We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warkworth Country Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warkworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Warkworth Country Retreat
433 Woodcocks Road | Warkworth, Warkworth 0981, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is an amazing place to stay, a friend and I spent four nights there and loved the care we were given. The breakfast is lovely, we got hooked on the Bircher Muesli. There was always baking to greet us when we arrived back from the intense course we were doing. The rooms were comfortable, clean and the welcome really was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
21
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mona Vale, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My partner and I spent a marvellous weekend here back in 2011. The suite was lovely a great place to relax and recuperate. We went out for long evening strolls. Maria was so welcoming you felt like a visiting friend rather than a guest. What a joy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We came up to Warkworth from Auckland to attend a 7 day course at Mahurangi Technical Institute. We were so fortunate to discover Warkworth Country Retreat and booked their stand alone one bedroom apartment for 8 nights. They also have a 2 bedroom internal apartment in the house that is equally as gorgeous, new and well appointed.

This has been like a holiday, the location, the cozy well appointed apartment and fabulous hosts makes it very hard to return home.
Very close location to town but far enough out to be quiet and peaceful. This is a new well appointed apartment and with everything that you would expect and more from a Five star Hotel. (The home baking is a wonderful extra that you dont get in a five star hotel)

Highly recommendend and we would love to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

A lovely and luxurious stopover for our first night of a 6-night sojourn around the Northland area of New Zealand. We were warmly welcomed by Maria and shown around her beautiful home. Our suite was extremely comfortable and lacked nothing. Dinner was served in the family dining area and we thoroughly enjoyed Maria's company - great conversation, some excellent travel tips and a delicious meal of roast beef.....home grown! We would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

If you are looking for a lovely country sojourn this is the place. Lovely helpful hosts, spacious accommodation, great breakfasts, quality TV. WiFi, excellent bed and linens, quiet location but close to Warkworh, the wineries, cafes and art galleries of Matakana and area as well as wonderful beaches. A great place for a break from city life or a stopping place for tourists.

Room Tip: You have a choice of a self contained suite at the rear of the main house or rooms on one wing of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We were fortunate to find this B&B through a glowing recommendation of one of the volunteers at the Warkworth I-site. We spent one night in the separate "barn" accommodation. It is very private with a living room, highlighted with cheerful red accents, dining table and an almost full sized kitchen. The views are of the countryside or the fountain garden at the main entry to the house. A queen and single bed were up a slightly steep stairway to a loft, while the prettily appointed bathroom was on ground level. This would be ideal for a family. A bountiful breakfast was delivered in the evening so we could enjoy home baked muffins, cereal, yogurt, toast, hot beverages, fresh fruit or a special treat from the seasonal garden (rhubarb-yum!) at our leisure in the morning.

We enjoyed our first night so much that we rearranged our other accommodations so we could spend another night there 2 weeks later. This time we stayed in the guest wing of the beautiful, modern house. It actually contains 2 en suite bedrooms which would be ideal for 2 couples traveling together, however only one of these rooms is ever occupied unless you make a special request. Hence you have exclusive use of a large window-lined lounge with cafe tables inside and out, a kitchenette and a wonderful patio overlooking the owner's garden and acreage...in addition to your elegant bedroom and bathroom. A cooked to order, farm-style, breakfast is included with this room...featuring an assortment of the owner's homemade jams! We were able to enjoy ours outside on the patio.

Maria is the finest B&B hostess I've ever met. Welcoming, generous with her home and knowledge of local attractions, great company AND a fabulous cook! We took advantage of her offer of a home cooked meal (available with advance notice at a modest cost) on both of our stays. We enjoyed delicious dinners, including wine and desserts, served in her delightful dining room. We felt like honored guests as we dined with Maria and Brian. All the facilities feel brand new, luxurious and were sparkling clean with every comfort considered. The actual B&B is even nicer than the pictures we saw online. Wi-fi is strong and unlimited. Fresh garden flowers decorated our rooms. A chocolate sweet awaited us bedside. We stayed at a several B&B/Inns (where we paid much more) that couldn't come close to this quality establishment. But best of all was the warmth Maria extends to her guests...a true embrace of goodness, grace and hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

"Warkworth Country Retreat is just a few hundred metres from the lovely small town of Warkworth set on a hill in open countryside. It is readily seen from the road just off Highway 1 approached up a long drive. The spacious house is only six years old designed by the present owners and has all up to date conveniences. The owners, Brian & Maria Edwards, are very warm welcoming hosts.

The bedrooms are with ensuite and if needed there is a separate lounge with kitchen area with frig and micro-wave cooker with spacious picture windows looking down across meadows. A large flat TV has Sky including all four sports channels. Wifi is free and unrestricted. The price is very reasonable for accommodation of this stature and a hearty breakfast is included. A splendid dinner with mine hosts is an option with notice given at a most reasonable price".
It is easy access to Matakana, Tawhiranui Regional & Marine Park with its giant sting rays, Goat Island a 30 year old marine park teaming with fish, Sandspit with its ferry to Kawau Island.
It was so good we returned there for our last few days in NZ. We shall return next time.
John & Pauline of Guernsey

Room Tip: An excellent venue after a 24 hour flight just 60Km north of Auckland Airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Warkworth Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth Country Retreat

Address: 433 Woodcocks Road | Warkworth, Warkworth 0981, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to our country Bed and Breakfast Retreat and enjoy stunning rural views and walk in our beautiful landscaped garden. A tree lined driveway leads you to our new, architecturally designed Lodge on our 60 acre farm. Warkworth Country Retreat Bed and Breakfast is only 45 minutes fron Auckland, 5 minutes from picturesque town of Warkworth and 10 minutes from the popular hub Matakana. With beautiful beaches, vineyards, cafe, golfing and fishing only a short drive away this is an ideal location.We offer guests a two bedroom luxury apartment, which has two guest suites both with ensuites, and a private lounge and kitchenette. Both bathrooms have heated towel rails and floors, robes, hair dryer and complimentary toiletries.On sunny mornings you can enjoy a cooked and continental breakfast on the terrace overlooking our farm towards the Dome Mountain range. Snack Meals and Dinner by arrangement.Free wireless internet, Sky digital TV, dvd player. We also offer guests a separate self catering Barn Apartment.This modern private barn conversion can sleep up to 4 people.It features a fully equipped kitchen,lounge, dining, and bathroom,with a spacious mezzanine bedroom. A hair dryer and complimentary toiletries are supplied.Breakfast can be included. Dinner by arrangement.Free wireless internet, Sky digital TV, dvd player. Come and stay with us and enjoy country living, home grown fruit and vegetables, local wines and warm hospitality. Fishing trips and golf by arrangement. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warkworth Country Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Warkworth Country Retreat to your Saves list