We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but I think you can do better at the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Warkworth Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Warkworth Lodge to your Saves list
Warkworth Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Falls Street, Warkworth 0910, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Warkworth
Auckland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“OK, but I think you can do better at the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at the Warkworth Lodge at Easter and chose a studio. It was a bit cramped for my liking, and the kitchen was tiny and difficult to cook in. The hot plate cooked on warm (not hot) and the thermostat kept turning off just at it started to cook. It made cooking a meal difficult, which we needed to do as there wasn't much evening dining choice in Warkworth.

The lodge part looked warm and welcoming and we were told we could use these facilities. But once it was evening, they were locked, so it was hard to access without disturbing staff to unlock for us.

The family suite was directly above us, and you could hear kids running across the floor, so it wasn't all that quiet. I also wearied of idling cars directly outside our door in the car park - the fumes and noise meant it wasn't all that relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fulton IL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I can't speak for the whole establishment but the "Pink Villa" room that my husband and I recently stayed in was very basic, tired, and with very dim lighting. Although it had a fireplace, it was in name only. The hearth and mantle were both completely bare--a non-functioning fireplace can still be VERY attractive, but this wasn't. Both windows faced the lodge's entrance courtyard so shades had to be kept pulled for privacy. Room was a bit musty (there had been heavy rains recently). Bathroom door was painted Pepto-Bismol pink. On the plus side, the bathroom was spacious with plenty of towels and one of the best mirrors for putting on makeup that we encountered during a 5-week trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andover UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night on the way north and were upgraded into a larger double room with king bed and huge, well equipped bathroom by the very helpful owners. The room also had a pleasing outside access to a sheltered patio and the car park which assisted case unloading. Our end of the house was early 20th century with high ceilings and huge picture windows, all of which gave the accommodation and atmospheric colonial feel. The property has enormous potential, although the general decor could do with a sympathetic update in line with the age of the house. Swimming pool looked inviting but needed cleaning. Town not special with few places to eat at night but plenty to do in the day and good beaches nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I visit family in Warkworth every year and after a horror night stay at Bridgehouse (down the hill) I found this place and return now every year. Always consistently great and in winter they have a very welcoming fire burning in the communal lounge - lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We arrived in Warkworth early evening with nowhere to go. We tried one place but thought it looked grotty and then the man suggested we "go across the road". Sure enough, there was Warkworth Loge. A beautiful older homestead which is well maintained, spacious and best of all, clean.
There was only one studio room left which the owner let us have at a reduced rate given that it was Sunday night. The studio was really lovely. Spacious, warm and had everything you needed including a kitchen.
We would have chosen to stay in the large homestead if there had been a spare room simply because of the lovely atmosphere, huge lounge room, logburner etc. However we were very comfortable in the studio.
I was ill when we arrived so slept late the next day and we were offered a late check out at no extra charge.
We would thoroughly recommend staying at Warkworth Lodge. It looked a great place for the summer also with doors to a beautiful deck and pool area.
The one downside was that there was no free wi-fi.

Room Tip: I would choose to be in the homestead because of the atmosphere. The studio we had on the end had lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We spent one night at Warkworth Lodge when we met up with my husband's sister for dinner on a recent trip to NZ. The studio we stayed in was great, although the lounge with crackling fire inside the lodge looked very inviting too. Parking was easy, we felt most welcome, and the price was reasonable.
We'll definitely be back on our next visit to NZ!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

I booked into this hotel for one night, staying with my parents and booked into one of the studio apartments.

We arrived early evening and the owner upgraded us to the family suite upstairs as there were three of us so thought we could use the extra room. The suite was amazing, taking up all the roof space and had an outside balcony which was great for sitting out on with a glass of wine from a neighbouring vineyard.

The owner couldn’t do enough to help us, providing local knowledge and helping out with the internet as the wifi wasn’t working the day we were there.

I would recommend staying here with a trip to the local vineyards, especially brick bay

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warkworth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth Lodge

Address: 8 Falls Street, Warkworth 0910, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warkworth Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Motel in the Heart of the Village. Warkworth Lodge opened in 2007 and is one of the top motels located in the centre of Warkworth. Our suites vary from modern self-contained motel units to character villa rooms. Our sunny and spacious environment has a fantastic pool and barbecue area to sit and relax. Enjoy a weekend away or a relaxing holiday by the pool. Located on the doorstep of our many beautiful beaches, a great selection of vineyards, cafés and restaurants. You will enjoy the comfort of the luxury lodge, with the convenience of being in the centre of Warkworth’s beautiful village. Enjoy the spacious Villa Lounge that over looks the pool & relax by the fire in the winter, and free wi-fi. Celebrations are welcome: Weddings, Birthdays, Family gatherings & Conferences. Matakana Village is 5 minutes drive away. Daily Wine Tours leave at 12 o clock to explore the many Matakana vineyards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Warkworth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warkworth Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.