We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Tongariro Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Surprised we were not able to check in at 3pm. We were given a drinks voucher and asked to wait in the lounge for around 30 minutes. When we arrived at our room it was still being vacuumed. The attention to detail re cleanliness was quite poor - dead insect plus dust near skirting, tiles in bathroom were dirty and hairs on toilet & sink. Our biggest problem though was no bath. The booking form stated "full bathroom" which we understood to include a bath. When we found our room only had a shower we Informed the rooms manager who said this was just our interpretation and rooms could provide either a bath or shower. We were looking forward to a bath after a 6 hour walk. He then said that no-one else had ever complained about this before. Instead of just apologising graciously and explaining there wasnt a room free with a bath he started to argue the point and was in fact quite rude which I would not have expected in the hospitality industry. He said that he would see what he could do but never bothered coming back to us. On a positive note the high tea and the breakfast was excellent, food and the service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    223
    142
    61
    26
See reviews for
107
419
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Very quaint place to stay.
Has a nice atmosphere to it.
Pool wasn't much but was at 38%, not for swimming but just sitting.
Sauna was very nice.
Rooms are abit dated we where on the 3rd floor and our floor boards squeaked alot i wouldn't like to have been the people below.
I would stay here again just for the charm of the place

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Having made two separate bookings of two "superior rooms", in August for two stays in December I was disappointed by the following;

For the first stay the rooms were three floors apart, musty (which can be expected for an old building) and certainly not "superior".

No air conditioning which is odd for a 4 star hotel but perhaps part of the "feel of the beautiful old chateau". Upon opening a window the rooms promptly filled with blow flies, apparently fly screens like air conditioning would affect the "feel" of the chateau.

For the second stay, early check in was unavailable, however in the six hours between us popping in and the official check in time staff made no effort to prioritise the two rooms preparation. Upon the 3pm check in there was a 40 minute delay for a room. Instead of offering tea/coffee/water/internet during the delay, staff said "only one room is ready please wait there" and promptly avoided eye contact."

Both rooms this time contained blowflies before we opened the windows.

Having stayed at numerous other comparable 4/5 star NZ Hotels during my trip to NZ, I was disappointed with the Chateau Tongariro.

The Chateau is a beautiful building, however no effort has been made to uphold what I assume was once great customer service and a quality experience. Great buffet breakfast was available and reasonably priced.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This isn't a review of the hotel itself, although we have stayed there 3 times in the past- ranged from great to abysmal, won't stay there again. We have also had one of the best dinners we have ever had in the main restaurant.
This is a review of the High Tea, which we had today for lunch. It was really reasonably priced, and delicious. Served in the very opulent lounge it came with fresh sandwiches (including cucumber of course), scones with jam and cream, chocolate brownie, chocolate cups, macaroons and more. All served on a china 3-layered plate accompanied by a large pot of tea. The atmosphere is great, expect Miss Marple to be sitting in the corner knitting.
We certainly plan to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I have never complained before and this is the first time I have written an online review but since this is an iconic New Zealand hotel and World Heritage site I felt I should provide an honest assessment as a New Zealander and someone who has travelled extensively. We booked the celebration package through "wotif" as I had always wanted to come to this hotel with my wife. On arrival they had no confirmation of our booking (which may have been the fault of wotif) . The reception staff however were very good ,unfortunately the room we were given was small,musty and had a view of the inside of the "lounge" and the carpark. Don't know if this was supposed to be a premium room? I asked if they had another room with a view of the mountains which luckily they did and we were happy with until we went to bed!!!
This would have to be the worst bed I have ever "slept" on. The springs were so shot I had an aching lower back after only an hour not to mention the roll together and the partner disturbance.
We did not sleep at all well. I decided not to fill in the in room "review" forms as I have felt in the past they are often ignored. The hotel would do well to replace these tired worn out beds. I would have liked to have returned in the Winter but feel we could not stand another night in those beds.
On a more positive note we felt the staff were excellent as was the food in the restaurant. The Chateau is a stunning building in an equally beautiful part of the country but there needs to be some attention to detail.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains.Check out how firm the bed is if you hate soft mattresse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

What a fantastic place, What a great time. The snow field was pretty dreadful and looked like it hadn't been updated since the 50s, So we went walking. The walks were some of the best walks of my life. Even in drenching rain. I loved every minute of our stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of on of the volcanoes. All we saw from our room were trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

When planning our itinerary for NZ, we asked to see the real 'Mt. Doom'. Adhering to this request, our travel planner reserved one night for us at the Chateau as we made our way down the North Island. It helped to break up the drive for us between Rotorua and Wellington. The hotel, upon arrival, is quite breathtaking, backing up against the snow-covered mountains. However, it is located (literally) in the middle of nowhere. There is one bar for skiers a few feet from the Chateau, which we walked to for a drink, but not much else.
In addition to the location, upon entering the guest lounge/lobby, we felt as if we entered a time warp. At any moment, it felt like the ghosts of celebrities from years past could float into the room with their cigarettes and martinis. While the lounge has huge windows that gaze upon the mountains, we were really unable to move beyond the spooky feeling for the rest of the stay. I also likened it to the move 'Clue' where all the characters fatefully ended up at the mansion only to be doomed to their death.
The rooms themselves definitely require an update. We preferred not to use the shower, the doorknobs were awkwardly high (seemingly for giants), and there was no AC, which made sleeping pretty uncomfortable. WiFi was available only in the lobby/lounge, and it was not free. On the bright side, we did enjoy the restaurant. We had a really delicious meal, with a pleasant server and a great bottle of wine. Overall, if you want to see this area or stay somewhere in the middle of the North Island, there aren't many choices. However, you can prepare your expectations ahead of time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Tongariro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.