We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ladybird Hill

Ladybird Hill
1 Pinot Noir Court, Omarama 9448, New Zealand
+64 3-438 9550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Omarama
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: Diner, English, Steakhouse, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Catch your very own Salmon while dining at our wonderful Tuscan-style restaurant with plenty of ambience, peace and tranquility.There are large flowing ponds holding Ducks, Salmon, Rainbow and Brown Trout for you to feed if you wish, willow trees with seating underneath to keep you cool from the heat in summer, and a magnificent fire inside to keep you warm in the cooler weather.Not forgetting our famous walking track where you will find viewing seats and tables to relax and take in the awesome scenery.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This restaurant is in the most beautiful setting ever!! It was great dining outside beside the pond with ducks at our feet and fish swimming in the ponds. The food was just as memorable. Ok so we couldn't resist sharing some of our bread with the ducks and fish :) We had a platter to start followed by the sticky port which I understand was cooked to perfection. I had the chicken and prawns in a cream sauce. Not a normal combination I know but it was delicious. The Ladybird vineyard Pinot Gris was so nice we have brought a bottle home with us.
If you are going to Omarama make sure you call in here it is within walking distance (as are most things) to the main part of Omarama.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings with lovely food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a lovely dinner at the Ladybird hill winery cafe . We dined outside overlooking the pond with ducks , jumping fish and weeping willows. Quite a pleasant surprise in a sleepy little town!. Great service from our waitress, sticky pork was perfectly cooked with crunchy crackling complimented with a lovely glass of wine from the extensive wine list. From what we saw, definitely the best place in town for quality dining. :-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great meal in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

It was totally worth the walk to the edge of town to go to the Ladybird for dinner. The restaurant is in a beautiful location with vineyards, orchards, gardens and fish ponds surrounding it. We both had an excellent meal and the service was top notch.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food and atrmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My parents and I came here for their wedding anniversary. The food was lovely and the waitstaff were attentive and knowledgable and I was very impressed with their polite and friendly manners, especially when dealing with the... Er... Rather boisterous patrons sitting near us. The wine is great, the locale is very beautiful and I didn't mind paying the $2 for the walk as I'm aware this is most likely for the upkeep of it. I would recommend stopping by here and experiencing it for yourself.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of a winery on the way to Mt. Cook from the south”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

While passing by on the highway In search of a snack, we saw the "ladybug" or "ladybird" as they are apparently called down here and decided to try something different from the standard tourist fare and were delighted by the snack offerings (we had two of the meat/cheese/fruit plates and a wine tasting flight). The lake where you can feed the fish right at table side was remarkable and the large chess pieces under a tree were another wonderful diversion and break from the road on a hot day. There are a couple of nitpicks however: charging people NZ$2 to walk up a hill for a view is tacky and In general, the food was overpriced. Food was good and quantities were fine, but the "tourist pricing" scheme is a bit much. One other oddity on the "snack service" in the afternoons, apparently you order your food yourself at the bar inside and the wait staff brings the drinks. That wasn't explained when we walked in and it took a bit of sitting and wondering why we weren't being served to figure it out. A sign posted by the entrance to that effect would be useful and/or a mention from the waitstaff as we were seated. Overall, we enjoyed it and it beat the tourist traps, but hold on to your wallet when you visit here!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ladybird Hill also viewed

Omarama, Canterbury Region
Omarama, Canterbury Region
 
Omarama, Canterbury Region
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Ladybird Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ladybird Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.