We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,convenient,comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier to your Saves list
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   55 Main Road | Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean,convenient,comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed in the studio room for 2 nights. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, and hot water for bathing was available. Location was convenient, easy to access different locations in Fox Glacier but then again, it is a small town after all.

Downsides were firstly, there was only one trash can and it was in the toilet, pretty inconvenient if I have some thrash to throw and I was in the bedroom. Second is that they could have increased the free wireless capacity in which only 200 mb of data was given.

Overall, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    90
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
28
140
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Having stayed in Fox glacier three times, in hotels and motels that were rather lacking, I was very pleased to find a modern motel at last. The others I have stayed at were all somewhat behind the times, but this one is clean and well managed.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Tidy and clean room, well equipped and cosy. The staff were very helpful and friendly and even helped us to plan the rest of our journey and arrange booking at the next destination, so we also stayed in Bella Vista at Wanaka. Highly recommended and we look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

One night stop over. Usual standard for Bella vista. Clean, tidy and a few niceties. Close to town and cafes. Stayed with my family and it worked well for us. Had a note about sleeping between the sheets. My kids found it quite amusing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This motel was beautifully presented. The room was clean and immaculate with every thing we needed. The shower was really great with excellent pressure. The staff were very helpful and gave suggestions on local attractions. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We arrived in Fox Glacier without accommodation and checked out a few of the motels. We picked Bella Vista and weren't disappointed. The receptionist showed us different options and we picked a room that had a microwave for just a few $$$$'s more. The room was very clean and modern. We were given excellent information about things to do in Fox Glacier. We ended up staying an extra night. Bella Vista had several good restaurants within walking distance. We had seen Bella Vista Motels in several towns during our trip and wished we'd stayed at 1 sooner. Well recommend them to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We recently did a self-drive vacation around the south-island and stayed at around 6 different Hotels and Motels. We found the Bella Vista @ Fox to be one of the best stays. Both Bill and Jill are extremely welcoming people, with a wealth of local knowledge to share with you. The room was spacious, clean and contained all the neccesities. Best of all everything was clean and worked!

We loved the sights especially Lake Matheson.

Room Tip: Speak to Bill or Jill and they will help you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Address: 55 Main Road | Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest accommodation complex in Fox Glacier. Superior accommodation in the heart of the Village. Stroll to restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.