We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific stay in Murchison” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murchison Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Murchison Lodge to your Saves list
Murchison Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Grey Street, Murchison 7007, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Murchison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrific stay in Murchison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We loved our stay with Merve and Shirley! The B&B is simply lovely, both inside and out. The verandah is perfect for relaxing on a sunny day, and the gardens are beautiful. Kali gave us our "doggie fix", super friendly and fun. We stayed in the Riverside room, a huge master with sitting area and balcony overlooking the grounds. The bath was special, with Merve's artistic hand tile work. Merve and Shirley are wonderful hosts, and great cooks! We enjoyed everything about our stay. The only regret was that we only spent two nights with them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mervetheswerve, Owner at Murchison Lodge, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Lovely to have you guys stay - thanks for taking the time to post a review. Kali is getting a few swims in now the weather is hot - the track to the river is getting quite worn!
There is never enough time but two nights is better than one, now there is the 'Flames Tour' to do as well as rafting, the jet boat and the many walks etc.
Hope you got home OK>
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
85
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We just stayed at Murchison Lodge for one night on our way back to Picton, but it was a real treat. The lodge is set in the grounds of a small holding owned by Merve and Shirley, who together with Kali the dog welcomed us with a much needed cup of tea! The guest accommodation is perfect, really comfortable and homely. A delicious breakfast was provided by their pigs and hens and it was great to be joined by our hosts. A nice touch was the complimentary home made damson gin (the previous night - not for breakfast!), which was excellent. A short walk takes you down to the picturesque river. The dawn chorus had to be heard to be believed! Because of time, we couldn't join their guided trip through the bush to a natural gas seep, but this sounded really interesting and we'll do it next time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mervetheswerve, Owner at Murchison Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hey thanks for the review. Yes our home-grown bacon and eggs are a hit as they are so much tastier.
Kali is enjoying the summer swims at the moment; I think she gets muddy on her walks deliberately so she HAS to be taken for a swim!
Lok forward to taking you to see the Natural Flames next time. It is causing a lot of interest - National TV was down here last week to do a feature on it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

OK so Kali is a great employee at the lodge...showed us the river, and kept us company that evening. Great dog!
The owners were great as well and made us feel very welcome. The lodge itself was better than we had expected with very confortable rooms and a well equiped common lounge area.We also took advantage of purchasing a three course dinner at the lodge which was also very good.

Highly recommend this a place to stay. Suggest booking directly with the lodge as that provided the opportunity to ask for suggestions and book the meal well in advance via email.

Room Tip: If you book at the lodge ask about their new 'Natural Flames' activity. Regarding the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mervetheswerve, Owner at Murchison Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thanks for the review Ray. Kali is not swimming very much at the moment as the rain has swollen the river beyond her desire to swim!

By the time they get to Murchison, guests often have been eating out a lot so the option of staying in and not having to decide what to have is popular. As long as they like my cooking!

And, yes, the 'Natural Flames Experience' is proving popular too. Check out the 'specials' on our website and book direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Our hosts could not have been more welcoming. Not too much, not too little. Just perfect for us Brits! Best cuppa tea since I left Blighty, fantastic environs, comfortable bed. GREAT bath and adorable employee who goes by the name of Kali and has four legs and a wet nose and took her duties of showing us the way to the river very seriously and did it to perfection.

We thoroughly recommend you take advantage of the offer of an evening meal. Both the evening meal and breakfast was delicious. Good fresh produce and home cooking. Can't be beat!

Stop for a while with Shirley and Merve and enjoy their hospitality and all the surrounding area has to offer

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mervetheswerve, Owner at Murchison Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Thanks Kate - glad to know about the tea! We use the 'old-fashioned' method of loose tea in a teapot which is a dying art these days it seems but it's worth the effort...

Yes, the bath is popular in the cooler autumn weather; Kali is popular always!

So pleased that you enjoyed my efforts in the kitchen. And by the way, the pigs are about to go into hibernation in the freezer - in readiness for next season's menus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

a wonderful b&b. extremely helpful hosts without being intrusive. had dinner there one night (vension mousaka) and it was fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mervetheswerve, Owner at Murchison Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Thanks. It's probably one of the hardest things to judge - how much interaction people want, so I'm glad we got it right in this case!

Am glad that my experiment with the mousaka worked too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

My wife and i stayed here for one night on our busy schedule trip of NZ and LOVED it !

After getting soaked walking in the abel tasman national park all day ( rained all day ) we coulded of asked for a warmer welcome than the one Merv our host gave , fresh cup of tea and homemde biscuits mmmmmmmmmmmm

Sittting infront of the fire drying our boots and chatting was great .

Rooms are very clean large and some nice personel touches troughout .We were offered dinner and wished we'd taken up the offer as there isn't much in Murchison . Breakfast was amazing, full cooked and many cereals and homemade produce to choose from .

there is an honesty beer fridge and wine avalible which is a nice touch for relaxed evening and we even got a shot of homemade rum !

Room Tip: sorry there is no pool i clicked it by mistake , not that we expected one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mervetheswerve, Owner at Murchison Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Thanks MATRIS - what a fantastic name for an accommodation reviewer! The fire is a great focal point on wet cold days - not that we had many of those this season.

More & more guests are taking us up on our evening meal option. By the time people arrive in Murchison they have generally been on the road a while and like to unwind with a bottle of wine and not have to think about going out again to find somewhere to eat etc.

Yes, no pool I'm afraid - but there's always the river!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

An excellent location in a secluded quiet countryside environment with easy access to the river, yet within easy walking distance of food and sustenance. The owners were superb providing us the little extras that really matter; home made fruit juices, exotic aperitifs, and fantastic food. It was great to have a cooked breakfast from the barbecue in the morning. The surrounding area was just perfect for short or long walks, either in primeval forest or around the Nelson Lakes. The pancake towers are within driving distance as is Abel Tasman. I am not a doggy person, and was pleasantly surprised to find the resident canon never, ever barked and was extremely docile yet friendly. The accommodation is just righty, not chintzy like most hotels nor shabby chic like some b&b. In fact the accommodation was full of character and the building itself is charming. The lounge area was very large and this was where we gathered to chat with other guests as well as enjoy the home made aperitifs and enjoy the crack from the owners. This is a place savouring over several days, so don't make a mistake and only book one night.

Room Tip: Stay more than one night as the area is worth the exploration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mervetheswerve, Owner at Murchison Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Well, what a fantastic review Sam! Thank you very much - we are so pleased that you felt so comfortable here.
And what a great heading! One of the things WE love about this area is that there is so much natural beauty around us. You can feel hidden away from 'IT ALL' but yes, we are 'central to everywhere'. What a positive thing to say!
We are about the same distance from the West coast, the Abel Tasman and the East coast, close to Nelson Lakes and right on the Buller gorge. As you found, there is PLENTY to do over a few days without having to be in that car all day long!
As to the BBQ - it is a great way to cook the breakfast as it keeps the smells out of the Lodge - and keeps me out of Shirleys kitchen!!
I don't know how we lucked in with Kali either. The only time that guests normally hear her bark is when someone comes down the drive - acting as our secondary driveway alarm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murchison Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murchison Lodge

Address: 15 Grey Street, Murchison 7007, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Murchison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murchison Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly B&B set on four acres next to the Buller river. Comfortable and quiet, rooms have own bathrooms; large guest lounge with log fire and veranda with mountain views. Hearty BBQ breakfasts, mostly home-grown. Evening meals on request; FREE wi-fi throughout. Try the NEW 'Natural Flames Experience' plus excellent fly fishing, rafting and kayaking, walks, bike trails & golf course.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Murchison Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murchison Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.