We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the most relaxed 5 days of my Life!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Owen River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Owen River Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   173 Owen Valley East Road, Murchison 7077, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 5 Nights & Pay for 4
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Probably the most relaxed 5 days of my Life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

What can I say! Great People, Great Lodge, Great Food and Great Fishing! Owens River Lodge has it all! Felix and the crew made me feel at ease from the first to the last minute of my stay! Probably the most relaxed 5 days of my life, I didn't want to leave! I will be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
62
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We are staying at 3 top rated lodges in New Zealand. Owen River Lodge is our first stop. If I could, I'd cancel the rest of the accommodations and stay at Owen River Lodge for the rest of our vacation. The fishing is world class, our guide, Steve is very experienced, hard working and delightful to be with. The lodge is sophisticated, yet warm and charming. I feel very comfortable here. Ryan, our chef is a talented and imaginative young chef. We throughly enjoyed every meal he prepared .... each different, each delicious and flavored with herbs from the kitchen garden. The desserts were appropriately rich and full of flavor. Bravo Ryan. Of course, an experience like Owen River Lodge doesn't just happen. Rather, it happens with the planning and daily oversight of the owner and manager, Felix Borenstein. If you're looking for the best New Zealand has to offer, then please consider Owen River Lodge. We'll be back. Sherry, San Francisco

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

My wife and I traveled to New Zealand with a group of anglers from the US and were fortunate to be able to stay at Owen River Lodge, a wonderful lodge in a beautiful valley overlooking the Owen River. Felix and all the fine folks at the lodge truly know how to make people feel special; no need goes unfilled and Felix and his staff have a way of making every guest feel special.

Owen River Lodge has a well deserved reputation as one of the world's finest lodges and we can certainly attest to the fact that it's reputation is well deserved. Excellent cabins, fabulous food and all the little extras that separate the good from the great. Owen River Lodge is truly on of the greats!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Excellent lodge-beautiful setting overlooking the Owen River, which is a superb trout stream. This was my 2nd 6 day stay at this lodge. The atmosphere is very relaxed. The food and service are superb. Felix is a great host-very witty. The lodge is situated near several of the best trout streams on the South Island, and Felix has several top-notch guides who are quite familiar with these streams. I highly recommend this lodge for trout fishermen, from beginners to experts. Since weather and fishing conditions can be quite variable, I would recommend at least a 3 day stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We've stayed with Felix Borenstein at Owen River Lodge three times. We are trip leaders and host fly fishing trips for Frontiers International. We travel with groups of fishermen. We know that once we get to ORL our work is easy. Felix is a superb host, an excellent businessman, and he knows what it takes to be in the people business. Besides that he's a good fisherman! ORL has excellent lodging and over-the-top meals. Felix is very hospitable and accommodating. Our guests love him. He makes our job easy. We're already looking forward to our visit next year.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

One of the finest lodges I've seen -- anywhere. Located in a narrow valley several miles from the nearest town, it's quiet, relaxing and comfortable. The food is outstanding, as is the wine list. Felix and the staff will do whatever it takes to make your stay an enjoyable one.
The lodge is 50 yards from the river and some of the best fishing on the South Island. The guides are unsurpassed in both their knowledge of the fishery and their ability to put their client in the proper position to hook the most challenging fish.
This is the second year we've stayed at Owen River Lodge. We're coming back next year. Wouldn't miss it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Felix Borenstein, the owner and operator of Owen River Lodge, is a successful businessman and enthusiastic fisherman. He's got great guides and the fishing is as good as it can be in New Zealand. (In other words, it rained exactly when I was trying to catch fish so I was virtually skunked three out of four days, but the other day was outstanding -- I caught six fish including a handsome 8-lb brown trout.) But the interesting part is that Felix has also optimized to make the business successful by providing outstanding service and managing a first class facility. The rooms are clean and large and have excellent fixtures. The lodge itself is warm and comfortable. The meals are delicious. Etc. Etc. One small touch that I've never seen before -- the rooms have a fresh ground packet of coffee, a water heater and a French press plunger; the fist time I've ever been able to make a good cup of coffee in my room, even in most high-end urban hotels!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Owen River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen River Lodge

Address: 173 Owen Valley East Road, Murchison 7077, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty lodging in Murchison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Owen River Lodge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owen River Lodge is New Zealand's finest 5 star rated fly fishing lodge. Luxurious, warm and inviting ambiance. Stylish, understated accommodation located right on the Owen River in the South Island of New Zealand. Come and enjoy the stunning food, superb service and outstanding fishing. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owen River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Owen River Lodge to your Saves list