We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs update” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Tongariro Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Derby
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Needs update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

This hotel is OK but needs updating.Because of the great location it can get away with being average because the views are stunning and you forget the hotel.
Breakfast was very average with the poorest buffet of any hotel we used in New Zealand.
Furniture in the rooms is all very worn.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    265
    169
    67
    32
See reviews for
124
495
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We stayed for only one night which was part of 'The Celebration Package'. The hotel must run specials over summer, when it isn't ski season and they want to fill the rooms. This included room, dinner, breakfast, bottle of chilled bubbly in the room and chocolates. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and went with friends also celebrating their wedding anniversary. We played golf on arrival on the nine hole golf course. Before dinner we had a drink in the beautiful lounge while listening to a pianist. The dinner was outstanding with excellent choices on the menu. The wait staff provided great service. Next day we had a very substantial breakfast before leaving. The hotel is a lovely old building. The rooms were clean and had obviously been recently reburbished. All in all we had a very nice night away. We live three hours away and it was well worth the drive.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed in January 2010. Hotel fairly empty. Told we were being upgraded - wouldn't like to have seen the size of the room we were originally booked into

Externally impressive but it hardly justifies the description of a 'chateau'

Rather run down internally

We ate at their Tavern across the road which had the best views of the mountains at sunset. Good food and service though the menu choice is quite small

the location is the star here and the hotel probably comes into it's own during the ski season, not in summer

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

I really like the feel and looks of this hotel. It reminded me of those grand hotels of old. The is a huge picture window you can sit looking out towards the mountains in the lobby of the hotel.

The room was clean and adequate. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean.

We were there to do the Tongariro Crossing but the weather alert came in the day we arrived, with high winds, low visibility and rain...But we still manage to do a partial hike anyway. Didn't buy all that wet weather gear for no reason !

Breakfast buffet was great. As it wasn't the ski season, there was plenty of room and the place was quiet but its the kind of hotel where you don't mind sitting around on a lazy afternoon for a drink at the lounge.

Be warned, finding you room after wandering around the hotel can be quite complicated with the layout of the hotel. We got lost getting back to the rooms after dinner. There are two different wings in the hotel. Make note.....

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

We were in the Tongariro National Park to do some walking and even though the weather was not very good, we had some great walks. The hotel is a very impressive building that dominates the area and trades on its history. Our room was fine but like a million other bedrooms in large hotels. We booked a package than included dinner, breakfast and a guided walk but the reception staff didn't understand the details and 3 staff gave us wrong information. Dinner in the restaurant was very good though breakfast was a pretty indifferent buffet selection.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland Highlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

I was 70 in mid January 2010 so myself and partner took off for a treat of a night's stay in the Chateau Tongariro - always wanted an excuse to visit. The hotel is a grand Edwardian building with lovely period furniture and panoranic views from the large windows - a kiwi version of a mini scottish Gleneagles - amazing for a 1920's hotel. The rate was a special one with complimentary bottle of champagne thrown in - $380 dbb. The only hiccup was that as we are both indifferent to bubbles we asked, at the time of booking, for a red wine instead. Well the champagne (actually Lindauer bubbly) was waiting on arrival , but that was speedily replaced with sincerest apologies. We had a fabulously located room on a corner with a view of Ngauruhoe volcano (a perfect cone) from the bed and golf course from the other window. The room was excellent (apart from a large coffee stain on the carpet which I am certain had been ignored by the cleaner). Excellent food there and we were made to feel very much welcome in the bar and dining room by all the staff. There was some noise in the early hours of the morning due to a wedding taking place elsewhere in the building. We even managed before breakfast to have a round of golf, the magnificent views making up for our poor standard of golf. The surrounding area is rich not just with grand mountains and panoramas but there is much geological evidence of the fascinating series of eruptions from these still active volcanoes. There is so much to see on the walks across the barren volcanic slabs, scoria and sand, crossing multi coloured beds of rivers, streams and waterfalls and then the cool shade of forest walks with amazing new plants and trees to explore. An unforgettably brilliant occasion.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Have stayed here 3 times with my family including 2 under age 10 kids. First time in December 2007 in the motel apartments at the back, secondtime in October 2008 during the skiing season staying in a family room in main building and most recently again in a family room for 3 nights in the main building at a cost of NZ$250 per night...no breakfast included but we always have a lie in anyway.

We return for the stunning location and access to easy flat two hour walks in the National Park. We also enjoy the main restaurant for dinner and it was noticeably better this time than two years ago. Breakfast which we only took on a couple of occasions was also pretty good for a buffet. Kids are charged much less than adults. There is a good kids menu in the main restaurant.

As a Brit living in NZ, and therefore denied access to historic buildings, I also love the place for its architectural grandeur and history..it gives me my fix.....it can't be beat for relaxing in the main lounge before/after dinner with a drink or cup of coffee listening to the pianist.
I also notice thay have introduced 'high tea' which was sorely needed but we were unable to partake as we were always out on walks.

The coffee was worse than 2 years ago - they have changed the blend unfortunately.

Service can be variable - this time it was pretty good especially in the main restaurant. Can be slow in the Piha one. The Tavern is to be avoided unless you want fast food and pub atmosphere. fergussons is just a simple cafe. The Cafe at the bottom of the cable car is not bad but again more chips and sandwiches.
The pool is more of a glorified hot tub and very strange. The cinema is a good option although since they also show free films on the tv in your room. you may not need to use it.
Great place to blow the cobwebs out of your brain, relax and eat good food (shame about the coffee - still drinkable though - NB people who live in Wellington get very fussy about the standard of latte coffees) so don't read too much into this.

An experience not to be missed if your comparison point is your average NZ Motel. The Skotel behind it looks pretty good though if you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Tongariro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.