We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire

Save Saved
You added Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Wilson St, Renwick 7204, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Wine Tour Bike
Ranked #2 of 9 Renwick B&B and Inns
rugby
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very friendly welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent two nights with Diane and Robert and made use of their free cycle hire to visit some of the wineries in the Marlborough region. They were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and the bed was comfortable and the room dark owing to the thick curtains, so we slept well. A tasty and substantial continental breakfast was provided and cooked for an extra charge.It was a delight to share their beautiful home with them and I recommend them very strongly.
The town of Renwick has little to offer the visitor, however, and eating out there is very hit and miss. It is a shame that some of the wine income has not flowed into improving the infrasructure of Renwick and its close neighbour, Blenheim.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
153
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My Mum & I stayed at the Olde Mill House for 4 nights. It was absolutely brilliant. Hosts Diane & Robert were very welcoming & had a wealth of information about the area. The bikes provided were great & the warm spa after a day of riding was very nice to come home too! Our room was extremely clean, decorated lovely, it was cosy and quiet. The breakfasts in the morning were also delicious! We cooked for 2 of the evenings we stayed which was also great. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can highly recommend the Olde Mill House to other travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaky1982
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here after spending four long weeks in a campervan and so were grateful for the lovely bath and big bed. The owners are really friendly and helpful and the bike hire and maps are brilliant - although i would avoid the tandem bike unless you have brilliant balance (wine plus tandem equals hard work!). The homemade breakfast the next day was a real treat too! Great place!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This place is great! We stayed here three nights and enjoyed every minute. Diane was out of town during our stay, but Robert took care of everything perfectly! He is very kind and really cares about the happiness of his guests. Jasper is their wonderful dog, who was very hard to leave behind.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The showers are good. They offer a lot of choices at breakfast. The hot tub is great, although we wished it were hotter, as we had very cool weather and got caught in a few rain storms. The yard is absolutely wonderful and relaxing.

We wished there were more restaurant selections in town, as we went to the wineries during the day and did not want to drive anywhere. We ended up cooking one night, which worked out well. What the area lacks in restaurants, it made up for in wineries. In two days, we were able to easily bike to over 20! The bikes worked well and the wine bags definitely came in handy.

Overall, a great trip. If we're ever back in the area, we'll definitely make another trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The place is set in a perfect location for exploring the wineries around Marlborough by bike and the spa in the outside area overlooking the gardens is the perfect place to finish off a day! The rooms are beautifully decorated and the owners Diane and Robert are most helpful and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay at the Olde Mill house very much and can highly recommend it for other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We arrived around 11am and received a very warm and friendly welcome....we were shown to our room which was stunning and overlooked the Rose garden. We dropped off our bags and the gentleman kindly sorted out our bicycles and we headed out to the vineyards immediately. If you like wine then Renwick is the place to be! We returned around 4pm a little sozzled from the wine tastings and were met with a lovely cup of tea and homemade brownies..... perfect. We had a lie down on a couple of hours.... the bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. Then after a dodgy meal in the local pub we couldn't wait to get back to Old Mill! We sleep extremely well and I could have happily stayed for week. They laid on a lovely continental breakfast and we sat chatting to the hostess and some other guest for a couple of hours.

Old Mill House is everything you want from a B&B... but with the extra special touches (including an ornate toilet roll holder!)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. It's a convenient location for exploring the vineyards with lovely gardens - free bike hire is a bonus. Hot tub is a nice way to relax.

Great recommendations on restaurants - Herzogs bistro and Raupo both worth trying.

Excellent breakfast with a wide selection and lots of home made jams and especially the muesli. Dianne and Robert were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

We'd definitely return if we are in the area, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire

Address: 9 Wilson St, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us in Renwick the heart of the Marlborough wine region. Our character home is set in beautiful gardens and is refurbished to provide quality accommodation that retains the charm of yesteryear. We have three rooms all with ensuites. Relax in our outdoor spa/bbq area with views to the Richmond ranges. Guests enjoy free: Wine tour Bikes!! wi-fi!! Spa!! and Airport/bus/train pickups!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.