We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One with nature...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of RiverSong Cottages

Save Saved
You added RiverSong Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
RiverSong Cottages
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   30 Fairfax Street, Murchison 7007, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“One with nature...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Stayed here in July and can only presume the other reviewers were here in a warmer season - it was defo parky and the hot air machine was labouring - unsuccessfully - to get the place warm. Lovely big garden shed type structure - must be nice in the summer - but the high ceilings maybe make it difficult to heat in the winter.
The hut was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Kitchen had everything we required, TV worked and the shower blasted out hot water so no complaints there. Books and games were available to while away the long winter nights.
The place is off the main road and quiet enough. Dark access at night so bring a torch and watch out for that slippy top step - whoo-hoo! how we laughed...
The hotel at the top of the street has a bar where apparently Murchison's only evening entertainment - the pool table - is kept. I let slip to the (surly) barmaid that it was very decent of them that the table was giving free games which turned out to be a surprise to her - she immediately shut that down! So if any of the locals had been keeping that little perk a secret, sorry!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We booked on line, and were not expecting the township to be quite so small, ( No Bank)
This small point was more than made up for by the welcome, the lovely clean cottage, good shower, proper cooking amenities, TV Video,Good beds, Jenny was most helpful without being over the top. offering advice on Fishing, Local attractions etc and arranging a Massage at short notice. Plenty of Guides in the cottage too. When we left a day early (sadly) that was also no problem. She even helped in returning some property we had misplaced. Honest, kind and what we have come to almost expect from New Zealanders. Great Folk

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

This is by far the best accommodation at which we have stayed, and wish we could stay longer. The owners have gone above and beyond with the extras and is by far the cleanest, best value, a nicest place we have stayed.

Jenny supervised our youngest for a pony ride, and he absolutely loved Harmony, and the beautiful foal. We particularly enjoyed Felix the cat who camped out with us.

The kids went across the street and swam in the pool which was very handy.

We had a great massage and the therapist provided great after care support on a recent injury which is much appreciated. Also, enjoyed the spa bath. Just a wonderful place, Murchison is lovely, beautiful scenary and walks. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

We loved these cottages. We travelled around the South and North Island and this was by far the best place we found and the best value for money. The cottages are great - perfect for couples or for families/ larger groups. The cottage has loads of space - a double room, twin room, bathroom, living room/ dining room and kitchen. Everything is very new and extremely clean. There are lots of friendly and welcoming touches eg dvds, board games, books etc. We only paid 120 NZD in November for the cottage per night, which was really excellent value for what we got.
The hosts are very friendly and gave us lots of great tips for dinner and activities. Murchison is a small and friendly town, and I would recommend a stop here if you driving around the South Island. You can get away from it all here, and there are also lots of activities if you are interested eg on the river - white water rafting, jet boating, swing bridges. As well a couple of friendly restaurants. Its a much prettier and nicer town than bigger ones such as Westport or Greymouth further along, so I would certainly stay here if it you can.

  • Liked — Lots of space and lovely homely touches
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RiverSong Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverSong Cottages

Address: 30 Fairfax Street, Murchison 7007, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty lodging in Murchison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — RiverSong Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RiverSong Cottage offers 2 x fully self-contained Cottages and 1 x Studio, affordable accommodation within two minutes walk of Murchison’s local cafes, shops, and Buller River. Listen to river and songs of native birds from your own private deck nestled amongst beautiful gardens. Lie in a hammock or relax with an evening BBQ. NOTE: Only Cottages have full kitchens, the Studio has a microwave, fridge, and tea & coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your RiverSong Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverSong Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.