We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely high quality B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   23 Pyke Street | Central Otago, Clyde 9330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Clyde B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Extremely high quality B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Beautiful setting, lovely house and grounds, very easy going and attentive hosts, lovely bedroom with comfy bed and high quality bedding, delicious breakfast and pinot noir from the vines in the garden (which we drank sitting in the amazing hot tub - right next to the vines!). This was the kind of luxury and high-quality that you would expect from a top notch hotel - it far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words Laura. We thoroughly enjoyed having you here and love to see our guests use the hot tub with glass of Pinot in hand. Kind regards Rex and Melanie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
55
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the retreat. A home away from home separate from the main building. The entire living space was well thought out, spotlessly clean with all the amenities from welcome-appetizers to large fluffy white bath towels. There were bedtime chocolates and homemade squares. Wifi was fast. Breakfast was an experience: homemade bread, jam, preserves, and Museli. Delicious bacon-wrapped eggs and bacon. Try to arrive early to use their hot tub and to enjoy their landscaping. The owners were good company, friendly and congenial.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you Juanita for your kind words and we are glad you all enjoyed your NZ adventure. It makes us proud to be Kiwi when told that New Zealanders are so friendly and accommodating. Kind regards Rex and Melanie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband and I both really enjoyed our stay at this lovely historic home in an idyllic, peaceful setting. Melanie,Rex and Mollie the border collie were very welcoming and accommodating. Melanie and Rex are lovely,caring,friendly and interesting hosts with a good knowledge of the surrounding attractions and pleasures. We enjoyed some great conversations over their complementary home-grown Pinot-noir (very nice) and tasty cheese board, and a lovely generous breakfast with home-made condiments from the fruit trees on the property. What impressed me especially is the sense that this is all done and provided for with a 'sense of love'.
The accommodation is tastefully and restfully furnished, there is a lovely sense of space and tranquility, and a very comfortable king size bed. What more could we want?!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you Helen for your lovely review. We really enjoyed meeting you and look forward to catching up again. Kind regards Rex and Melanie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahitahi, Bruce Bay, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spontaneously needed accommodation in Clyde and stumbled across Hartley Homestead. Melanie, Rex, and Molly were very welcoming hosts and their historic home absolutely stunning. After a great night's sleep in a very comfy bed we woke to a delicious breakfast. We were sad to leave this little piece of paradise already again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thanks Lisa - we are so glad you stumbled upon us. Come back for a longer stay. Rex and Melanie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Rex and Mel were great. Great BB, nice room and facilities. Amazing weather for our wedding couldn't ask for anything more.only one thing that could be looked at the pillows were very uncomfortable Cheers guys

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make a review. We are glad you liked the wine and enjoyed your wedding day. With regard to the pillows we do state in our compendiums that we have a range of pillows to suit and supply extra ones in the wardrobe in The Retreat where you were staying. Unfortunately you were not informed of this and perhaps did not notice the ones in the wardrobe. We will endeavour to inform all guests in the future, so thank you for your honesty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very nice place with historic touch, kept very clean and tidy, and very quiet which made for a great sleep at night in the large comfortable beds. The garden scenery was amazing, and the Homestead is in a great location where everything is in walking distance. The bathrooms were very clean, and very nice old styled lounge room with a library and comfortable furniture. Last but not least, the hosts Mel and Rex were very welcoming to us, they were very friendly and nice to chat with, and cooked a great breakfast with also a great range of cereals, fruits, and juices to get the day started the right way. Great accommodation and recommend to anyone wanting a quiet location in great surroundings with great hosts.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. If you Like us on Facebook you can follow us as we make over our gardens. Kind regards Melanie and Rex and, of course, Mollie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

A lovely place with friendly and helpful hosts and their dog. I stayed here for a friend's wedding in Clyde and some much needed R&R. Rex and Melanie gave me some tips about where to go exploring on foot and using their bike and were kind enough to drop me off at the wedding venue. A lovely breakfast, the comfiest bed and a lovely slipper bath made the weekend seem like I had been away for ages.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was no trouble dropping you off at Orchard Gardens for the wedding. I hope you got your purse back when you went to the BBQ, although being in Clyde there's no doubt that it was returned :) Kind regards Rex and Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Address: 23 Pyke Street | Central Otago, Clyde 9330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Clyde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Clyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast is a grand 1900s mud brick homestead surrounded by almost an acre of lawns and mature gardens on the banks of the picturesque Clutha River. A few minutes stroll from restaurants, cafés and bars of the historic gold mining township of Clyde and within walking distance of the Otago Central Rail Trail, Hartley Homestead is the ideal base for spending time exploring all that Central Otago has on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, T4B, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.