We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place in the vineyards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Renwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
Save
You added Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough to your Saves list
33 Blicks Road, Renwick 7204, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Renwick B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“perfect place in the vineyards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Everything from the comfortable bed and lovely linen was first class. Our beautiful breakfast was delivered to our room, including home made croissants and there were nice touches like scones or cakes that would appear in the afternoons. We borrowed bicycles and cycled the wine route on advice from our host, Jo. We had a lift in their vintage car to take us our for dinner. We enjoyed sitting in the pleasant garden. They went the extra mile to make sure our visit was delightful and I have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
311
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

As we pulled into the driveway I knew my wife and I picked the perfect place to celebrate our 10th anniversary. After getting to know Jo, we knew that we must return! She took great delight in being my "partner in crime" in planning some surprises for the big day - she then proceeded to surprise both of us with a very special ride to dinner and we returned to rose petals on our bed. The property is gorgeous, with alpacas, ponies, flowers and a serene stream in back. It was great having access to the bikes for wine tasting - it made us feel we earned the indulgence of a big dinner! Jo's welcoming nature and warm hospitality are one of the fondest memories of our trip.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Loft Room. Jo's attention to detail ensured that we felt very special. The breakfasts were excellent and Jo was always ready with useful advice. She arranged for us to have a tour of a local vineyard and gave us a lift to a local restaurant to ensure that we could enjoy the local wines without worrying about driving. She also advised us on local walks which were both strenuous and stimulating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay at Jo's fabulous B&B during our month tour of NZ. If you plan to tour the vineyards, stay here. Firstly Renwick is much prettier than Blenheim and seems to have a higher density of vineyards. Jo gave us bikes to use for free and there are plenty of vineyards close enough to cycle to - bliss.

We stayed in the mega romantic ground floor room with gorgeous four poster bed. Amazingly comfortable. The room is a self-contained studio with space for living and eating areas. There's a sofa, armchair and low level table plus wonderful breakfast table overlooking the paddock so you can watch the alapacas during breakfast. There's also a fridge for all the wine you buy!

Jo brings a wonderful breakfast to the room, beautifully presented. Croissants were delicious and generous in quantity and there was so much fruit each morning that you can't eat it all. What's great is that Jo then puts the fruit in the fridge for snacking on later in the day. When we returned at tea time, not only were there delicious home made biscuits, but 4 huge pieces of wonderful carrot cake for afternoon tea!

Jo is extremely artistic and has decorated the room like a boutique hotel or the best of country house hotels. She leaves a sprig of lavender on the pillow, serves breakfast using cake stands decorated with flowers and provides the most sublime hand cream, shampoo, conditioner and soap made from essential oils.

I didn't want to leave our very happy time at Hillsfield and I can't recommend it enough. What with bikes, afternoon tea and fruit included, it's very good value. Jo was also hugely helpful in suggesting vineyards and eating places and making bookings (and booking ahead for me for whale watching trips) and drying clothes for me.

Room Tip: The ground floor room has a four poster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely B&B for two nights as we toured the South Island.  We had a wonderful stay, our hosts were extremely welcoming. The breakfasts were excellent, providing us with a choice the evening before.  Our hosts recommended a wonderful restaurant on arrival, obtained reservations and even gave us a lift to the restaurant.  Bikes were provided for us to tour and taste some of the nearby wineries.  I am not sure what I could add to the many other reviews here. As we stayed here during the days leading up to the wine festival, we should have made dinner and lunch reservations before arrival as our first choices were not always available. 

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our second stay at Hillsfield House and just as amazing as the first time. We stayed two nights in the loft for the Marlborough Wine & Food Festival, which also is a must do annual event.
Jo is just stunning. Her hosting skills, cleanliness of the place and welcoming smile and chat is right up there with some of the five star resorts.
The property is well placed, with Forrest wines round the corner (I am a lover of their Dr's Riesling), Cloudy Bay only 7 mins drive away and Alan Scott opposite Cloudy Bay. Great location.
Jo's father drove us to the festival with useful tips and locational information on the way.
Jo's croissants is worth the stay. Always fresh on the day, warm and super buttery that it made waking up just that bit easier.
On the property they have miniature horses, alpacas and bunnies running around, such a pleasure and relaxing break from Wellington.
Thank yo again Jo & Steve, for making us feel so welcome. PS. Buy the Cork & Keg!!!! :)

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally gorgeous. The downstairs room a wee bit more room. Either room will be a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I can't tell you enough on how positive and wonderful our experience staying at Hillsfield House was. Right from the first e-mail, I knew that I had chosen the right place! Jo promptly answered my request and with the e-mail confirmation, I received addtional attachments of: what to do in the area, suggested wine tasting itineraries, tips on staying in New Zealand and the different restaurants we could dine at. Wow! I was impressed and couldn't wait for our trip to New Zealand! The South Island is stunning and staying in Renwick was perfect to explore the surrounding areas. We enjoyed going to Havelock to eat the green tipped mussells and of course tasting all the yummy wine in the area! We stayed in the loft and the tea tray with freshly baked cake which was in our room on arrival, was just what the doctor odered. The attention to detail is difficult to fault. Every need has been thought of and the little extra touches put a smile on your face. I could have done the white glove test and it would have come up clean! This place is spotless - and I'm a self confessed clean freak! Steve offered to take us to the restaurant that night in his "souped up" classic car and it was just another aspect that added to the overall experience. We were totally surprised that when we got back after dinner, the bed had been turned down and fresh sprigs of lavender on the pillow welcomed us. We both slept like logs on the comfy bed and the morning came too soon! Steve brought in our breakfast tray and what a delight! Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer! Jo and Steve are a class act, and it truly shows that they enjoy what they do.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Loft, which is the upstairs - very cozy and comfortable :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough

Address: 33 Blicks Road, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Loft and The Courtyard (with its Georgian four poster bed) are two beautifully decorated rooms with their own en-suite and lounge area and are cosy, private and very romantic. Thick white towels, locally-made toiletries, robes, damask bedding are all provided. Come and visit Twiggy (our alpaca), meet our 3 miniature horses, walk around the garden listening to the doves or picnic down beside our stream. COMPLIMENTARY Wine Tour each with Wine Tours by Bike during your stay. Breakfast is served every morning in your room or in the sheltered garden at a time you choose. Come prepared to be spoiled. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.