We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Tongariro Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
san francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This is the place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

What a beautiful location ! We loved the chateau and our alpine crossing tramp !

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    265
    169
    67
    32
See reviews for
124
495
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

Wasnt sure about coming here. But WOW - couldnt believe it comming up the hill towards the hotel. It jumps out of the landscape.

The weather is a bit unpredicable, however after a fantastic dinner in the Ruapehu Room we got up to some spectaticular scenes.

Bit chilly bring a jacket and some good walking shoes there are loads of walks.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We had a lovely two night stay in the new wing. Everything was great - the staff, the room, the lobby and the surroundings. We walked the spectacular Tongariro Crossing on a beautiful day and the following day walked some of the shorter (less than half day walks) from the Chateau.
We would thoroughly recommend staying at the Chateau and enjoying the surrounding walks...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

Not much to add to the reviews already here -- it's in a beautiful location, of course, and the hotel looks gorgeous from the outside, but inside it needs serious work. We decided to stay here partly because it looked like the grand lodges in U.S. national parks, but it wasn't up to those standards. It felt like a mid-range, tired hotel. The staff wasn't terrible, just kind of indifferent. We had reserved a premium room 3 1/2 months in advance and asked for a quiet room with a view. We got a room right next to the elevator and the stairs -- the busiest, noisiest location -- with a fabulous view of... the parking lot. The room looked tired and old, and we could hear people in adjacent rooms and in the hall.

We told the front desk that we weren't happy and wanted to leave early (we had pre-paid for two nights but decided to stay only one night). They refunded the second night to us with no argument, but they also never asked why we weren't happy. If I was in their shoes, I'd want to know why my guests were so unhappy they were leaving early.

We had dinner and breakfast in the dining room. Both meals were quite good, but the service was slow. Friendly, but slow.

The real reason to stay here is that it's in the park, and there are nice hikes from right outside the hotel. (Unfortunately, bad weather kept us from doing the Tongariro Crossing.) If you do wind up here, bring ear plugs, and spend as much time as you can outside the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

Pros:
-Amazing location & setting!
-we enjoyed the grand ambiance that made it feel like the shining.
-service & staff were pleasant and friendly.
-breakfast was included and we enjoyed eating in the dining room.
-They let us check out a day early when our plans had to be changed due to bad weather.
-overall we enjoyed our time there.

Cons:
-Decor is dated but to us this added to the experience
-It may be a little over priced for what you get

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
541 helpful votes 541 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

The Bayview Chateau is deep in some of New Zealand’s most dramatic scenery. Unfortunately, it was the only seriously poor hotel we stayed at on our tour around the country. It is a handsome building, loosely modelled on a hotel that sits overlooking Lake Louise in the Canadian Rockies. It has had a rather mixed history and now it is run by a Malaysian outfit called Bayview. Judging from our experience, Bayview is a corner-cutting concern that doesn’t engender many management skills or even cheerfulness in its staff.

Our room, 806, didn’t have much of a view and was decidedly gloomy. The TV set and minibar sat inside a hulking mahogany unit but the doors to the TV didn’t open properly, or fold back, so two people couldn’t watch it simultaneously. Not that there was anything to watch because the satellite system wasn’t working properly. Neither was the internet which was totally unobtainable from our room. There was a dark, heavily chipped coffee table, two monstrously heavy and dark leather chairs, a dowdy-looking bedspread. Lighting was terrible. The bathroom had been modernised fairly recently, with a walk-in shower, a spa bath and the other usuals but it had been done very cheaply in plastic. We found evidence of previous occupiers - toenails on the floor.

There is a ghostly lobby lounge and a vaguely ornate dining room. It was all amusingly reminiscent of The Shining. My meal of rack of lamb was rather good, though my wife’s duck confit was not confit at all - it was impossible to cut and impossible to eat, so they gave us a refund. Breakfast the next morning was absolutely dire - on a level with the cheapest motels.

This isn’t an especially expensive hotel, so expectations were not that high. But, really, this isn’t good enough. Not good at all.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

From 2 kms. away the Bayview Chateau looks mightily impressive against the magnificent mountain skyline.
One's hopes optimistically but foolishly rise in anticipation. "Surely all the damning reports one has read on Tripadvisor & elsewhere can't be true" goes through your mind.
Once you set foot in the place your heart sinks as you are abruptly transported back in time some 70 years or more and realize that your worst fears are about to be fulfilled.
The "Mary Celeste" would have been fun in comparison but this establishment is populated with some of the weirdest staff imaginable who must have been either rejects from the hotel training school or former members of the Addams Family or both! All the while in the vast and cavernous lobby is a manic pianist performing "gems from..." to an audience of three geriatrics.
It's a great shame. Tongariro is a magnificent location and warrants the very best that New Zealand has to offer. Sadly, whilst the Bayview Chateau may have had its glory days in the 30's it is today a hollow shell and morgue of a place that is so depressingly awful that even Gustav von Ascenbach would have given this hotel a miss!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Tongariro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.