We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olivers Central Otago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Olivers Central Otago to your Saves list
Olivers Central Otago
4.5 of 5 Inn   |   34 Sunderland Street | Central Otago, Clyde 9330, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Clyde B&B and Inns
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“perfect hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a great 3 day stay at "Olivers" in Clyde, Central Otago over the NZ Summer High Season. David and Andrea were perfect hosts in all ways and are in the process of protecting deleloping and enhancing the existing classic Central Otago stone buildings while preserving their historical and cultural attributes. The only facility Clyde needs now is a good restaurant, and I understand that David and Andrea are looking to reopen the restaurant which is part of their complex.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
118
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at Olivers for four night on our honeymoon. It's a beautiful B&B with a stunning backdrop to match. Dave and Andy were great at recommending local activities and the best vineyards. We stayed in the Soap Factory and loved the old stone walls and door opening to the garden. Would definitely return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The wonderful atmosphere at Olivers and the quality of the renovations to the Category 1 Historic buildings make this beautiful lodge and the town of Clyde, one of my favourite New Zealand destinations. The character hasn't been compromised by the modern bathrooms and fittings so we enjoyed the best of both worlds. Top quality linen, good lighting in the bathroom, a scrumptious breakfast offering a great taste of local produce and a sense of unassuming luxury made Olivers a total hit. Our hosts were so welcoming and offered many insights into local history and places of interest to visit. We preferred the vibe of this town to any other we visited in the Central Otago region and its an easy one hour drive to Queenstown.Stunning!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We started our Otago Rail Trail adventure by spending our first night at Olivers, heading off the next morning after a hearty homemade breakfast.
Dave and Andy were very welcoming hosts, our rooms were beautifully appointed and very comfortable.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it !!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Absolutely wonderful stay. David and Andy are the most warm and welcoming hosts. Olivers is simply perfect in every respect as far as we were concerned, fabulous attention to detail, beautiful rooms, and fantastic food. We didn't want to leave!
S & A Wilkinson.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a lovely overnight stay at Olivers recently. We were warmly greeted by David and Andrea with morning tea served in their beautiful courtyard. We were a family of four and were very comfortable in our two rooms. There is great attention to detail at Olivers which made our stay so relaxing. Breakfast was fabulous - homemade bread, yoghurt, jams - delicious! I would thoroughly recommend Olivers at the perfect start or finish for the Otago Rail Trail.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at Oliver's and could not recommend it highly enough.
It was such a lovely experience I would not even go anywhere else, this trip was solo for me but and I will certainly be back again next year with my better half!! It is a perfect destination or stop off point for at least 2 or 3 days as part of a longer tour of the South Island. The hospitality shown by David and Andrea was a delight. Beautiful rooms, fabulous breakfast and great
ambience... Can't wait for the restaurant..thanks again for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olivers Central Otago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivers Central Otago

Address: 34 Sunderland Street | Central Otago, Clyde 9330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Clyde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Clyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Olivers Central Otago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning stone buildings at historic Olivers began as a general store supplying prospectors during the gold mining boom in the 1860s. However the buildings have been gracefully refurbished and landscaped to provide guests with a boutique hotel accommodation in Central Otago. Breakfast is served in a 115 year old dining room where the aroma of newly baked bread and freshly brewed coffee welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Olivers Central Otago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivers Central Otago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.