We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Fox Glacier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier to your Saves list
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   55 Main Road | Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Hyde Park, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Fox Glacier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Clean and well appointed hotel rooms; friendly and helpful owners. Last night was our second stay here. Both times we were very comfortable and enjoyed the clean rooms and the location. Easy to walk to just about anything.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    90
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
28
140
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Great room, WONDERFUL owners, and a beautiful town.....What else do you need!?

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Good location. Peter was a great host. A+ service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Bank, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

The welcome we recieved from Bill was the most warm and helpful we received in NZ. The room was identical in decor to the Bella Vista, Wanaka, but newer,and was not inspiring but it was spacious, well appointed and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit spartan compared to those in other hotels we stayed in but again we had everything we wanted and needed. We spent two most satisfactory nights in Bella Vista, Fox Glacier although I did think that it was expensive relative to other hotels we had experienced - this was near the end of our trip. However, perhaps this is explained by the excellent location which gives easy acess to Fox and Franz glaciers. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to people visiting the area. NB Having a sofa as well as a bed was something we particularly enjoyed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Awesome place, beautiful location, friendly and warm host. We enjoyed our stay and would love to come back again :).

All the best !!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We were in room 11. The room was nice and the staff was nice. Upon check-in, it was only 4pm-ish or so, and the receptionist at the desk gave us some advice to visit the glacier and visit the lake.

We took her up on both of those and did the beach on our own. The glacier is an awesome sight (bad weather prevented our helicopter tour the next day). The lake was ok, to be honest it was just nice to stretch the legs after a drive from Christchurch, and the beach was full of some freaky people. That said the beach had some character with strong waves and driftwood, made for some great pictures.

The room itself was clean and the bed was comfortable. I couldn't find a safe in the room though. Also, the room only had two pillows on the bed. And I couldn't buy a wi-fi pass after the receptionist had left (the other hotels we stayed in around NZ allowed you to buy online from the splash page). If you call the staff after 6pm, it says they'll charge $20.

The shower was really strong, which was a huge plus after Christchurch.

Also, the blackout curtains didn't work as well as we had hoped. There was a street light that still made it fairly bright in the room as the entry wall is a sliding glass door.

All-in-all though a nice place. Please note that check out is 10am--we were oblivious but made it out before 11am.

Room Tip: Room 11 has problems keeping out the light from the street lamp, even with the curtains closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvfox, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Hi and thank you for your review. I'd just like respond to the following points;
1. Our reception is available from 7.00am to 9.pm daily and not 6.00pm as you state in your review.
2. Extra pillows are in all rooms in the draw under the suitcase rack.
3. Thanks for alerting us to the street light problem in unit 11 and we will make sure this problem is corrected.
We trust you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed here for one night Nov. 10th. This is a great place to stay in Fox Glacier. Very clean, comfortable bed, Wi-Fi worked well, and everything you need to prepare a meal in your room. Bill was very friendly and helpful with information about the area. Just reading the travel guides I would not have gone to Lake Matheson. Thanks to Bill we went and saw some of the best views in NZ. I would stay here again. Thanks Bill.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Address: 55 Main Road | Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest accommodation complex in Fox Glacier. Superior accommodation in the heart of the Village. Stroll to restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.