We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh lively food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kahu Cafe

Kahu Cafe
68 Airfield Rd,, Omarama, New Zealand
034389533
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Omarama
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Vegetarian, International, Healthy, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Description: This is a cafe by an airfield which is open to the public
Omarama, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fresh lively food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

great food and views of the glider airfield, and the golden hills beyond. Food is fresh and well presented, with thoughtful music choices in the background.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely setting but disapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stopped here for lunch on a recent road trip. We have been before and really enjoyed it. Food choices were very limited and expensive. We paid $14 for a small plate of fried potatoes served with a small side of potato salad. When i asked why the dish was so expensive i was told it was because they were rural (poor excuse).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Takes relaxed dining to a new level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were driving through Omarama on the way to Mount Cook and needed lunch for a couple of veggies which is not easy. On the way out I spotted the somewhat low key sign pointing to this restaurant. (Top tip to the owners - paint the sign!) The menu is limited but the food was very tasty. The surroundings are as relaxed as you can find anywhere, the veranda has a selection of armchairs and sofas as well as regular tables. I felt as if I was on a film set.

Drive past the others, this is the one to go for.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Low key but a good place to hang out watching the gliding. Furniture gives it a mix'n'match feel which we liked. Service is also very good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Eclectic Cafe experience right on the airfield.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012 via mobile

We had a relaxing afternoon tea and a great breakfast at Kahu Cafe. Excellent selection of teas served with panache. Pancakes for breakfast were delicious. Also recommend the homemade meusli.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kahu Cafe also viewed

Omarama, Canterbury Region
Omarama, Canterbury Region
 
Omarama, Canterbury Region
Omarama, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Kahu Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahu Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.