We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clyde Bistro & Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Clyde Bistro & Bar
6 Naylor Street, Clyde, New Zealand
3 449 3089
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Clyde
Cuisines: Pizza, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Auckland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Finish of the Otago Rail Trail. We stayed at Oliver's but booked into the bistro.

Service was a little slow but the place was extremely busy.

Pork belly was delicious.

Overall a good experience

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mougins
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Two of us had a nice dinner here recently ,on our way to Moeraki on the east coast. I had a good scallop dish ,and the other person had pork fillet in a nice sauce followed by a tasty dessert ,all in all very good for a small town.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food, lovely town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The food was reasonably priced, and nicely cooked and presented. Friendly staff, fast service - all in all a good eatery.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Owner lets the whole place down.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

My father, sisters and myself arrived to a staff member debating whether we should be let in as it was quite late but they were "still open". After deciding we could be accomodated (not very welcoming), we ordered. The food was lovely as was our waitress and bar staff. However another party was having a 'private' function there, unbeknown to us. When one of their party stood up to give a speech, the owner of the restaurant came over, banged his hands on our table and told us to be quiet. With no explanation he walked away. Needless to say we were in shock. He didn't even introduce himself. We had to ask another staff member who he was. Nothing less than apalling.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Food good. Welcome less than adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We walked in at 3:20, happy to see that they opened at 3, only to be greeted by, "Yes we're open, but it's still early." and then hemming and hawing as to whether she wanted to serve us.

When the food came, it was excellent! Pizza was good! Salad was lovely, tasty and healthy!
Why the mixed feelings in the welcome, I'm not sure. It tainted everything.
There were four of us in our party and all four of us noticed a less than enthusiastic welcome.

Maybe later woulda been easier for her...? Hospitality is more than quality food, just saying.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clyde Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Clyde Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clyde Bistro & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.