We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisiting the Chateau Tongariro thirteen years on” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Tongariro Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Revisiting the Chateau Tongariro thirteen years on”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel is still a classic and worth visiting. Unfortunately, on this occasion the mountains were shrouded in mist but it was still an enjoyable experience. We had an excellent room with a view to the front of the hotel. The rooms could benefit from upgrading but we really had no complaints. Our main complaint was that having decided on price grounds to eat supper in the Pihanga cafe & T-Bar on the lower-ground floor of the hotel, we found that it had closed early (lack of diners). We were therefore forced to eat in the very stuffy Ruapehu Restaurant, which was largely empty at just after 8.45 and where the prices are outrageous (NZD50 for the cheapest bottle of wine on the list). I complained to the Duty Manager about the early closing of the cafe and the best I could achieve was a free cocktail. Given the prices, I would have expected a free bottle of wine. I ordered "wild" venison, which did not taste of wild venison (was it really wild?) and was overcooked. My green vegetable consisted of five beans, which I was assured was the standard quantity (really?). Rather than pay an absurd amount for a buffet breakfast, we crossed over the road and went to an excellent little cafe called Fergusson's Cafe – no bacon and eggs but very nice bakery items. I would return to this hotel but I would need to plan my meals (or spend a lot of money).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    265
    169
    67
    32
See reviews for
124
495
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit just out the back of the hotel. Incredibly spacious kitchen/dining/living area with shared garden overlooking the golf course. Bathroom basic but clean and a good size. Water pressure in shower not powerful but it was hot. Heating throughout the unit. We ate at Tussock bar (small menu but big portions-pizza was yum). As a motel guest you are free to use all the hotel facilities like pool, cinema, bar, restaurant so I feel like we got the Chateau experience without paying through the nose for a room in the chateau itself. We will definitely stay here again during ski season.

Room Tip: Double bedroom was a bit small - we had to move the bed to get in the door! We are a young couple so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and wished it could have been longer. The staff were friendly and helpful and full of advice. Our room a Premium Tongariro Wing Double was clean and comfortable. The hotel setting is magnificent. We ate in the bar the first night which was just what we wanted but the second night we ate in the restaurant. That meal was one of the best we had in New Zealand. Even though there was a business event being catered for at the same time the service was excellent. There was even a good guest laundry. The swimming pool was a little uninviting because of the low ceiling.
We would love to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

It has been 20 years since our last visit and we were really looking forward to a couple of nice days at the Château. The Château had impressed in style back then and we thought the restaurant innovative all those years ago. On our arrival, evidence of renewal was everywhere and we decided to upgrade and splurge a bit here, for old times sake.

Unfortunately, it seems, the management has not evolved much and kept up with the times. Firstly the charming restaurant seems to be in a time warp. 20 years on and same menu. Bluff oysters were a special because of the season, but otherwise we saw rack of lamb, venison, free range chook, all done the traditional way, same old, same old. The quality was probably quite good but we felt the repetition was not justified, we would try something else.

And then there were the hotel rooms. We saw lots of rooms unfortunately. Our premium room in the old wing was quite charming, we loved it, for a little while. And then they turned the cold water off. 4 times the management assured us they had fixed it and 5 times we had to trudge down to seek a solution. And then someone tried to move us. Much lesser room, no price adjustment offered, no water, no explanation, no hope. We saw half the hotel this way. Until a senior manager saw the light and moved us to a slightly better room in the new wing. This finally worked, but it was getting quite dark now.

Next morning the management team couldn't see that we were inconvenienced … for how many hours? Ironically another couple occupying a room in the same old wing let it be known that they also had no water for a couple of days either, to mild amusement from the management … “you are all right aren't you?” whats the problem? With management like this maybe we won't be back soon, which will be a bit of a shame – we love the location and the tramping.

Room Tip: Given the erratic water supply problems in the old wing, make sure you book into the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights making a Tongariro crossing. Big old hotel at a stunning location, with magnificent view over wonderful landscape. Very nice and clean rooms, service was not quite on the level.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gent/belgium
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the Fergusson Motel, annex of Chateau Tongariro.
As we don't like big hotels, we preferred to stay there.
We had a living room with fully equipped kitchenette, an en-suite bathroom and a sperate bedroom (for 2 adults, the bed was a bit small). Old charm though and the view of "Mount Doom" from our window and garden was stunning!
A lot of fantastic hikes started nearby. You don't need your car there.
Take your groceries with you or stop at National Park Village to buy some. The little camping shop near the motel, sells some cookies, bread and eggs.
But then, it's all about nature!

Room Tip: No special tip. Rooms a re pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Having read a couple of other reviews I have to say that our experience sounded like a different hotel completely. We enjoyed a bed and breakfast package for a special birthday occasion, and that included a premium room with a fabulous view over the surrounding and beautiful landscape.The bedroom was classic/ bordering on modern and defintiely up to the standard of other hotels we have stayed at overseas, We had drinks in the cafe attached to the hotel, and dined in the Ruapehu restaurant and couldn't fault the food, or the service which was excellent. Breakfast choices were extensive, with a huge array of high quality types of food to choose from. The decor in the foyer and around the hotel is indeed "olde worlde" but still elegant and in my view a snapshot of a bygone era which has been preserved well. Our experience was so good that I wouldn't hestitate returning for another occasion. The staff were all attentive friendly and welcoming. Well done "Chateau Tongariro"

Room Tip: We requested a room with a view at the time of booking. Front of hotel on the third floor was an ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Tongariro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.