We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B with friendly, relaxed hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murchison Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Murchison Lodge to your Saves list
Murchison Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Grey Street, Murchison 7007, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Murchison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
waterloo, ont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great B&B with friendly, relaxed hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

This excellent B&B has a rural -like setting right in town. We enjoyed the easy welcome by Shirley and Merve the evening of our arrival. It was great to dine in and the food was tastefully prepared. And don't miss out on Shirley's liqueurs. A welcome night cap each evening in the lounge.
Our room was comfortable, well appointed and spotless. Breakfast was also excellent. Our hosts were very generous of their time and provided great service. Appreciated the wifi. We would look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mervetheswerve, Owner at Murchison Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review us Dianne; Shirley is busy making the next batch of liqueurs and the pigs are getting fatter. Yum!
Sorted out the problem with the modem now too!!
Hope the cold weather was not too much of a shock going home!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
85
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Murchison Lodge for one night on our honeymoon. What a wonderful place! Merve greeted us with a cup of tea and home made biscuits. We then borrowed Merve's golf clubs and went to the local 9 hole golf course. Later we enjoyed the views on the terrace and wandered down to the river. The room and the house were nice and cosy with lots of homely touches - including internet access and a complimentary glass of home brewed liquor. Shirley made us a terrific breakfast in the morning and then we did the rounds with Merve on the farm - including helping to move the cows into the front paddock! Thank you Merve and Shirley for a wonderful and memorable stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mervetheswerve, Owner at Murchison Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2011
Glad you enjoyed your stay Claire & Rob. The golf course has been under three feet of water since your stay. We had a major flood - now we have some added 'silt hazards'!
Hope life together is happy - look after each other.
Cheers, Merve
PS Oh - I need to move the cows again - can you come back?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed here for a few days at the beginning of the year and greatly enjoyed the hospitality of Merve and Shirl who have been local here for some seven years. The accommodation was luxurious and comfortable in a lodge with loads of character and, unlike other B&Bs we have stayed in, we were ‘met and greeted’ by the hosts who then spent some time with all of us on arrival and even joined us for breakfast on one of the days.

Whilst of course it would be comfortable for an overnight stop when passing through Murchison, we felt this place was deserving of much more than that and were glad we stayed for a few days to get to know the place, our hosts and fellow guests. That gave us time to wind down and actually relax!!

Merve and Shirl also offer evening meals and, on the nights we were there, all the other guests took up the option and once again we enjoyed the company of our hosts and fellow guests.

Overall a very rewarding part of our NZ experience and we wish we could have stayed longer – and won’t hesitate to return when the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mervetheswerve, Owner at Murchison Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Hey Roddle!
Thanks very much for posting a review; so glad you enjoyed your stay. One of the joys of running this lodge is meeting lovely people; one of the down sides is that they leave too soon!
Hope you find the opportunity to come back...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Murchison Lodge. We arrived late one evening, and they cooked us a delicious dinner. We had just come up from Fox Glacier and had great conversation for the rest of the evening. The room we stayed in was large and the bathroom was awesome! Full size tub, big enough for 2 and a separate shower. Breakfast was good, too! We contiplated staying a 2nd night, but it wouldn't fit in our schedule. We had to be up at Abel Tasman National Park the next day. Go white water rafting with Ultimate Descents while in Murchison!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mervetheswerve, Owner at Murchison Lodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Thanks for taking the time to review us Mary; and glad to see that you must have got back safely, Hope the situation across the border doesn't deteriorate further. Stay safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Great place to stay,Shirley and Merve are very keen to help you and make you comfortable.Will quickly light the stove if it comes chilly.Home made cookies,and dessert wine when you return in the evening.Good location for walks,waterfalls Buller Gorge and small golf course.Only one place worth eaing in the evening 'River Cafe' waiter Neil very helpful. Commercial Inn serve mince/ steak pies with Curry inside' Yak'
Merve will be dissappointed if you dont go with him to feed the Hens,pigs and Cow Ha Ha

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mervetheswerve, Manager at Murchison Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2010
Glad you enjoyed your stay Barry; am afraid pigs and chooks are in the freezer now though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We used Murchison as a stopover on our way to Punkaiki. Right when you walk in you feel like you're at home! We stayed in the Koru Room which has a big beautiful bathroom. The bed was so comfortable! When we arrived I took a bath while my husband borrowed the golf clubs and headed to the course. After that we headed to dinner. Nothing really going on in town was the only disadvantage. At night Shirley left out some of her homemade liquor for us to try, but we didn't have any. Her cookies were really good though!
The next morning before we left we had a really lovely breakfast and then went for a walk, first to feed the pigs and chickens (I even got to get the eggs from the hen house) and the to the river with Kali. Kali is a handful and loves sticks and fetching them from the water. I would love to go back...one day!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mervetheswerve, Owner at Murchison Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2010
Glad the bath was enjoyed; underfloor heating now in to make it more comfortable when you get out!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelicityE
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

We arrived later than expected , hot and tired after a long drive from Fox Glacier. The friendly owners greeted us with tea and .home baked cookies on the verandah, introduced us to the house, the area and local eating places and offered us a cooling river swim. .
The setting is inpsiring, surrounded by hills, lush greenery and a river in the garden . The guest lounge is huge and offered a selection of music, an array of books, a complimentary range of teas and coffeees, jars of freshly baked biscuits and a home made licquor which was delicious. Our room, the smallest on offer due to our budget, was well furnished, comfortable and with sliding doors onto our own terrace where we could enjoy a glass of wine in peace and enjoy the views. Cool water was left in the bedroom for us at night which was very welcome.

We had not brought out laptop but despite the owners' caution about their older laptop we found it worked well after following their careful instructions.

We walked across the fields to the village for dinner and the next morning enjoyed the locally sourced breakfast with eggs laid by the resident chickens, bacon from the pigs and delicious berries from the garden with the best home made muesli we had eaten on our trip round South Island. The other guests sat together for breakfast and we lingered for over an hour chatting , with ample reinforcements of coffee, juice and toast . Before our departure we watched the piglets and calves being fed.

We highly reccomend Murchison Lodge!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mervetheswerve, Owner at Murchison Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2010
Laptop's had an upgrade now - don't need quite so careful instructions!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murchison Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murchison Lodge

Address: 15 Grey Street, Murchison 7007, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Murchison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murchison Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly B&B set on four acres next to the Buller river. Comfortable and quiet, rooms have own bathrooms; large guest lounge with log fire and veranda with mountain views. Hearty BBQ breakfasts, mostly home-grown. Evening meals on request; FREE wi-fi throughout. Try the NEW 'Natural Flames Experience' plus excellent fly fishing, rafting and kayaking, walks, bike trails & golf course.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Murchison Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murchison Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.