We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park

Save Saved
You added Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   170 Fairfax Street, Murchison, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Murchison
Hamilton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

A family park should be adjusted to families and as such, I have expected for more. The playground facilites were poor, old, broken and unsafe. I had to ask my children not to play there.The movies CD hire was the most expensive I have ever encountered in NZ - $8 per night. In many places the CD's are borrowed for free. The room wasn't very clean. In general it felt like the owners are tired from running this place.
The animals feeding session was nice.
We slept in a specious suite family motel room which was comfortable but as mentioned, not so clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay, however some points you mention are totally unsubstantiated. On our recent Qualmark assessment we spent some time reviewing the playground and I mentioned your review. The assessor said there was nothing unsafe about our playground and it was perfectly functional and safe. Our DVD hire is $6 for one $10 for two, we don't hire CD's. Our rooms are always meticulously clean, and if you did have a problem, a mention at reception and clarification would've been the appropriate action at time of stay.
We own our business and have done for 5.5 years, we LOVE it, as most others do also!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    13
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
17
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sanur, Indonesia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Excellent facilities, lovely location, very friendly people. But do be aware that you WILL be awakened bright and early by the locally resident ducks...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Our Cayuga duck family do like to visit campervans but I've noticed if no food comes from the van they do move onto the next one in hopeful anticipation :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending an extended amount of time at the Murchison Kiwi Park.
It is purely a family run business by some very friendly people. Lynn, who works the reception desk is always super pleasant to see. She is a great conversationalist and always full of life. Brent is the workingman of the place and is in charge of the constant maintenance process. He will even give you a demonstration of how to shear sheep for their wool. This is a New Zealand tradition that the kids will love and a learning experience for anyone with a curious mind. The bathrooms and kitchen facilities are always clean and with room for all. There is also a small but nice playground for the kids. I really have nothing bad to say about the Murchison Kiwi Park and I believe you all will feel the same after a stay there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thanks for the great review! The space, peacefulness and access to the Animal Park are a real draw card of our business and we always love to hear (usually face to face) what a great stay people have and the number of repeat customers never ceases to amaze us.
Many thanks again and I'm sure we will see you again one day! Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the self-contained units and have to say that this was the worst accommodation we have ever stayed in. The accommodation is really old and definitely needs renovation. The wallpaper came from the walls and the carpet was pretty dirty. The very small bathroom was full of insects and moscitos. Unfortunately, the hosts could not help us to move to another place although we complained several times. Besides, the park is nice with a little animal farm. Nevertheless, the daily animal show which is mentioned on the website (our son was already looking forward to it) did not take place while we stayed in the park. All in all, we cannot recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thanks for your review. Unfortunately it was a case of the wrong style of accommodation chosen by this couple, and we were unable to upgrade them due to having no vacancies. We do apologise there was no farm show as one of our European guests had a medical emergency and needed transported to Hospital in Nelson and their wife didn't have a licence to drive and NZ and couldn't speak English, so things were abit pressurized over that period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The people here were so friendly, I managed to mess up my booking at turned up on the wrong date, but they were very accommodating and helped me to sort it all out, we stayed in one of the self contained cabins, everything we could need... they even gave me and my partner a life to the bus in the morning :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Absolutely no problem to help you out of your tight spot. We treat others as we would like to be treated ourselves if in a similar position in a foreign country. We were happy to help and so glad you enjoyed your stay! Lynn and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

This was a lovely clean family-oriented park. We are travelling in a motorhome so our main concerns are with the bathroom and kitchen facilities. The kitchen was fine. The bathroom, however, required 50 cents for a shower - the first place we have come across in New Zealand to charge extra for this facility. The big problem with this is not the money but the fact that the box you have to put it in is placed so that there is only a 1 cm clearance between it and the door. I jammed my finger quite badly in it, it's a real hazard.
Other than that it was a great place to stay. The kids really enjoyed feeding the animals.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Interesting. We do have coin operated showers (50cents). We don't assume that everyone is going to have a shower so don't include it in the price of your stay. I did go and measure the gap between the door and the closest point at opening and it was 40cm from memory so I'm not sure where you're coming from. We also have an Qualmark Enviro award which is for caring for the environment and this water initiative is part of that. Many thanks - Lynn and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
164 hotel reviews
Reviews in 194 cities Reviews in 194 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

This is a friendly well spaced, clean and tidy campervan site about 1 km from the town centre. Pitches are nicely arranged and you do not feel cramped. Powered sites also have water. Communal facilities are good and the toilet blocks are clean. Washing machines are cheap, dryers an average price. Check-in was very easy and welcoming. Wifi is available and the connection strength is good. The park offers farm animal feeding each evening which is a great hit with children.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park

Address: 170 Fairfax Street, Murchison, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Murchison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.