We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot be bettered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warkworth Country Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warkworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Warkworth Country Retreat
Save
You added Warkworth Country Retreat to your Saves list
433 Woodcocks Road | Warkworth, Warkworth 0981, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Cannot be bettered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

It is rare to find accommodation that cannot be faulted in any way at all. It is a wonderful property set in the heart of the countryside about 1km from the charming little town of Warkworth.
Not only do you get superb ensuite accommodation, but also a private lounge well equipped kitchenette, and a private patio area.

The welcome was warm and genuine and the glass of wine and nibbles, and the offer of a dessert were greatly appreciated. The breakfast was excellent.

Actually we did have one complaint and that was that our itinerary only allowed one night in this wonderful place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
23
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

It was a nice stay in Warkworth Country Retreat. The rooms, the hospotality, the welcome, the braekfast, the area, all was great. It is a nice place to discover the aerea.
Ad en Han

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Warkworth Country Retreat is a superb place to stay and Maria and Brian are lovely hosts. I first tried to write this review immediately after our stay, but must have tried to put so much on in terms of enthusing and attaching photos of the property's great beauty that it overloaded the computer and never made it on! Apologies Maria and Brian. Great place, great people.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

This is a very restful place to spend a few days. Maria and Brian are great hosts and nothing was too much trouble.Wonderful setting close to town but set in the beautiful countryside, so that we were able to feel very relaxed with views over the farm and wonderful gardens. Comfortable beds, ensuites, a private lounge and wonderful food make this a great B&B. There is also a more self contained unit separate from the main house which looked extremely comfortable. Lots to do in the area too, lovely shops at Matakana, a great farmers market, beaches, vineyards, great restaurants and cafes.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Website: www.warkworthcountryretreat.co.nz
It's rare you can find a place that meets and exceeds your every requirement. This place does. Beautiful country gardens and paddocks, close to town, superb architecturally designed house and very welcoming hosts.

Upon arriving, we were welcomed by the owners Maria and Brian who showed us our rooms and a quick overview of the house and surrounding area. Maria was quick to show our little 1 year old boy some ride on tractors and toys of her grandsons – so he was occupied so we could talk and get unpacked. The cows were also a massive attraction.

To say the place is immaculate would be an understatement. Maria definitely has the eye for detail. With the little touches of bathrobes, the towels and linen felt brand new and the whole place was so extremely clean – very nice feel to the place.

The room we stayed in was spacious with a large ensuite. The room had dark blinds and the bed was so incredibly comfortable that we almost missed breakfast the next morning. Our 1 year old had been waking at 6am so we ordered breakfast for 7.45am – our 1 year old didn’t stir until 7.30am because of the darkness – it was amazing.

We had breakfast in our own private lounge area with a television and all kitchen requirements you could want. The hot breakfast was superb – Maria knows how to cook.

We loved the ‘good old’ country hospitality. Maria and Brian seemed so willing to help (even offering to babysit our little boy so we could go to dinner), recommended places to visit as well as beautiful food and surroundings. Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warkworth Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth Country Retreat

Address: 433 Woodcocks Road | Warkworth, Warkworth 0981, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to our country Bed and Breakfast Retreat and enjoy stunning rural views and walk in our beautiful landscaped garden. A tree lined driveway leads you to our new, architecturally designed Lodge on our 60 acre farm. Warkworth Country Retreat Bed and Breakfast is only 45 minutes fron Auckland, 5 minutes from picturesque town of Warkworth and 10 minutes from the popular hub Matakana. With beautiful beaches, vineyards, cafe, golfing and fishing only a short drive away this is an ideal location.We offer guests a two bedroom luxury apartment, which has two guest suites both with ensuites, and a private lounge and kitchenette. Both bathrooms have heated towel rails and floors, robes, hair dryer and complimentary toiletries.On sunny mornings you can enjoy a cooked and continental breakfast on the terrace overlooking our farm towards the Dome Mountain range. Snack Meals and Dinner by arrangement.Free wireless internet, Sky digital TV, dvd player. We also offer guests a separate self catering Barn Apartment.This modern private barn conversion can sleep up to 4 people.It features a fully equipped kitchen,lounge, dining, and bathroom,with a spacious mezzanine bedroom. A hair dryer and complimentary toiletries are supplied.Breakfast can be included. Dinner by arrangement.Free wireless internet, Sky digital TV, dvd player. Come and stay with us and enjoy country living, home grown fruit and vegetables, local wines and warm hospitality. Fishing trips and golf by arrangement. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warkworth Country Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.