We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really want to experience bad customer service, please do visit this place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tussock

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tussock
State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Whakapapa
Restaurant details
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“really want to experience bad customer service, please do visit this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

this was the only place where i have seen such a terrible service. lady at the bar who took our order was extremely rude. all other patrons were served their lunch meal on table and when our food was ready they rang a bell and asked us to pick it from pass line.. i don't know why were they treating our table like this? were we not paying full price? or not spending enough to sit in your NOT SO WARM bar? (between 4 people ordering 4 mains n 2 drinks is reasonable spend)

food was average, but you don't have much of choices in Whakapapa ski field. but i would say drive little bit down and get a quality meal instead spending your money in here

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Tasty at Tussock”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

It must have been an off night and there was not much open in town. Pizza and beer at the Tussock was handy and tasty. No other clients and 3 folks waiting on us ... spooky!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“The worst food I have ever eaten”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at Chateau Tongariro and decided to eat here as we already felt ripped off and disappointed by the hotel.

Tussock is just across the road and owned by the hotel. There is not much choice in Whakapapa so we thought this would be a safe bet - how bad can fish and chips and a pizza be? The answer: worse than you could ever think possible.

I had a pepperoni pizza. It was quite simply disgusting. I ate a couple of slices (simply from hunger as we had been driving all day). When the waiter collected the plates up he asked me if anything had been wrong, I told him it was horrible and he just laughed! Unfortunately we had already paid so there wasn't much we could do about it except leave (hungry).

The barman who served us our drinks didn't even know how to use Eftpos to charge us (my husband had to explain it to him). It did not surprise me since the staff have clearly come from beneath rocks and had no customer service training (or catering training for that matter). I know it must be hard to get staff here, but my God, I never thought a pizza would be beyond the realms of a chef's repertoire.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Surprise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Arrived on a Saturday night with a group of 12, it was empty
We had come earlier in the afternoon for coffee but were sent away because the coffee machine wasn't working and didn't have great expectations because of our earlier experience but had limited options.

The bar man took a while to warm up but after a few rounds bought was much friendlier. Apparently there was a local 21st on so the kitchen was being run by their trainee chef who was trying to feed our table.

Surprisingly she did really well. Reasonable range of pub fare, reasonably priced and tasty. Meals came along at a reasonable pace and everyone enjoyed there meals particularly the burgers. We tried most of the menu between all of us and there were no major complaints.

Good effort and a good surprise. Not fine dining but that wasn't our expectation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Might look for somewhere different next time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We came here after completing Tongariro Crossing as we were too tired to cook. I got the beef burger. The burger and chips were good, but the salad was so drenched in salad dressing that I couldn't eat it. Waitress could look a bit happier about her job. Good range of drinks and had Old Mout Cider on tap - yum. Did the trick and wasn't bad but might look at what else is around next time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tussock also viewed

Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region

Been to Tussock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tussock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.