We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service with a Smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ASURE Sierra Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added ASURE Sierra Motel to your Saves list
ASURE Sierra Motel
8 Omarama - Twizel Road | P O Box 204, Omarama 9448, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Cardiff by the Sea, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service with a Smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights while taking a mountain soaring course. The room was spotless and new. I slept better in their bed than my own at home. The owners, Neville and Cathy were always available to answer any question or help in any way. They offer a discount for people gliding with Southern Soaring and they rearranged rooms when we asked to extend our stay. There are restaurants nearby and the motel has laundry facilities and a fishing store.
The owners couldn't have been more friendly or personable. It was our 14th trip to NZ and this has been one of the nicest places to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

As this motel was unrated we really didn’t know what to expect, but it was modern, clean and well equipped. It was not expensive and the provision of unlimited broadband at NZ$5 a night was very welcome.

The owner was polite and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights earlier in the year and found it to be one of the most comfortable and relaxing places we stayed during our trip to New Zealand.

We stayed in one of the new units and they were large modern and very good value for money. It is a very good location that is close to all the town has to offer,

The people who run the place are also very firendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

Adequate find at the end of the day. I would not seek this out as a place to stay, but I would stay there again if necessary. No complaints with being clean. Shoulder season price was about US$75.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ASURE Sierra Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Sierra Motel

Address: 8 Omarama - Twizel Road | P O Box 204, Omarama 9448, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Omarama
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at Omarama, on State Highway 8 (Mt Cook - Queenstown Highway), ASURE Sierra Motel offers you accommodation with the peace of a quiet high country setting, with the convenience of village shops and restaurants within walking distance. Fishing tackle shop on site. Cycle friendly for cyclists on new Alps to Ocean cycle trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your ASURE Sierra Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASURE Sierra Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.