We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Tea on Mothers day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Tongariro Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“High Tea on Mothers day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

What a beautiful way to spend the afternoon, we were served by Jason and Fiona both were friendly and willing to chat. Live music was awesome. The high tea is a very good deal and a great way to relax in gorgeous surroundings,.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    223
    142
    61
    26
See reviews for
107
421
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I recently stayed at the Chateau for two nights for a conference - we had the whole property which was great - it's a good size for a 200-250 person event but intimate enough for a private stay as well.

I'd driven past so many times but never stayed so was rather looking forward to finally being a guest. I had a delightful time! The staff were all very polite and helpful. I had one of the renovated rooms on the top floor which was excellent and with an amazing view of Mt Ngarahoe. The bed was extremely comfortable.

The public areas were tastefully decorated and perfect for our "Great Gatsby" theme evening - you can imagine when the guests really did dress like that and danced in the Ruapehu Room.. And the food was generally good too - especially the breakfast.

I would definitely like to return on my own/with family for a weekend to explore the amazing walks in the area. Obviously you can't blame the hotel for the weather and the cloud cover can close in extremely quickly but when it clears, the views are mouth watering!

We unfortunately have very few old style hotels like this in NZ so I'm very pleased to have finally experienced it.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the renovated rooms. I understand that there is a big difference between th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Visited the Chateau to try out 'High Tea' (Friday 2nd May), we were somewhat disappointed, ordered for 3. Sandwiches seemed to be made with bread that might have been a day or two past its best, other than that they tasted fine. A scone was missing from one of our orders and when it did arrive it was rock hard in the middle which made me wonder if it had been microwaved from frozen perhaps?? The other 2 scones were nice and soft, but have had better elsewhere. Our coffee arrived shortly after the food and were not very hot or even full. The sweets were all lovely(cheesecake, choc brownie, creme brulee, truffle), would have preferred there were more savoury options and less desserts, sugar overload!!
Overall it was ok, however we expected better considering where we were, staff were very nice especially at reception. Had the perfect seat and view in the lounge looking out at Mt Ngaruhoe, lovely place, may try High Tea again as I love The Chateau.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel is still a classic and worth visiting. Unfortunately, on this occasion the mountains were shrouded in mist but it was still an enjoyable experience. We had an excellent room with a view to the front of the hotel. The rooms could benefit from upgrading but we really had no complaints. Our main complaint was that having decided on price grounds to eat supper in the Pihanga cafe & T-Bar on the lower-ground floor of the hotel, we found that it had closed early (lack of diners). We were therefore forced to eat in the very stuffy Ruapehu Restaurant, which was largely empty at just after 8.45 and where the prices are outrageous (NZD50 for the cheapest bottle of wine on the list). I complained to the Duty Manager about the early closing of the cafe and the best I could achieve was a free cocktail. Given the prices, I would have expected a free bottle of wine. I ordered "wild" venison, which did not taste of wild venison (was it really wild?) and was overcooked. My green vegetable consisted of five beans, which I was assured was the standard quantity (really?). Rather than pay an absurd amount for a buffet breakfast, we crossed over the road and went to an excellent little cafe called Fergusson's Cafe – no bacon and eggs but very nice bakery items. I would return to this hotel but I would need to plan my meals (or spend a lot of money).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit just out the back of the hotel. Incredibly spacious kitchen/dining/living area with shared garden overlooking the golf course. Bathroom basic but clean and a good size. Water pressure in shower not powerful but it was hot. Heating throughout the unit. We ate at Tussock bar (small menu but big portions-pizza was yum). As a motel guest you are free to use all the hotel facilities like pool, cinema, bar, restaurant so I feel like we got the Chateau experience without paying through the nose for a room in the chateau itself. We will definitely stay here again during ski season.

Room Tip: Double bedroom was a bit small - we had to move the bed to get in the door! We are a young couple so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and wished it could have been longer. The staff were friendly and helpful and full of advice. Our room a Premium Tongariro Wing Double was clean and comfortable. The hotel setting is magnificent. We ate in the bar the first night which was just what we wanted but the second night we ate in the restaurant. That meal was one of the best we had in New Zealand. Even though there was a business event being catered for at the same time the service was excellent. There was even a good guest laundry. The swimming pool was a little uninviting because of the low ceiling.
We would love to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

It has been 20 years since our last visit and we were really looking forward to a couple of nice days at the Château. The Château had impressed in style back then and we thought the restaurant innovative all those years ago. On our arrival, evidence of renewal was everywhere and we decided to upgrade and splurge a bit here, for old times sake.

Unfortunately, it seems, the management has not evolved much and kept up with the times. Firstly the charming restaurant seems to be in a time warp. 20 years on and same menu. Bluff oysters were a special because of the season, but otherwise we saw rack of lamb, venison, free range chook, all done the traditional way, same old, same old. The quality was probably quite good but we felt the repetition was not justified, we would try something else.

And then there were the hotel rooms. We saw lots of rooms unfortunately. Our premium room in the old wing was quite charming, we loved it, for a little while. And then they turned the cold water off. 4 times the management assured us they had fixed it and 5 times we had to trudge down to seek a solution. And then someone tried to move us. Much lesser room, no price adjustment offered, no water, no explanation, no hope. We saw half the hotel this way. Until a senior manager saw the light and moved us to a slightly better room in the new wing. This finally worked, but it was getting quite dark now.

Next morning the management team couldn't see that we were inconvenienced … for how many hours? Ironically another couple occupying a room in the same old wing let it be known that they also had no water for a couple of days either, to mild amusement from the management … “you are all right aren't you?” whats the problem? With management like this maybe we won't be back soon, which will be a bit of a shame – we love the location and the tramping.

Room Tip: Given the erratic water supply problems in the old wing, make sure you book into the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Tongariro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.