We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely and comfy hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watson's Way Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Renwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watson's Way Backpackers
Save
You added Watson's Way Backpackers to your Saves list
56 High Street, Renwick, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
in transit
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely and comfy hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

The owners were very welcoming and obviously proud of their lovely hostel. The hostel itself was squeaky clean with comfortable beds and lovely, crisp linens. Good, hot showers. All very, very clean. There's a large kitchen with a comfy lounge and some good outdoor patio space as well. On-site parking and Zenbu wifi.

Just a few steps away from the hostel there's a grocery store, a cafe, petrol station, and even a few pubs. No reason to spend the night in Blenheim, I can highly recommend Watson's Way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
40
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Nice room (dbl ensuite). well designed! very clean, big and with TV. The walls are glass-made but there are curtains to isolate you from the outsude world. Owners are very kind. Kitchen is big and well equipped. do not enter room oe kitchen with shoes, which are likely to dirt the carpets.
A must-be place, close to the many wineries around.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed 2 nights here in a double room with a shared bath. The common room is very nice with a huge kitchen making it easy for us to save money by buying food at the local supermarket and eating it here. The bedroom was small with the bed on one side of the room meaning the person on the wall-side of the bed (me) had to literally climb over the other person to exit. A nice touch was a DVD player in the room (you can rent movies from the owners for $1).

My only problem with this place is the bathrooms. The co-ed bathrooms were freezing cold! Since they have a "no shoes" policy, this made the bathroom floor even colder. Also I didn't find it very sanitary to be in a shared toilet stall without shoes, but that could just be my germophobia kicking in.

However, the price was so reasonable for this place that I feel that I can still recommend it. Also, the location is excellent. Renwick is right in the heart of wine country (2 wineries are even a 15-20 min walk away), so I'm not sure why anyone who wants to wine taste would prefer to stay in Blenheim. There's also a nice cafe and a great fish n chips place about a block away. For a cheap, well-located place to see the win country, I recommend!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed here in a double bedroom using the shared bathroom facilities in April 2011. The lodge is perfect for touring the local wineries, as you can hire out bikes on site and then take a leisurely cycle around sampling the many wines. There are lots of wineries within easy cycling distance on a nice circular route, and barely any charge for tasting (generally seem to be happy to promote their wines). Renwick is also a nice quiet place to stay in, and I would recommend the Cork and Keg just around the corner for food and drink. The lodge itself was very spacious, with a large living and kitchen area and enough showers and toilets so that one was always free. Wi-fi can be accessed through the Zenbu network, so you are looking at $10 per 100mb.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Stayed here for one night on our way to the West Coast. Paul, the owner, welcomed us upon arrival. The lodge was purpose built so great kitchen living room area. It is situated at the rear of the property with lovely trees and even a tennis court. We had one of the ensuite double rooms, there was fresh roses in a vase on the dressing table.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011 via mobile

The hosts here are lovely, the hostel is clean, tidy and well presented. You are made to feel very welcome and it makes a great change from all these big soulless backpackers. Rooms are a little tight but the living and kitchen area makesup for it.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed here before leaving the South Island to spend a day cycling round the local wineries in Renwick. The hostel is lovely, our double ensuite room was clean and cosy, with a TV and DVD player. The kitchen is big and well equiped and the living area is great, with games and loads of info on what to do locally. You can hire DVDs too. The friendly owners rented us bikes for the day of visiting wineries too and recommended a few places to stop in. We loved it here and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Watson's Way Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watson's Way Backpackers

Address: 56 High Street, Renwick, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Renwick
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watson's Way Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.