We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay, had a great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Tongariro Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
London, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Really nice place to stay, had a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We were quite unfortunate when we stayed there as the weather was bad and you couldn't see mountains behind but this did mean we speant a lot of time in the hotel which was a pleasure.

We enjoyed afternoon tea, snooker, used the sauna and spa and had an excellent evening meal. The rooms were good with an excellent bathroom and I defintely hoep to stay there again some time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    223
    142
    61
    26
See reviews for
107
419
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The approach to the hotel is breathtaking. A magnificent building silhouetted against the slopes of the volcanic Mount Ruapehu. The reception area is just as promising, and then you walk past the restaurant and the billiard table to go to your room and.... disappointment.
Our room was small, dark and gloomy, and the furniture seemed to be of the same vintage as the building itself and offered no view. In this context the reception area started to look old-fashined and pretentious, and we noticed that most of the guests were of somewhat advanced age.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

WE spend weekend in the hotel, lovely place. The room was nice but had a very unpleasant odour I guess from previous guests, and light bulb was off. However staff was very friendly and helpful, it was an amazing experience sitting by the fire listening to the music, sipping vine and watching the snowfall. Food was ok too. We loved it and we go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The room we stayed in was lovely,but it was one of the better ones in the older part of the Chateau,friends stayed in one of the rooms that needed doing up so i think they paid too much.But the new wing looks better.The best thing about going there is the Food its of a very high standard , the room was clean and the staff are friendly and there are some lovely walks.will be back

Room Tip: 304 was the one we had but we were up graded
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Good points - location is fabulous, views from the room of mountains and dinner in the restaurant was pricey but very good quality.

Bad points - where do I start. I booked a Ferguson Motel unit after recommendations on here. The hotel was very quiet and the receptionist asked twice if I wanted a Ferguson room. I said I didn't mind staying in the hotel, so for the same price (NZ$40 cheaper I think) they put us in a hotel room. The floor the room was on was almost pitch black even with the lights on, we found the room and walked in to a building site! Our room was being renovated. Back to reception and explained to a new receptionist our problem and we were given a key to a room in the 'new' wing. The lift to the new wing must have been open to the elements because it was freezing cold, but at least the corridor lighting was better.
The room was of average quality, a decent size and a good view of the mountains, but it was cold and only a small inefficient heater to heat the room. Fortunately there were plenty of blankets to keep you warm. The bathroom was dated but ok.
The lounge area is a huge grand area with views of the mountains and a snooker table. There was a (not very good) pianist playing in the lounge, to an audience of nobod except the 6 diners in the restaurant.
Dinner in the evening was very good, pricey but you got expensive plates like steak and venison for the same price as all the other items so they worked out to be better value.
Breakfast was ok until I found a yoghurt which was 2 weeks out of date which put me off eating anything else.

It is such a shame that this fabulous looking building in the location it is in, seems to be so complacent because of the limited choice in the area. This could be a world class hotel but instead it gets added to the list of ones to avoid (if you can).

I think I was enjoying my holiday to NZ so much that complaining at the time would have been wrong, but with hindsight the next thing I will do is write to the management.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

The hotel is very grand from the outside and is mostly grand on the inside. Our room was a little tired, probably what you'd expect from an old hotel like this. The room was clean and had everything we needed though, so no complaints. It even had a fridge for us to store our collection of fruit etc.
It's located in Whakapapa, ideal for walking around the National Park. There are several reasonable walks that can be done from the village itself (2-5 hours each), with some good scenery, especially waterfalls.
We didn't try the main restaurant, seemed a bit pricey. We went to the cafe/bistro instead and had kiwi burgers. They weren't cheap but were very nice. Service was good and relatively quick. The bar just down the road was alright for a beer too (it shows the rugby if that's what you're into).
There is apparently a spa pool in the basement. My understanding of this type of thing is to aid relaxation. How you can relax when the ceiling is only about 5ft high, there's a continuous racket coming from the ventilation system, there is no natural light and it was far too hot. No thanks.
If you're without laptop and are looking to back up photos to a hard drive or web based storage, don't do it here. The charge for use of the desktop computer and internet was ridiculous.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Can highly recommend the Chateau. We did a dinner, bed & breakfast package. This included a 4 course silver service dinner and full buffet breakfast. Only thing I will suggest is to book into the restaurant before you arrive, we had to have dinner quite late and it felt rushed. The beds are wonderful and we were lucky to have a room with a view.
Good service and a lovely atmosphere. Could suggest better signage to reach the Chateau. We had a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: book on website direct for packages
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Tongariro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.