We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bottomless Coffee!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe

Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe
State Highway 6, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
+64 3 751 0837
Improve this listing
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Salmon Farm and Licensed Cafe, located in remote southern South Westland.
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bottomless Coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

In our six weeks in New Zealand, this is the only restaurant we found with American-style coffee pots on the counter and free refills. No expensive and time-consuming ceremony, just plain ol' coffee, easy to get and not expensive. Although this was just a quick stop on the bus, we also had time to watch and feed the salmon swimming in tanks around the building. Some people bought fresh salmon steaks to take with them, and probably enjoyed them.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

48% Recommend
    10
    7
    6
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Worth The Stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The salmon fillet was pretty average but not quite as bad as the pizza which I think used a frozen pizza dough. The smoked salmon pasta was just as bad. I don't know which is worse - the food here or the whitebait patty in Haast, the town about 60 kms away from the salmon farm if you are driving up from Queenstown. My advice: try and avoid stopping at Haast and the Salmon Farm.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Pit stop with fresh salmon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Travelling with the inter-city bus from Queenstown to Fox Glazier, we had fresh salmon and hot tea. Some of the other passengers had salmon sandwich, French fries, hot soup or muffins.
There is a small gift shop inside the cafe - from maps, souvenirs and honey. We bought a book of scenaries in New Zealand here and a few bottles of Kamahi honey. Cafe has both indoor and outdoor seating area.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"The salmon is very good"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped for a sandwich and coffee on a roadtrip. I had Salmon on Rye which was beautiful and fresh. The coffee was great. My son had a chocolate brownie which was also delicious and we have stopped since and brought the same items again. We also took our little kids here and they had a great time feeding the salmon. Prices are high. Its a short boardwalk bushwalk to a large open cafe with a deck which overlooks the salmon pens. Its fascinating to watch the salmon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda M, Public Relations Manager at Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip. We wish it could be otherwise but our prices are reflective of the costs associated with providing a service in our extremely remote location. Take care and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a must stop for lunch on the way to Franz Joseph”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

fantastic food and the chance to look over the balcony and see Salmon in the pens, and HUGE marauding brown trout circling the pens looking for food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda M, Owner at Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you, we aim to provide a warm welcome in the Wilderness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.