We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Kiwi Farmstay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warkworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Kiwi Farmstay
Save
You added A Kiwi Farmstay to your Saves list
231 Martin Access Rd | Ahuroa, Warkworth 0981, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wanaka, New Zealand, South Pacific
1 review
“Only the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great people make up this genuine kiwi farmstay surrounded by new zealands rolling hills and farm animals! I wish I could have stayed longer but being so close to Matakana and Warkworth you are still able to go to the saturday market, horse treks, mineral pools, wineries, or mini-putt etc. Even with little time. Loved my stay and would go back in a heartbeat. Clean, homey, and very friendly people i can now call friends! A+++

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
4
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had an amazing time at Simon and Veronica farm even with a bad weather! We really enjoyed all the animals (chicken, ducks, cows, pig, sheep, goats, dogs) and the kids loved to feed them. We also did some motorbike. Simon is a really good entertainment host, he talked a lot about NZ and his job as a paramedics and it was was we were looking for: sharing kiwi experience. We also share the house with Peter the Australian, Yuko the Japanese and Simon's partner Veronica who is German. It was really an international experience! My daughter who share some time with Simon's kids didn't want to leave this morning! She was part of the family as we all were. Our 19 months son loved to be so close to the animals.
An experience I highly recommend for everybody, it worth it. Thanks a lot Simon and Veronica, Marianne, Thémis, Andy and Jonathan, the French family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you want to go there, you should stay few or more days. I really regret that I stayed only one night! The longer you stay, the more you can have great extraordinary experience. All staffs, also Lukah and Sophie, farm animals make us really enjoy. And there are many activities around this farm. Thank you :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I planned to stay for three days and ended up staying much longer, because Simon gave a very warm welcome to me that I directly felt like as we have known each other for quite a long time and didn’t just meet some minutes ago. I was instantly treated like a member of the family and almost didn’t want to leave anymore!

The farm is surrounded by hills and in a very calm area close to Warkworth. You can relax in the garden, interact with the animals and feed them (the lovely steer Jersey, Lucky the pig, goats, sheep, chickens, ducks and two dogs Trixie and Kayser) or if you want to have more action play rugby with Simon’s children, Sophie (5) and Lukah (7), or go on a motorbike ride with Simon or even on your own down the paddock when you are brave enough. When you are lucky there are some newborn chickens or ducks and you might have the possibility to assist shearing a sheep or goat which is an experience I don’t want to miss!

I really enjoyed the horse riding which is just 20 minutes away by car, as well as the beaches on the east coast. On the way to those beaches you pass an ice cream shop, Charlies Gelato, where I ate one of the best ice creams I ever had, you have to stop there, it’s amazing! An option for rainy days are Waiwera Hotpools where you can spend a whole day relaxing in the hot water while your children are busy enjoying the water slides or watching a movie in the movie pool.

You can easily spend a week on Simon’s farm and will never be bored, because there is so much to experience on the farm and in the area around. I highly recommend Simon’s farm to everybody who wants to get to know the Kiwi lifestyle and farmlife. I will come back definitely!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Simon, his kids, and his helpers gave us a great experience with the friendly, enjoyable animals on his small farm. His hospitality was genuine and warm. He loves sharing the experience of farm life and especially letting kids get muddy, chase lambs, and running endlessly.

We stayed in the cottage which is comfortable but not posh (but great value for the reasonable cost!). It's a farm so don't expect hotel level hygiene - there is dust, mud, and a fly or two. Bring your gumboots. My 10 year old boy still talks about it weeks later and can't wait to go back.

Bring your own food - its a bit of drive to the nearest shops. HIGHLY recommend for a family weekend away from the grind of Auckland

Room Tip: The Cottage is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We took our 10 year old twins, and they had an amazing time. Being able to get up close to all the animals, feeding them and seeing life outside the city was fantastic. The host Smon, was great, entertaining us all and took the kids for a bike ride, showed them how to shear a sheep and fix a fence. The campfire in the evening was very relaxing. I would definitely recommend the place for anyone with kids or a relaxing, old - fashioned ( in the best sense) break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Whether this is your first time tourist visit to New Zealand and you are after a genuine kiwi farm experience or you just want to get away from the city hustle and bustle - A Kiwi Farmstay is a place to visit. Simon is a great host - he goes out of his way to make your stay as enjoyable a possible, while really making you feel like a part of his family ! He is also great with kids (having two adorable children of his own), very down to earth and approachable - nothing is ever trouble! During your stay there you will have the opportunity to feed the animals, share sheep, have a ride on the motor bike, go for a horse ride to a near-by farm and many more. The animals are amazing - I never knew domestic animals are capable of the pet type of affection towards people. My soon took special liking to a baby goat - kid Maddy who spent most of our stay there cuddled up to him in his lap. He found it so hard to part with her and talks about going back to visit her all the time! I highly recommend this place, especially if you have children - they will just love it!! The only down side will probably be having to listen to them going on an on about the farm and asking to go back lol !!. I know one thing for sure - we definitely will !

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Kiwi Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Kiwi Farmstay

Address: 231 Martin Access Rd | Ahuroa, Warkworth 0981, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Warkworth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"It's not just accommodation, it's a real interactive Kiwi experience !!". Get the kids out & let them do something they'll never forget !! Pet friendly. * Horse Trek 3 yrs - 70 yrs* Mountain & motorbike rides * Air rifle, golf/baseball driving range * Goat Island marine reserve * Reptile park * Beaches * Matakana wine trail/ vineyards * Hand feed all the animals * Farm adventure * Family time away from electronics. An ultimate farm adventure. Plenty to do even if wet !! Situated on a 5 acre block, 15 mins north west of Warkworth & an hour north of Auckland. You & your family/partner can interact with family friendly animals, have a romantic get-away or just totally relax at our rural retreat or on nearby beaches. Furthermore enjoy the tranquility & privacy of a rural retreat or participate in the local attractions. * Beaches- Omaha or Kaipara coast * Rabbit /possum hunting * Mountain/road biking * Horse riding * Fishing * Vineyards * Boating * Tramping * Swimming/diving/Snorkling * Matakana Cinema * Waiwera thermal hotpools * Golf * Winderholm regional park Have you own self contained guest house with bedroom, lounge, shower, toilet & kitchen. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Kiwi Farmstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.