We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chateau Tongariro Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Whakapapa
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I always try to visit the Chateau Tongariro a couple of times a year and have done so since the 1980's. This wonderful iconic hotel is set on the side of Mount Ruapehu active Volcano in the Tongariro National Park, so its location is something special. The building itself has real character, not a glass tower but an impressive Chateau that takes a step back in time when life was more gracious. On a winters day sitting beside a crackling fire looking out at a snow covered mountain is magic. So the setting is amazing.
The service has also never disappointed, staff are friendly, courteous and always willing to help. The restaurant food is delicious. My latest excursion was to a dinner bed and breakfast function with a set menu, (a couple of choices offered for each part of the menu).
The rooms are more than adequate, some are a little tired but are still 4 star.
I can recommend this hotel for a wonderful romantic evening, or a family occasion. This year our whole family went there for Christmas Eve, Dinner bed and christmas morning. It was special. My grandchildren loved it, they took advantage of the swimming pool and movie theatre. We had a wonderful dinner preceeded by Christmas Carols, and enjoyed a breakfast buffet which surpasses most hotels, the only one I have found better was at Versace's Gold Coast, but that is another story.
I can give this hotel a 5 star recommendation, for a couple, family, business, or solo visit.

Room Tip: The Hotel has a new wing which is more up to date so ask for one of those, however the older rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    193
    123
    54
    22
See reviews for
88
357
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Awesome place. A lot of older people and few families also. More of a destination than a stopover if your road tripping. Ski season would be killer busy! Gotta drive 30 min off main road and no petrol/shops in sight. Fantastic hospitality from the moment you arrive. Foyer is amazing 1930's feel. Rooms are good ageing a little. Whole place is ageing. Comfortable bed, spa bath was awesome. Had dinner in the restaurant was delicious, silver service. Dined in attached cafe really good also. All food was great! Breakfast had a massive selection. Only let down was a vacuum left in front of our room door upon arrival. Views are spectacular. Package deal was great value. They arranged a massage for us at short notice. Thoroughly impressed.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We're very much budget travellers and had always wanted to stay at the Chateau. Taking advantage of the discounted tariff we booked 2 nights and had dinner in the restaurant our first night opting for their signature dish, Chateau Briand. The food and service was fabulous. The staff throughout the hotel excellent, very helpful and obliging. We did one of the walks which we thoroughly enjoyed unfortunately Mt Ruapehu was in cloud, not condusive to our photographic pursuits so we played pool instead and enjoyed the oldy worldy charm. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Phone and discuss options for room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

My group and I have just finished staying here for a week and I have to say - WOW! The location (while wet) (but then - tis the season) was remote and gorgeous. Nothing felt more swag than sitting in leather chairs in front of a roaring fireplace drinking JW Blue with my friend. Carson and Richard made some amazing cocktails too! Grand Margaritas are. so. damn. good!

The rooms were cozy, not terribly modern but I guess that's the look they're going for - old grandure. The panio player was a nice touch but they could benefit from an in-house DJ or something less jazzy being played all the darn time! Hearing Gangdam Style was actually a breath of fresh air.

The kitchen must be run with an iron fist. Everything I had was delightful. As the saying goes - the first bite is with the eyes. The waiters were attentive but some need to relax and stop looking so uptight/unhappy. I want to enjoy my dinner - not wonder why you look so upset. Eat some cake or something!

I keep wondering why the conference room we used assent turned into the pool/gym instead of the other was around. Having a thermal bath and being able to look out on the horizon would have been amazing. Still - the pool is private and the games room has Xmen vs Streetfighter! GET IN!!!

See you all next year!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed for one rainy night in April, having booked due to the poor weather forecast and looking forward to be holed up in a comfortable and warm environment. The old lady is tired and needs the attention of a very good hotelier to breath some life back into the property. I'm on a 5 month RTW and am not averse to 5 star luxury if required by the weather, but this establishment was such a disappointment. The atmosphere was not helped by only a handful of guests. The lounge/drawing room area has so much potential, but only lighting the lounge fire in the late afternoon and then keeping it down to the minimum size did not help the ambience - the drawing room fire did not get lit at all. The reception staff, both in and out were professional, but decidedly cool and did not display any of the expected warmth and enthusiasm for their duties. Being a solo traveller I opted not to eat in the almost deserted restaurant but downstairs in the bistro, which is more akin to a formica tabled cafe than any bistro I'm familiar with.

The bedroom and bathroom was clean and very comfortable, but again lacking that final touch to make it something befitting what would would be expected in a chateau.

Maybe when the occupancy is higher the chateau comes to life - but I'm not convinced !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
from North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on a 4 week holiday in New Zealand. It is a charming hotel with old world character and excellent food both in the bistro and the restaurant. The restaurant is pricey but is part of the chateau experience and worth. Our room was immaculate and well appointed. However our big disappointment was the fact that we booked this hotel months before our trip and travelling half way round the world asked for a room with a view (paid for a better room in the refurbished Tongariro wing,), but ended up in a room on the back with no view and a big tree blocking what little view there was (room 701). We stayed on Friday/ Saturday nights and the hotel was extremely busy, perhaps it would be better to stay mid week. The lounge has super views and a pianist enhances the ambience for pre dinner drinks. We were able to get a bus from the hotel to transport us to the start of the Tongariro volcano walk which was very useful. Overall this is a great place to stay in NZ if you want something different from the Holiday inn type modern hotel.

Room Tip: Book early and try and secure a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

After walking the Tongariro Circuit it was welcome relief to stay at the Chateau - it was full of old world charm, fantastic views of Mount "Doom", friendly staff and a choice of three places to eat - the al a carte restaurant, the coffee shop or the Tavern just 200 metres away. We stayed in the recently renovated Tongariro wing - the only downside I thought was no free wi-fi in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view when checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Tongariro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.