drinking from them and the plates were wet! There were no fly screens on any of the windows - in the middle of sandfly country! there was no air conditioning so you had to make the choice of being eaten alive with the windows open or cook in the heat! Dissapointing.

Room Tip: No air con / no fly screen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

These cabins are small, but have everything you could want. They have balconies on each one and are just amazing value for what you get. The campsite is great with lots of good facilities, in particular laundry facilitaties, which if you're like us and had been travelling a while was great.

A short 10/15 minute walk up the road and you're by the resturants and bars and can book any tours that you want to do. Lake Matteson is just down the road the other way. Very good value accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: Kerr Road | off Cook Flat Rd, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motels offer a wide range of accommodation types to suit all travellers. We have modern motels, self-contained units, lodges, standard cabins, powered and non-powered vehicle sites and tent sites. This accommodation range is matched with excellent communal facilities, and our peaceful rural setting, with the towering Southern Alps visible from all around the park. GET OUTFOXING! Our guests often tell us that they love the local walks, but wish there was more information about what they are looking at. To help you get the most out of your stay we have produced some excellent guide booklets for the best local walks. We call them OUTFOXING Guidebooks, and each booklet takes you to several points of interest along one of the walks, and tells you something incredible about what you're looking at. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.