We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what it says on the tin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Renwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
33 Blicks Road, Renwick 7204, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Renwick B&B and Inns
durham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exactly what it says on the tin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

What a surprise as we drove into the driveway, an imposing house, with a French appearance and appeal and in extensive grounds, and the B & B accommodation seperate just to the right and it is all surrounded by many vineyards. Jo was there to greet us before we had stopped and she looked after us throughout our 3 night stay. The Loft is a purpose built B & B with a great homely and very comfortable feel to it. The fittings and furniture are all good quality, with complimentary sherry to compliment it all. Superb continental breakfast served in the room, using quality cutlery and crockery. Jo, and husband Steve, were so helpful offering really good advice, especially relating to the vineyards, bikes are even provided to tour them. Twiggy the Alpaca is a joy to meet.
No complaints at all, extremely good value for money. Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
294
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Hillsfield House for one night in October 2010 (in the 'Loft' room). We absolutely loved everything about it. The location is lovely - surrounded by gardens, vineyards, and mountains in the distance. We couldn't believe how beautiful the view from our room was. The room itself was impeccable - tastefully decorated, fresh flowers, locally-made bath products - so relaxing and cozy.

Jo was so helpful. She gave us recommendations for area wineries and for a local Indian restaurant - all great recommendations. And she introduced us to the animals - including the adorable alpacas. So much fun! And breakfast was to-die-for! Everything was so delicious and the portions were generous. We loved how Jo delivered it to our room in the morning.

We were so sad when it was time to leave and wished we'd booked more than one night there. If we ever go back to New Zealand, we will go out of our way just to stay there again. We highly recommend Hillsfield House!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Jo & Steve made us feel very welcome, the room was furnished thoughtfully & the location was the perfect base to explore the Marlborough wineries. I especially liked the locally produced toiletries. Thank you for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rescue, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

The Hillsfield House is definitely the best place my husband and I have stayed if you like B & B's. We have traveled through France, Belgium, Spain, Ireland, Monaco, Hawaii and California and I will never forget this place! There are ponies and alpacas on the grounds, and don't forget the stream that borders the backyard- it was a fairy tale setting for our picnic and bottle of Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc.

Jo and Steve were so friendly and welcoming, they brought breakfast to our room in the mornings and we didn't feel pressured to be up and dressed right away but instead they told us to relax and stay in our PJ's as long as we wanted.

I plan to return to New Zealand in the future, I really fell in love with the country and when we do go back I will most definitely be looking up the Hillsfield House B&B again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We were looking for a quiet spot in the Marlborough region to explore the wineries.
We were fortunate to find Hillsfield House B&B in Renwick.
Wonderful location, walking distance to the town and the local English pub with views to the snow capped mountains and Alpacas grazing outside your bedroom window.
Our hosts Jo & Steve were very accommodating; respecting our privacy and delivering a guest picked country breakfast to our room each morning.
We will return with friends to Hillsfield House.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Romantic; elegant; spotless; high quality food, service and furnishings , attention to lovely detail; Jo is a lovely host , whose sole purpose is to make your stay perfect and individual to your 'wants'.
We are locals , went there for a birthday treat and wont hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

As a part of our honeymoon, we stayed at the Hillsfield and loved every minute of it. Although it rained on and off during our stay, the quality and service we recieved from the two of the friendliest and most accomodating people Jo & Steve (& Twiggy - The lovely alpaca). The place was brand new, every corner was tastefully decorated and made the guests feel at home. Jo's breakfasts are to die for as she is quite a chef. The location is very convenient for any activity you can think of for the region. In short, we had great time staying at the B&B and hope to go back in not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough

Address: 33 Blicks Road, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Loft and The Courtyard (with its Georgian four poster bed) are two beautifully decorated rooms with their own en-suite and lounge area and are cosy, private and very romantic. Thick white towels, locally-made toiletries, robes, damask bedding are all provided. Come and visit Twiggy (our alpaca), meet our 3 miniature horses, walk around the garden listening to the doves or picnic down beside our stream. COMPLIMENTARY Wine Tour each with Wine Tours by Bike during your stay. Breakfast is served every morning in your room or in the sheltered garden at a time you choose. Come prepared to be spoiled. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough to your Saves list