We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to its high rating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warkworth Country Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warkworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Warkworth Country Retreat
433 Woodcocks Road | Warkworth, Warkworth 0981, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Toowoomba
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lives up to its high rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A first class B & B which lives up to its high rating. The location is perfect for a quiet country escape, but close enough to Warkworth and nearby beaches......don't miss Omaha Beach. Our host, Maria, was very welcoming and provided the extra special touches of a home-baked cake on arrival, and a pre-dinner glass of wine.

Room Tip: We stayed in the purpose built suite above the garage/barn detached from the main house. Stairs up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria433, Owner at Warkworth Country Retreat, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was pleasure having you stay with us and we would love to have you come back. There is lots to see and do in this part of NZ.
Bless you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
21
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

A great B&B in the countryside outside Warkworth. Arrived late afternoon and left the next day, but thoroughly enjoyed the excellent hospitality. We had our own suite, with en-suite facilities, lounge and kitchenette - all very spacious, and plenty of outdoor space to enjoy the late afternoon sun. Even a couple of complimetary beers in the fridge, welcome after a day travelling. Took the offer of a 2 course meal with a glass of wine which was taken with our hosts and other guests and was excellent (both the food and value at $30 each). This was very welcome as it saved a drive back into town to eat. All very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was taken outside on the deck looking down across farmland and was excellent (don't miss the home made sausages - the source is grazing in the paddock next to you!). Didn't need lunch. So all in all, and very welcome and enjoyable stop over and to be recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the front suite looking over the deck and paddocks. Very airy and spacious and it has a seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria433, Owner at Warkworth Country Retreat, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for such a positive response to your stay with us.This summer the weather has been amazing and we enjoyed one of the last outdoor meals in your company, which was special.
If you are ever back in our part of the country we would love to have you stay with us again. Blessings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin Hood Country
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was certainly the best B&B we sampled during our 3 week stay in NZ including the south island. The rooms are beautifully decorated with luxury linens and towels and the guest lounge was excellent, especially as we wanted to stay in one evening as had a busy schedule. Maria helped us by suggesting local activities, provided some delicious cake and the breakfast was just superb with a view to remember. Location is also good as far enough out to have complete peace and quiet yet only 5 mins drive away from some nice places to eat in Warkworth. All in all will be recommending to all my family and friends and if we get the chance to go back to NZ won't need to be look any further... only hope is that we'd be able to stay longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria433, Owner at Warkworth Country Retreat, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. It was quite an honour to hear you say our B&B was the best in NZ!. It was pleasure having you stay with us. One regret was not having time to visit Robin Hood country when we travelled to England in 2011. Maybe next time!
Bless you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Lovely rural views from the private guest lounge and dining room. Warm welcome from Maria, everything fresh and clean, and delicious breakfast in the morning. Stay here and save money instead of the more expensive places 10 minutes up the road in Matakana! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria433, Owner at Warkworth Country Retreat, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
It was lovely that you could stay for part of the Easter break with us.
Thank you for your positive review. It was great to find out we had mutal friends!
Remember we would love to host that girls weekend away or home group retreat.
Blessings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Thanks Maria for a wonderful final night of our first and hopefully not last trip to New Zealand.
Were pleasantly surprised when we arrived, B&B accomodation is separate from the main house which gave us privacy. Our room was large, immaculately furnished and spotlessly clean. The guest lounge had everything you could possibly want.
Liked the idea of selecting breakfast the night before from a menu. Like other guests I can thoroughly recommend the Bircher muesli and Maria was kind enough to write me down the recipe so I can recreate back home - although it won't be the same without the views.
As it was the last day of our trip Maria laid the table for breakfast outside which was a lovely touch and after cooking my husbands breakfast joined us which was really nice.
Would love to stay here again and for longer to explore the area as we used it as a stop off but there is obviously a lot in the area to see and do and Maria had plenty of good suggestions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were booked in an Auckland hotel for our final night in New Zealand, but after having spent one hectic night in Auckland a few days before, we couldn't bring ourselves to return to the rat race. The rest of New Zealand had been so peaceful! So at the last minute, and with the help of "tripadvisor", we located Warkworth Country Retreat, just a few kilometers from Auckland. What a find! The beautiful home with it's private guest quarters and beautiful garden, overlooking the soothing green pastures we'd become so fond of, it provided a wonderful evening for leaving beautiful New Zealand memories in our minds. Many thanks, also, to the charming hostess and her wonderful breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We needed a place to stay after a Matakana wedding, and somewhere where my mum could look after my 18 month old while we were out. We were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Maria's paradise. She even provided Chloe with a port cot and some toys! Chloe loved walking around the property with nan and seeing all the animals, and the accommodation was spacious and luxurious. We were treated to some home baking in the morning and a friendly tour of the main house with 2 other bed and breakfast rooms, which also looked lovely. Would love to come back and spend more time! Thanks Maria.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Warkworth Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth Country Retreat

Address: 433 Woodcocks Road | Warkworth, Warkworth 0981, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to our country Bed and Breakfast Retreat and enjoy stunning rural views and walk in our beautiful landscaped garden. A tree lined driveway leads you to our new, architecturally designed Lodge on our 60 acre farm. Warkworth Country Retreat Bed and Breakfast is only 45 minutes fron Auckland, 5 minutes from picturesque town of Warkworth and 10 minutes from the popular hub Matakana. With beautiful beaches, vineyards, cafe, golfing and fishing only a short drive away this is an ideal location.We offer guests a two bedroom luxury apartment, which has two guest suites both with ensuites, and a private lounge and kitchenette. Both bathrooms have heated towel rails and floors, robes, hair dryer and complimentary toiletries.On sunny mornings you can enjoy a cooked and continental breakfast on the terrace overlooking our farm towards the Dome Mountain range. Snack Meals and Dinner by arrangement.Free wireless internet, Sky digital TV, dvd player. We also offer guests a separate self catering Barn Apartment.This modern private barn conversion can sleep up to 4 people.It features a fully equipped kitchen,lounge, dining, and bathroom,with a spacious mezzanine bedroom. A hair dryer and complimentary toiletries are supplied.Breakfast can be included. Dinner by arrangement.Free wireless internet, Sky digital TV, dvd player. Come and stay with us and enjoy country living, home grown fruit and vegetables, local wines and warm hospitality. Fishing trips and golf by arrangement. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warkworth Country Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Warkworth Country Retreat to your Saves list