We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B+B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire to your Saves list
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Wilson St, Renwick 7204, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Wine Tour Bike
Ranked #2 of 9 Renwick B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous B+B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in early 2012 with 2 friends. Hired bikes to see the sights (wineries). Wonderful friendly hosts and relaxing place to stay. Would recommend to anyone. Great base to explore as wineries are so close by.
Food was good with a large continental breakfast each morning. The two rooms we had were also excellent.
Difficult to find fault.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    29
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
165
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kabu
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a really cute B&B that was everything we expected. The hostess was great. The hot tub was nice out back. And there are like 25 wineries within 5k of the house. You can rent bikes here to go wine tasting (which I highly recommend over the competition which is more expensive and further away). Their gardens are also beautiful and the homemade jams and local spreads for breakfast was a nice touch.

Guests staying here should really have a car with them...otherwise you are pretty screwed for dinner options. The wineries all close about 4 or 5pm, and there is only one crappy restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were warmly welcomed and given expert assistance in setting off for our cycle to the vineyards. A shower popped up, but it was no problem, since Robert came in the van to pick us up, bikes and all. Back at the B&B we enjoyed our wine purchase on the porch, with a view of the lovely garden. After a peaceful night of rest under the warm, wool blankets, we savored Diane's homemade breakfast treats before setting off for Picton, with accurate driving directions from Robert. A special New Zealand memory to treasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rugby
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent two nights with Diane and Robert and made use of their free cycle hire to visit some of the wineries in the Marlborough region. They were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and the bed was comfortable and the room dark owing to the thick curtains, so we slept well. A tasty and substantial continental breakfast was provided and cooked for an extra charge.It was a delight to share their beautiful home with them and I recommend them very strongly.
The town of Renwick has little to offer the visitor, however, and eating out there is very hit and miss. It is a shame that some of the wine income has not flowed into improving the infrasructure of Renwick and its close neighbour, Blenheim.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My Mum & I stayed at the Olde Mill House for 4 nights. It was absolutely brilliant. Hosts Diane & Robert were very welcoming & had a wealth of information about the area. The bikes provided were great & the warm spa after a day of riding was very nice to come home too! Our room was extremely clean, decorated lovely, it was cosy and quiet. The breakfasts in the morning were also delicious! We cooked for 2 of the evenings we stayed which was also great. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can highly recommend the Olde Mill House to other travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaky1982
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here after spending four long weeks in a campervan and so were grateful for the lovely bath and big bed. The owners are really friendly and helpful and the bike hire and maps are brilliant - although i would avoid the tandem bike unless you have brilliant balance (wine plus tandem equals hard work!). The homemade breakfast the next day was a real treat too! Great place!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This place is great! We stayed here three nights and enjoyed every minute. Diane was out of town during our stay, but Robert took care of everything perfectly! He is very kind and really cares about the happiness of his guests. Jasper is their wonderful dog, who was very hard to leave behind.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The showers are good. They offer a lot of choices at breakfast. The hot tub is great, although we wished it were hotter, as we had very cool weather and got caught in a few rain storms. The yard is absolutely wonderful and relaxing.

We wished there were more restaurant selections in town, as we went to the wineries during the day and did not want to drive anywhere. We ended up cooking one night, which worked out well. What the area lacks in restaurants, it made up for in wineries. In two days, we were able to easily bike to over 20! The bikes worked well and the wine bags definitely came in handy.

Overall, a great trip. If we're ever back in the area, we'll definitely make another trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire

Address: 9 Wilson St, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us in Renwick the heart of the Marlborough wine region. Our character home is set in beautiful gardens and is refurbished to provide quality accommodation that retains the charm of yesteryear. We have three rooms all with ensuites. Relax in our outdoor spa/bbq area with views to the Richmond ranges. Guests enjoy free: Wine tour Bikes!! wi-fi!! Spa!! and Airport/bus/train pickups!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.